We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treasure!”
Review of Borj Dhiafa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Borj Dhiafa
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Sfax
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A treasure!”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

During a Tunisian wedding, my seven months old son, my wife and I had the pleasure of staying at this jewel for four nights. We had an excellent and spacious room with a balcony, even got a "king size" baby bed for our son. :-) This part of Tunisia is especially well known for its seafood cuisine, and this hotel took this to a culinaric level. Fantastic food; both breakfast, lunch and dinner. Special thanks to Ahmed in the kitchen who provided us with such fantastic "patisserie" for breakfast! :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrabassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    24
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
11
3
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

The Borj Dhiafa it's one of the best hotel's in Tunisia and it is by far the one the best quality/price relation.

Don't get me wrong, but there's a lot to be done in Tunisia in several areas, tourism being just one of them.

The Borj Dhiafa is the exception. It's a beautifull hotel, with excellent rooms, good decor, good staff and a very good restaurant.

Which is even more intriguing is that this amazing hotel is located in the far and industrial city of Sfax.

If you have the choice, stay there!

Room Tip: If possible, stay on the 2nd floor rooms... They're not bigger, but the celling is higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RicardoRego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Paul de Vence
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

The hotel looks as some kind of Arabic palace, a bit bulky with moucharabiehs and crenels. It is located at +/- 3 kms from the center of Sfax slightly in recess of a busy road which does not affect the quietness of the rooms. An extension is being built to double its capacity and increase business facilities.

It has all what you are used to while on business: bar in a cozy lobby decorated with taste, restaurants, business corner with PC, indoor swimming pool, spa, gym, parking and obviously conference room. All these facilities are well kept and seem to be well run. Service is good, professional, attentive and efficient. What a pleasure and a relief, as tourists, to enjoy such a place.

Room and bathroom are at the same level of excellence: large and clean with welcome cakes, coffee/tea making facilities, iron board, satellite tv, minibar, bathroom amenities.

We had diner at the restaurant. Food was good but we would have expected a more personalized touch from the chef to enhance the local recipes. There was enough choice at breakfast as one would expect for those businessmen going to their duties.

This is definitely the best hotel we came across during our stay in Tunisia.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chagoule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Peaks, California
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

but unfortunatly some flaws.
Pros:
• spacious rooms
• free wifi (good reception only in the rooms towards entrance side)
• good service
• decent indoor pool

Cons:
• remote location to center
• boring restaurant. quality above tunisian average but no changes
• cockroaches! not that other hotels dont have them, but i had a fat one sitting on the elevator door.

i live in tunisia and travel to sfax on weekly basis (i know - poor me) and always stay in hotels (now tulip before l'oliviers) and never encountered one - roach. also in all the other hotels...
you know what they say - if you see them just like that without looking in the usual spots, then the place is infested big time.
naive to think they are no-where else, thats why i still recommend but not my choice anymore.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank picknicker1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2009

The VERY best hotel in SFAX in Fact I would not stay at any of the other hotels ..so clean ....The Staff are wonderful and so thoughtful...The very best bar IN SFAX .....fantastic Hotel the one and only in SFAX x x x Carol Frend x x x

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindersBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udine, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
767 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 831 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2009

Stayed at Borj Dhiafa for one night with three colleagues.
Hotel is an old palace restored almost 3 years ago.
Personnel at reception kind, professional and efficient.
Booked a single room, got an upgrade to a senior suite, very large, well equipped, quiet and comfortable.
Lobby lounge located in the patio, very cozy and stilish.
I didn't have the chance to test the restaurants, but our contact in Sfax told us that they are very good.
In the early morning no taxis were stationing outside the hotel, and it has been quite difficult to find one, despite the call from the front desk.
Taxis in Sfax seem to be all in bad conditions and very dirty, therefore try to dress casual.
We visited 2 reastaurants in Sfax: le Corail and la Sirene; both of them good.
My overall impression is definitely very good; Borj Dhiafa will be our base, once in Sfax again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sfax
2.4 mi away
Les Oliviers Palace
2.4 mi away
Golden Tulip Sfax
Golden Tulip Sfax
#3 of 8 in Sfax
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Mouradi
El Mouradi
#2 of 7 in Douz
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Pacha hotel
Pacha hotel
#2 of 6 in Sfax
14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bravo Monastir
Hotel Bravo Monastir
#1 of 4 in Monastir
12 reviews
26.1 mi away
EL KAHENA: Residence et camping
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borj Dhiafa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borj Dhiafa

Property: Borj Dhiafa
Address: 3 Route soukra km, Sfax 3000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sfax Governorate > Sfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Sfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Borj Dhiafa 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Borj Dhiafa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing