We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What happens to all the lions?”
Review of Antelope Park

Antelope Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$1,625.00*
and up
12-Day Motherland Tour Including South Africa...
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Gweru
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Known as one of Southern Africa’s “most intriguing destination”, and awarded The Green Trophy for the Environmental Award, First Runner Up Best Safari Camp Tented and Second Runner up in The Best Self Catering category at the 2013 AZTA Awards ( Association Of Zimbabwe Travel Agents.) We were also nominated for “Zimbabwe’s Private Leading Game Reserve” in the World Travel Awards.Antelope Park is home to the world famous African Lion and Environmental Research Trust (ALERT) lion rehabilitation programme, which is a multi-phase lion conservation initiative. It is Africa’s first genuine programme working to ethically re-introduce the offspring of captive-bred African lions back into the wild.The Park also welcomes guests and eco-tourists to its stunning campsite; a haven of tranquillity set in the African bush. Visitors can enjoy the relaxed environment as well as participate in the vast array of world-class activities offered at the Park, including lion walks, elephant rides and walks, game viewing, fishing, and many more. Antelope Park, home to Animal Planet’s popular wildlife series “Roaring with Pride”, with over 3 million viewers and airing in 33 different countries. Antelope Park have been the subject of a major UK TV wildlife documentary “LION COUNTRY” and the Park has also featured in a number of other wildlife shows including “Karina: Wild on Safari”. Our 14 part series called “Roaring with Pride” filmed at our park is still featuring on Animal Planet explaining in depth how our organisation is helping to save the future of the African Lion.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Just like to know what happens to all the lions when they get too old for the encounter program? Apparently since 2005 none of the lions have been released into the wild (check out Africa Geographic Blog). Just hope the lions don't suffer due to bad press.

6  Thank Kaizan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antelope_Park_Zim, Public Relations Manager at Antelope Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Kaizan,

Thank you for your enquiry and interest in our program. We understand your concern due to the recent article published about our organization and would love to have the opportunity to explain our program to you in more detail and put your mind at ease.

The article makes a suggestion that the lions go into the canned hunting industry and that is not the case, but rather go through our rehabilitation and release into the wild program. We strive to offer complete transparency in our program and all of the information about our lions can be found on the ALERT website by following this link http://www.lionalert.org/page/RPlionsintheprogram which shows in detail which lions are owned by ALERT and their current status within the program, as well as detail on the lions owned by Antelope Park and Lion Encounter, and their status within the program. This page will answer your questions as to where our lions go as every lion is accounted for (births & deaths) every year at Antelope Park and Lion Encounter.

Yes, we haven’t YET successfully released a lion into the wild but we have successfully established two fenced-wild release areas in which the prides have given birth to cubs that will be released into unfenced-wild areas when they are old enough. These are located in Zimbabwe and Zambia. We have land confirmed for additional fenced-wild areas and are sourcing funding for these, as well as making progress in securing further areas for the same.

The first cubs born in these release areas will be old enough for release in 2014 and we are making progress on securing a suitable release area for them. We have also started work on locating other areas where lions are needed having already come to an agreement with the country of Burundi.

We hope this information puts your mind at ease that we have the best interest, of our lions and the declining wild populations, at heart. If you would like to find out more information, please don’t hesitate to contact us at Antelope Park on marketing@antelopepark.co.zw or ALERT at info@lionalert.org.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"lion feeding"
in 17 reviews
"lion walk"
in 14 reviews
"breeding program"
in 6 reviews
"fire pit"
in 4 reviews
"natural environment"
in 4 reviews
"african bush"
in 3 reviews
"victoria falls"
in 3 reviews
"next year"
in 3 reviews
"horse ride"
in 3 reviews
"no doubt"
in 3 reviews
"long term"
in 3 reviews
"hard work"
in 3 reviews
"wooden bridge"
in 3 reviews
"made us feel"
in 2 reviews
"the reserve"
in 2 reviews
"local communities"
in 2 reviews
"bird watching"
in 2 reviews
Filter

120 - 124 of 167 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at Antelope Park in June, apart from being one of the coldest days in 5 years , what an amazing time we had, got a chance to feed baby lions cubs, see the breeding operation and learn about the lion release program, rode elephants, got introduced to polocrosse, walked with the lions and get to learn about the process to preparing the lions to be reintroduced into the wild , also got to visit the lion release animals. The Connolly family is doing an amazing job and has a long term plan to save these beautiful animals. A big Thanks to Jonathan and his family and crew for such an amazing experience in Zimbabwe.

1  Thank Chinpolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antelope_Park_Zim, Public Relations Manager at Antelope Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Chinpolo,

We would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your very positive review you posted about Antelope Park in June 2013.

We hope you can join us again soon and all the best for the rest of 2013.

Kind regards,
Lauren-Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed at Antelope Park for three weeks as a volunteer this june. It was amazing! You learn so much, so see much that you would never get to see otherwise, and the people are amazing! Everybody is so kind, open and friendly! Don't believe any of the bad reviews you read here, at least not when it comes to about wether the program is real or not! All the people who work there truly and deeply care about the lions, and they are doing all can to release them! I can understand that for tourists who only come for a night or two it's a lot of information to take in, and hard to see the whole picture, but once you spend some time there and really get to see what they are doing, you would never doubt their program or their intentions! Spending those weeks there is the best decision I've made in my life! I would highly recommend going as a volunteer!

2  Thank Bjørk J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antelope_Park_Zim, Public Relations Manager at Antelope Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Bjørk J,

Thank you so much for your very enlightening review. We sincerely appreciate your understanding of our objectives on the program and hope your comments will motivate other people from around the world to come visit us and get involved! We value the contributions that all our volunteers make to the program and we wouldn't be where we are today without all of you! If you know anyone else who would be interested in being an eco-tourist, please do recommend them to us to volunteer on our program. I will be sure to let all the staff know about your positive feedback and hope you can join us again soon!

Thanks again for your contribution towards the survival of the African Lion!

All the best,
Lauren - Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I really recomend this for anyone, I'm 17 and have never traveled this far away from my parents and I have never been home sick or felt that I missed home at all, All I was interested in was the sense of community and the Lions! This trip has tought me that if I set my mind to something, I can achieve anything. I would deffinatly come back and do this volunteer programme again some time

Thank ShananneVardSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antelope_Park_Zim, Public Relations Manager at Antelope Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear ShananneVardSmith,

Thank you very much for your review and we are very happy we could share our lion & community program with you! We are glad it has been a great "first" experience for you and want to thank you sincerely for embarking on this challenge which resulted in your personal contribution to the survival of the African Lion and the ongoing development of our surrounding communities. I hope this has provided you with a broader view and more independence for all your future travels!

Please do come and visit us again on another volunteer placement soon!

Kind regards,
Lauren - Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Got to walk with lions, unrestrained. Though the lions were young, they were quite big. The mixture of excitement and danger made it all worthwhile.
The facilities are top notch, the environment is serene, the food is great. love it love it love it.

1  Thank BIllMoyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antelope_Park_Zim, Public Relations Manager at Antelope Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear BIllMoyanne,

A very big thank you for your great review! So glad you enjoyed our hospitality and you absolutely loved your experience. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to all relevant departments. We welcome you back again soon and hope you can partake in some of our other exciting activities on offer!

All the very best,
Lauren - Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antelope Park also viewed

Gweru, Midlands Province
Gweru, Midlands Province
 

Been to Antelope Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing