We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place if you're not in a hurry to be the first one down into the Crater in the morning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crater Forest Tented Lodge
New England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place if you're not in a hurry to be the first one down into the Crater in the morning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2010

From Tarangire we went to Crater Forest Tented Camp southwest of Karatu near Oldeani. The tents and service were not up to the standards of the Asilia camps but the price, décor, views and ambiance made up that. Plus, they had on demand hot water! One note, if you go there, bring shampoo because they do not provide it.

We walked in the area escorted by a Maasai. He was the real deal. We had no common language but he was very pleasant, a little shy and self conscience. I found this combination surprising given the fact he was one seriously tough dude!

The next day we were off to Ngorongoro Crater. Due to the camps location we entered the crater at 10:30am,

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rwcorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    3
    9
    3
See reviews for
11
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
MAINE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2010

While the staff is helpful and kind, the facility is aged and poorly maintained. I have stayed in several tented camps in the area and this was the worst. From the sub par tents (much nicer to be found for much less), the smoke-filled lounge where they (apparently) haven't learned how to draft the fire, to the pleasantly monotonous, bland meals, this place fails to impress. Stay somewhere else and get more for your money.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JHM5S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ngorongoro Conservation Area hotels

Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2009

Overall the hotel is pretty good but our agency sold it to us as an upgrade. In the end we didn't think it was worth the extra money as the service was comparable to the other lodges we stayed at.
The track to the hotel is long and very bumpy but is pretty scenic and crosses coffee fields.
The room was really nicely decorated with a cute little fireplace which we used as the night was a little chilly. Very romantic. The shower was a little basic but OK. There was a deck in front of our room but unfortunately no view (unlike what the agency sold us).
The restaurant area is lit by storm lamps which makes it a little dark but give it a real camp atmosphere. We enjoyed the fireplace there. Dinner was good. Breakfast wasn't as good as at other lodges (no buffet, small portions served at the table).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iloveJD79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2009

We stayed two nights in crater forest tented lodge in early August 2009.
Actually we were about to overnight in serena at crater rim, but eventually after 30min very very bumpy drive we arrived at a place which turned out to be definitely of the best locations we stayed in Kenya and Tanzania, even if without the crater view we had hoped for.
Crater forest tented lodge comprises of approx 10 luxurious tents with hot water and electricity, as well as dinning and leisure tents, and romantic fireplace outside where you can observe stars at night in an unforgettable atmosphere having gin and tonic or any other drink.
During evenings we truly enjoyed romantic candle dinners, fire at night in the tent lit by friendly Masai as well as early morning coffee and tea served to our tent.
Get some warm clothes as it might get quite chili at night and simply enjoy your stay there!
An absolutely amazing place to stay during honeymoon tour.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LSJGMXNET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
132 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2009

Very “African” atmosphere, nice location in the middle of coffee plantation. We enjoyed watching a group of elephants on the other side of the valley. Massais protect the lodge from buffles and other natural “invaders”. The night was quite cold, so you will get a fire ready in your tent when coming back from your diner. Very nice food, the soup was superb, you can ask for more if you like it. The night was rather noisy; you will hear lot of animals.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VaclavBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2008

A beautifully run camp on the edge of the Ngorongoro forest. Service was excellent, friendly and efficient. Tents were spacious and comfortable. Each has its own coal burning fire and lovely hot shower. The decor was charming.

Wild elephants grazed amongst the trees in front of our porch and the sounds of the forest at dusk were truly magical.

The food was inventive and plentiful and better than anything else we had in the area.

The only disadvantage is the distance of the lodge from the main road: twenty minutes down a rough single track. If you are going to use this camp as a base for exploring the crater this could be annoying. That said, the surrounding scenary that you drive through is beautiful. Once on the main road you are very close to the park entrance.

  • Liked — Scenery and wildlife
  • Disliked — Distance from the main road
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DubaiPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ngorongoro Conservation Area hotels
0.0 mi away
Crater Forest Tented Camp
Crater Forest Tented Camp
#31 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ngorongoro Forest Tented Lodge
Ngorongoro Forest Tented Lodge
#18 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#5 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
3.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crater Forest Tented Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crater Forest Tented Lodge

Property: Crater Forest Tented Lodge
Address: on Kirin Coffee Estate, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Crater Forest Tented Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing