We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old town”

Qingyan Ancient Town
Guiyang, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely old town”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

It takes about 1-hour from Guiyang to Qingyan Old Town. My homies and I rent a minivan there. The buildings there are all made from stones. Quite interesting. The food is amazing in Qingyan. Good advanture to try Chinese style pig trotters, tails and spicy vegetarian rice noodle. I also love red chilli cracker with peanuts and sesame seeds. A little bit hot but quite nice. We also buy a huge bunch of firecrackers and light up in a local temple. Great fun.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Guanfei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    62
    42
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
299 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Amazing, but......”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

An amazing old town, was originally built more than 600 years ago. Just like the meaning of her name in Chinese “blue rock town”, this town was built almost completely of stone. You can see many old buildings, temples and sites of relics. There are also shops for handicrafts, traditional food and delights. To get from Guiyang to Qingyan is easier by the bus #210 (the initial stop is located at the left of the entrance to the Riverside Park). The journey takes about an hour. I spent 4 hours walking around the beautiful town.
A little bit worried about the methods they use to protect the historic spot. There are many “rebuilt” or “newly-built” historic buildings (e.g., temples, city wall,...) in the town.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank liucy752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Large area to see...allow several hours!”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Took a taxi from Guiyang. Not all taxis want to go that far so Bus 210 will get you there a lot cheaper (88 taxi vs 3 each bus). We took bus back! We enjoyed the sights (and sites) but spent much of our time walking up the quaint streets and browsing the little shops (see photo). Was able to bargain and get some touristy items here and there. Wished we had a map or a guide. Sprawling layout was a bit overwhelming. Spent over two hours walking. Easily could have spent twice that. Many hilly paths and steps so be prepared to walk. Glad we went though.

Helpful?
2 Thank OkieWhits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A fun day trip from Guiyang”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Qingyan is a fun place to visit and makes for a great day trip from Guiyang.
The entrance fee is also reasonably priced at 34RMB. Although some parts of the town look very much restored and the city wall looks like it has been newly built, the place is charming and you can easily spend an entire day there. Lots of photo opportunities, friendly people and for the adventurous some interesting local food.
One word of advice: Qingyan is normally a quick 40min drive south of Guiyang - I visited on a weekend (lots of traffic) and was unfortunate enough to encounter 3 broken down trucks within meters of each other - the journey took 3 hours. So consider visiting weekdays!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SHChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sf Bay Area
Level Contributor
252 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“a very nice experience”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

This is quite the gem. I spent almost 2 hours wandering around and exploring the ancient town. While there are a lot of somewhat redundant shops hawking some cheap trinkets, the town itself is the star. A few select buildings have an admission fee, however you can enter the town itself at no charge.

While not advertised or printed anywhere in English, you can take one bus here from the center of Guiyang. Its bus #210, which stops just around the block from the entrance to the Riverside Park. In other words, once you see the huge bus stop in front of the park entrance, keep walking past it, make a left at the corner, and that's where the bus stops. The bus ride is 3Y, and takes about an hour. Literally the last stop is in front of the north gate to the town, and just about everyone gets off there, so you can't miss it. Also, you catch the bus back to Guiyang at the same place where you got off (just look for the sign advertising bus #210). The bus makes a u-turn as soon as it picks people up, and heads right back to Guiyang.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank netllama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Qingyan Ancient Town also viewed

 

Been to Qingyan Ancient Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing