We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise”
Review of Hotel Thyna

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sfax
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Thyna
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Sfax
Reviewed April 18, 2012

After suffering some mediocre hotels in Tunisia, this one came as a nice surprise. Clean, efficient and well located, it's not too noisy tho in the centre (Sfax goes to sleep early).Don't expect perfection but as Tunisian hotels goes this one's well above average. The evening meal was the best on our trip, especially the fish. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midlander1379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 36 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2012

The hotel is ideally situated and not noisy. The rooms are fine, with basic facilities and everything is very clean. Breakfast is quite OK and the pain au chocolat are among the best we have had. Recommended as a safe bet. We would go back again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adspharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We picked the Thyna hotel for our one night stopover in Sfax. It was relatively easy to find, with parking on street (apparently free, although there were lots of meters around). The location was very good - a few minutes walk to the main entrance to the medina, and right in the middle of the modern city.

Rooms were adequate, although quite basic in comparison with the more opulent lobby! We also found the room to be quite noisy, despite being on the 5th floor. Breakfast was quite average as well, but for the price, and lack of alternatives in Sfax, the Thyna is still one of the better options in town.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BalhamWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2010

As we are passing by Sfax and need to stay a night, we did not expect anything fancy. The location is perfect, right across the medina, but it could be pretty hard to find as the entrance is really not to notice (even with a local tour guide, he said he had never heard of this hotel).

Nice lobby, nice reception, functional room and again, nothing fancy.

But what came as a surpise is their restaurant which is at 1/F. We had dinner there and was totally caught by surprise how chic and modern it is, compared with all of the restaurants that we've dined in throughout our Tunisia trip, this restaurant is by most the most chic. It has a theme color in purple, nice tableware and the food are nicely presented.

Morning came and we had breakfast at the same place. I don't know whether we are too early (around 7am) or that the breakfast is supposed to be self-served. There is no one at the restaurant. And not much food as well....just some cold coffee, some hard boiled eggs which are already cold...and some crackers...breakfast is a let-down.

But in all, for the price we paid (TND26/person), it was a good deal.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
Thank icicle_i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2009

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. It is perfectly located for the medina as well as the modern shopping area of Sfax. The rooms are comfortable and clean, and the staff are friendly and helpful. There is wifi in the rooms which is great when you have some catching up to do and was a real bonus. If you come with your own car you can park in the road right outside of the door and its relatively easy to find which was a relief as they all drive like maniacs in Sfax. The breakfast was ok, the usual Tunisian fare of bread, cheese, eggs, coffee etc and it was reasonably priced. There was also plenty of hot water whenever we wanted it. Would stay there again if we found ourselves in that part of the world again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VJ153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2009

Excellent relation between cost and quality, over the tunisian medium standard. it is the same level of an european three stars but costs less then tunisian three stars. Nice room and totally new toilet, everything really clean. We forgot a mobile phone in our room, and they sent it to Italy without any charge.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MariadaPalermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nesrine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sfax hotels
0 mi away
Golden Tulip Sfax
Golden Tulip Sfax
#4 of 9 in Sfax
109 reviews
0 mi away
Les Oliviers Palace
0 mi away
Borj Dhiafa
Borj Dhiafa
#1 of 9 in Sfax
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Pacha hotel
Pacha hotel
#5 of 9 in Sfax
14 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel El Layeli
#4 of 9 in Sfax
1 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Plaza Sfax & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Thyna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Thyna

Address: Angle rue Habib Maazoun place Marbourg Beb Bhar Sfax, Sfax 3000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sfax Governorate > Sfax
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Sfax
Number of rooms: 27

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing