We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crater Forest Tented Lodge
Reviewed March 2, 2010

While the staff is helpful and kind, the facility is aged and poorly maintained. I have stayed in several tented camps in the area and this was the worst. From the sub par tents (much nicer to be found for much less), the smoke-filled lounge where they (apparently) haven't learned how to draft the fire, to the pleasantly monotonous, bland meals, this place fails to impress. Stay somewhere else and get more for your money.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JHM5S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 38 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2009

Overall the hotel is pretty good but our agency sold it to us as an upgrade. In the end we didn't think it was worth the extra money as the service was comparable to the other lodges we stayed at.
The track to the hotel is long and very bumpy but is pretty scenic and crosses coffee fields.
The room was really nicely decorated with a cute little fireplace which we used as the night was a little chilly. Very romantic. The shower was a little basic but OK. There was a deck in front of our room but unfortunately no view (unlike what the agency sold us).
The restaurant area is lit by storm lamps which makes it a little dark but give it a real camp atmosphere. We enjoyed the fireplace there. Dinner was good. Breakfast wasn't as good as at other lodges (no buffet, small portions served at the table).

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iloveJD79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

We stayed two nights in crater forest tented lodge in early August 2009.
Actually we were about to overnight in serena at crater rim, but eventually after 30min very very bumpy drive we arrived at a place which turned out to be definitely of the best locations we stayed in Kenya and Tanzania, even if without the crater view we had hoped for.
Crater forest tented lodge comprises of approx 10 luxurious tents with hot water and electricity, as well as dinning and leisure tents, and romantic fireplace outside where you can observe stars at night in an unforgettable atmosphere having gin and tonic or any other drink.
During evenings we truly enjoyed romantic candle dinners, fire at night in the tent lit by friendly Masai as well as early morning coffee and tea served to our tent.
Get some warm clothes as it might get quite chili at night and simply enjoy your stay there!
An absolutely amazing place to stay during honeymoon tour.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LSJGMXNET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

Very “African” atmosphere, nice location in the middle of coffee plantation. We enjoyed watching a group of elephants on the other side of the valley. Massais protect the lodge from buffles and other natural “invaders”. The night was quite cold, so you will get a fire ready in your tent when coming back from your diner. Very nice food, the soup was superb, you can ask for more if you like it. The night was rather noisy; you will hear lot of animals.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2008

A beautifully run camp on the edge of the Ngorongoro forest. Service was excellent, friendly and efficient. Tents were spacious and comfortable. Each has its own coal burning fire and lovely hot shower. The decor was charming.

Wild elephants grazed amongst the trees in front of our porch and the sounds of the forest at dusk were truly magical.

The food was inventive and plentiful and better than anything else we had in the area.

The only disadvantage is the distance of the lodge from the main road: twenty minutes down a rough single track. If you are going to use this camp as a base for exploring the crater this could be annoying. That said, the surrounding scenary that you drive through is beautiful. Once on the main road you are very close to the park entrance.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DubaiPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123corina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ursula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ngorongoro Conservation Area hotels
0 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
431 reviews
0 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,227 reviews
0 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#8 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodge
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodg...
#10 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
109 reviews
0 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
331 reviews
0 mi away
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge
#11 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crater Forest Tented Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crater Forest Tented Lodge

Address: on Kirin Coffee Estate, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Crater Forest Tented Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing