We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an awful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Les Oliviers Palace
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sfax
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“an awful hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Being a listed building, the facade is very interesting and beautiful. The inside is a different story!!
the door men were very ignorant and vulgar.The reception area and hall are very forlorn and depressing. The manners of the staff behind the desk are no better than those of a household fly!!! rude and vulgar. The bar is a death trap, with nowhere to escape in case of a fire ( the fire exit doors were padlocked!!!!!!! ) and is frequented by prostitutes and pimps. It feels like a brothel. The service is appalling.The toilets were filthy: None of the urinals were functional and the cubicles were littered with all sorts of rubbish and the stink was unbearable. The hotel was supposed to be a 5 star. It is not even worthy of 2. the hotel is an absolute disgrace.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel. It is a rip off
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zin135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    35
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
4
13
6
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

I have stayed in very cheap, low rated hotels and also in 5 star uber expensive/service hotels all around the world. When it comes to Les Oliviers, I would have to say that I would NEVER stay here again. I have stayed in the "best executive" suite for almost a year now (due to work) and have experienced all levels of service this hotel has to offer. This hotel struggles to provide the basics of service, food, cleanliness and security. I could write a thousand page novel on this hotel and where it is lacking. I am not a picky individual but do expect some common basics.

I have been terribly side from the food on a few occasions, I had lizards running around my room, no internet (common for Africa) NO A/C for months which is not nice in 45C weather, no heat in winter months, the list goes on.

Anyone who has ever rated this hotel above 1 or 2 is obviously a fake account or has never been to a decent hotel anywhere in the world. Stay at Borj Dahifa. MUCH better service, rooms and security. Unfortunately I only discovered this at the end of the project.

Room Tip: Stay at Borje Dahifa
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenn902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed ten days for work in this hotel. The rooms are good and clean but nothing special and without balcony, just a window. The service is poor especially in the restaurant. One hour and more to service you and the restaurant was almost empty. Food quality poor. Breakfast is not 'continental' in any way. Waiters are unwilling to serve and help you and for some reason they cannot smile! They do not care about you, and they serve themselves from the buffet!!!

The hotel also charged me things from the minibar that I had not taken!

Of course it is not in any way a hotel for holidays.

I regret I stayed in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KPAP31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
108 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

In the very centre of Sfax,after renovation a real Grand Hotel. Very friendly staff, impressive breakfast buffet with large pastry section, fresh fruit, a cook prepares to order, perfect rooms with kettle, coffee and tea. All amenities of a 5 Star hotel Restaurants and Cafe in the building
It is a 100 % recommendation.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the port, others the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

My experience with that hotel was through the international forum of Medibat held in march, i attended this conference and saw there were a lot of conferences there, it is so luxurious hotel, the staff is well trained , its real value was in exploring layers of history of that area, the hotel is designed with inner atrium, reflecting the old Arabic way of designing but with a Mediterranean western facade , that the Italian and French architects used to do in that era , its is a french style hotel, very nice, the rooms are clean and well furnished, little expensive but it is worth it

Room Tip: try rooms on the outer facade, you will have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samerelsayary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

The rooms are indeed nice. The restaurant very poor and should be avoided. Neither cook nor waiters care too much: we even had a frozen carpaccio brought to our table. for the rest, the position is excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank giobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I was in Sfax for a conference and i discovered such charming place. The hotel is an european level 4 star, with clean rooms and bathrooms, wi-fi, good breakfast and good restaurants. The most impressive restaurant is at the top of the building with a really beautiful terrace towards the sea. The center of the town and the Medina is 10 minutes walk. The internal pub is not only used by hosts but is a meeting point for Sfax inhabitants. Personnel is really polite.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FabrizC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sfax hotels
2.4 mi away
Borj Dhiafa
Borj Dhiafa
#3 of 8 in Sfax
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Sfax
Golden Tulip Sfax
#2 of 8 in Sfax
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pacha hotel
Pacha hotel
#2 of 4 in Sfax
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel naher el founoun
24.4 mi away
EL KAHENA: Residence et camping
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Oliviers Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Oliviers Palace

Property: Les Oliviers Palace
Address: 25 Avenue Hedi Chaker-3000, Sfax 8050, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sfax Governorate > Sfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Oliviers Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Les Oliviers Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Oliviers Palace Sfax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing