We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We highly recommend it for the location and price”
Review of Jin Lin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jin Lin Hotel
Ranked #302 of 642 Hotels in Taiyuan
Reviewed June 12, 2012

It is rated a 4-star hotel and we think so too. The room is a little bit "over-used" but the size, comfort and cleanliness worth for every single penny. The traffic is extremely busy because of its location (just across from the train station and close to a bus terminal). We asked for a room at the rear of the building and could still hear the noises a bit. We stayed there for a total of 3 nights and were very happy with their customer services (especially the front desk and Mr Cho, the manager). In terms of the restaurant downstair, we went for the dinner buffet and it was just so-so. We would suggest trying somewhere else.

There is a big grocery next door. You can get anything you need there. If you are taking the train like we did, you can buy cooked food or snack and drinks with you before getting on the train. Otherwise, there is a KFC (next to the Grocery) and McDonald (just across from the hotel).

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the train station
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 8 of 62 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2011

The hotel was very good value at a very convenient location if using the train. The staff did not speak much English but was friendly and helpful. The food at the restaurant was good. Too bad there is no black coffee available. The room was nice, but with a lot of traffic noise and the beds were rather hard.

Room Tip: Booked through eLong - worked fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wasit_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

The Jin Lin (aka Jinlin) Oriental Hotel is a Chinese Hotel directly across the road from the Taiyuan train station. It is a marvelous location for people using the train system. It is not very close to the downtown area, but as in all Chinese cities, taxis are fairly cheap. We knew that this was going to be more Chinese than international hotels, but it is recommended in Lonely Planet and we enjoy the Chinese experience. We were fortunate to meet a wonderful young lady working in the hotel who had excellent English. Even though she was working in a different restaurant, she took us to the first floor buffet, showed us around, helped us purchase tickets, and returned later in the meal to make sure we were OK. Other service staff in the buffet restaurant seemed more comfortable understanding English and we were able to communicate with simple English and hand signals. It worked out quite nicely. The room was on the front of the building, which received substantial road noise (horns!) even during the night. With a bit more attention to detail, my assessment of the room would rise. For example, our sink faucet and the shower enclosure leaked, two problems which could be easily repaired. The room was large and the bed was comfortable. If you stay here, do not expect the amenities of an international hotel, but for a good place with the Chinese experience, it is fine.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlwaysForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed June 6, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2015, traveled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 14, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marvelmaniaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed March 24, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed March 16, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taiyuan hotels
0 mi away
Pullman Taiyuan
Pullman Taiyuan
#1 of 642 in Taiyuan
80 reviews
0 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Taiyuan
Kempinski Hotel Taiyuan
#2 of 642 in Taiyuan
107 reviews
0 mi away
Taiyuan Wanda Vista Hotel
Taiyuan Wanda Vista Hotel
#3 of 642 in Taiyuan
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Chateau Star River Taiyuan
Chateau Star River Taiyuan
#5 of 642 in Taiyuan
31 reviews
0 mi away
Jinrong Jiayuan Hotel
Jinrong Jiayuan Hotel
#31 of 642 in Taiyuan
24 reviews
0 mi away
Jinjiang Inn Fengshang Taiyuan Liuxiang Yangshi Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jin Lin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jin Lin Hotel

Address: No.1 South Yingze Street, Yingze District, Taiyuan 030001, China
Location: China > Shanxi > Taiyuan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Taiyuan
Price Range: $35 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jin Lin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Jin Lin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jin Lin Hotel Taiyuan, China - Shanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing