We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Insist on Aircon”
Review of The Village Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gweru
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Village Lodge
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Gweru
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Insist on Aircon”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I was traveling with a colleague, and we arrived at the Village Lodge in the late afternoon. After checking-in and proceeding to my room, I discovered that only one of the rooms had aircon, despite the same rate being charged for both rooms. This was in the middle of a Zimbabwe summer!. After complaining to the staff, I was assigned another room with aircon.
The bed was comfortable, and the room was clean. Bathroom amenities were satisfactory. Food at the restaurant was ok. Breakfast was a good English breakfast. The staff were friendly and eager to please.

Room Tip: Insist on a room with aircon
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVillageLodges, Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, August 21, 2016
Good Evening Lyndon J

Thank you for staying with us at The Village Lodge in July 2013.

We also appreciate the time you took to review us online. Thank you very much for the positive, encouraging and candid feedback .

We are glad that that after you raised your concern about the absence of an aircon in the room, you were quickly moved. We are pleased that the bed was comfortable, food good, bathroom amenities satisfactory, and the room clean.

We always strive to make sure our guests have the best possible stay hence regret the inconveniences caused during your stay. On your next stay, should you encounter any challenges, please call Reception and ask for the Duty Manager.

Once again thank you for the feedback.

We value your business support and look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Gweru!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    13
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
3
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Well appointed, large rooms, ensuite, with two restaurants to choose from. By no means bustling with activity when we stayed on a one night stopover, but the staff were polite and keen to please. Bedding was clean and beds perfectly acceptable. Our ceiling fan was not working, so we left the windows open for a bit of ventilation, and were mobbed by numerous mosquitoes. To anyone thinking of booking in, insist on either a room with aircon, or a mosquitoe net. I would recommend this place as a stopover for either business travellers, or tourists en route to somewhere else.

Room Tip: Insist on a room with either aircon or a mosquitoe net
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVillageLodges, Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, August 21, 2016
Good Evening Philip B

Thank you for staying with us at The Village Lodge in February 2013.

We also appreciate the time you took to review us online. Thank you very much for the positive, encouraging and candid feedback .

We are glad that you liked the spacious rooms, clean linen and the friendliness of the staff. However, we would like to apologise for the malfunctioning fan and the mosquitoes. We are pleased to inform you that we are half way done installing air conditioners in the rooms. As for the mosquitoes, we are always fumigating, but may we suggest that you request for mosquito coils or insect repellent since there aren't any mosquito nets in the rooms.

We always strive to make sure our guests have the best possible stay hence regret the inconveniences caused during your stay. On your next stay, should you encounter any challenges, please call Reception and ask for the Duty Manager.

Once again thank you for the feedback.

We value your business support and look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Gweru!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali, Rwanda
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

The Village Lodge is well located for an overnight stop if you travel from Botswana or Vic Falls to Harare, just off the main road, 5 kilometers after Gweru on the road to Harare. Despite the proximity to the road, there is not much noise. It's frequented mainly by business travellers and NGO staff.
The rooms are large, two rooms per thatched roof bungalow, equiped with railway sleeper furniture, a fridge and a small TV with DsTV. There are suites for a few dollars more, and they have a larger flat screen TV. The bath rooms are clean, with a bath tub, a shower, fresh, clean towels and quality amenities. The only criticism I would have here is the quality of the beds which are below the standard of the other equipment.
Dinner was rather limited in choice (half the dishes on the menu were not available), but the food that was available was fresh and ok. Breakfast was very English but good.
In general, you can see that somebody has tried to build a tasteful lodge. In terms of colour scheme and curtain choice they did not really pull it off, but it's a nice place with very friendly and well managed staff. Well worthwile staying there for a night, for business or on overland travel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Pascal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVillageLodges, Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, August 21, 2016
Good Evening Pascal C

Thank you for staying with us at The Village Lodge in 2012.

We also appreciate the time you took to review us online. Thank you very much for the positive, encouraging and candid feedback .

We would like to apologise for the uncomfortable bed and the limited dinner choices. We are pleased to inform you that we have, over the years, improved in these two areas. We embarked on a serious bed replacement program and as for the menu, we now serve Western and Chinese so as to enhance our food range.

We always strive to make sure our guests have the best possible stay hence regret the inconveniences caused during your stay.

Once again thank you for the feedback.

We value your business support and look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Gweru!

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Lodge

Property: The Village Lodge
Address: A5, Christmas Gift, Harare Road, Gweru 0054, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Midlands Province > Gweru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Gweru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Neatly thatched chalets with a touch of modernization, home to the only Chinese restaurant in Gweru and the flagship of The Village Lodes Group is The Village Lodge. It is located along the Harare Road, 5 kms from the CBD. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing