We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”
Review of Lihua Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lihua Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 618 Hotels in Taiyuan
Oak Park, California
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Very nice surprise. After becoming accustomed to sub-par hotels in Taiyuan, I was pleasantly surprised to check in to the Lihua. It is across the street from the new convention center, and a block from a wonderful river area with a pleasant walking path, which I walked for miles. The lobby, hallways, and rooms are all spacious and new. Mattresses are firm by western standards (customary here in China), and you should note that the water from the tap is undrinkable.

Breakfast was much better than expected, and staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveller550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    79
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
2
1
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Yokohama, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
1,169 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

near airport,got there in about 30min(cauz no traffic).
close to supermarker and shopping,
have nothing to complain about the location.
hot spring is sort of its selling point,
quiet comfortable ,clear enough and make me completely relax.
buffet almost got everything I need,quiet impressive and so delicious!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginobobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife and I were in Taijuan this past weekend to attend the wedding of our English nephew and a wonderful Chinese woman from Taijuan. The typical wedding of this area was a true lifetime experience and enhanced our stay at the Lihua Grand Hotel a great deal. The first impression of this hotel was extraordinarily favourable. The lobby is sumptuous and very "grand". The first impression of the room was equally favourable and after our long flights rom London and connection from Beijing we were ready to use the amenities of the room.

Breakfast was included in our rate and the buffet offering was very accommodating to both d
Eastern and Western tastes.

Turn down service while we were out to dinner on the first night was excellent but failed miserably the next two nights.

My only word if warning is don't buy the Haggen Daze ice cream in the lobby at 7 GBP per ounce it was outrageously priced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minster, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

I never heard of Taiyuan until about 10 days ago. It was a last minute meeting with a potential customer, so we chose the five star hotel with the best location. The hotel room was up scale and really nice. The hotel staff only could speak limited English, however, since we were only there one night it was no big deal.
Clearly this area does not see many Western visitors. Everyone turn to check me out, like it was the first time they saw an American. It is really possible that I was the first American to step into this city in the last 30 days.
The claim they have a Chinese and Western buffet, but the only think on the buffet that was familiar was grilled beef, corn on the cob, rice, mellon, and ice cream. Breakfast was a little better since you could get an omelette and toast.
After dinner I visited two of their bars and was told they don't offer Vodka at all. So I noticed a bottle of Jack Daniels, so I asked for a Jack and Coke. Ha, they said they don't serve Jack that way. You need to order it straight up. Well then, just get me the local beer and I will take it to my room. thank you very much.
If I visit this city again, I might try the other 5-star place, since there are zero Western owned hotels listed for this city.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ricky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Service was good although no one at the desk spoke English. The room was big and clean. The restaurant mixed up our steaks and was out of a few items but the service was good. Wish it was a little closer to the airport but will stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KStiles84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

My room was spacious, quiet, solidly constructed, and beautifully designed. But the beauty is more than skin-deep, with excellence in all the essentials from the comfort of the bed to the ability of the curtains to block light at night. Even the little details are excellent, like the quality of the shampoo/conditioner, hairdryer, and iron, with complimentary bottles of water in a distinctive design, along with umbrellas in case of rain. Breakfast is a grand affair, offering both western and Chinese dishes in a luxurious buffet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sky201008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taiyuan
16.3 mi away
Pullman Taiyuan
Pullman Taiyuan
#1 of 618 in Taiyuan
51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Taiyuan Wanda Vista Hotel
Taiyuan Wanda Vista Hotel
#3 of 618 in Taiyuan
57 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Taiyuan
Kempinski Hotel Taiyuan
#2 of 618 in Taiyuan
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Water Hotel, Pingyao
Water Hotel, Pingyao
#4 of 115 in Pingyao County
15 reviews
3.2 mi away
Chateau Star River Taiyuan
Chateau Star River Taiyuan
#7 of 618 in Taiyuan
30 reviews
4.0 mi away
World Trade Hotel
World Trade Hotel
#6 of 618 in Taiyuan
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lihua Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lihua Grand Hotel

Property: Lihua Grand Hotel
Address: No.1 Chanfeng West Street, Taiyuan 030021, China
Location: China > Shanxi > Taiyuan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Taiyuan
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taiyuan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lihua Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lihua Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lihua Grand Hotel Taiyuan, China - Shanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing