We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit the people of Africa”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kisima Ngeda Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Visit the people of Africa”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Oh what a road but the second you get there everything is well with the world.
Personal greeting by the excellent owner/hosts.
Pure calm enviroment in an Oasis of beauty yet with modern facilities.
To meet the remote bushmen such a venue is vital and indirectly you know you are contributing to the local community via your stay at the camp and their support in the community.
Overall a wonderful experience and should have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreyCyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    23
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
68
79
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I was just recovering from a crazy bug when we arrived here, and I still had an incredible time! This camp was different from the others we had stayed at, in that is was less about visiting animals and more about tribes. That in itself was incredible. We visited the Hadza tribe and one more that's name isn't coming to mind, but none-the-less this camp is a must. I say that about everywhere I stayed in Tanzania, but that's because I stayed at incredible places! There is a pool to relax in, and a beautiful dock for moonlight dinners. I simply cannot praise it enough. The food? I mean seriously.. the food was better than anywhere. Breakfast (my favorite meal in general) was to die for. I'll stop here, but if this doesn't convince you, there are cute little monkeys that sit outside your tents all day. How cute is that? You will not regret this camp, I promise!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Everyone already writes how comfortable this place is, and how amazingly nice the owners are (Chris and Nani). I'm sure everyone also writes about the exceptional quality of the food, the endless places to relax in the bar area, on the observation tower over the lake with the comfortable couches and tables to have drinks while enjoying the view, the evening bonfire circle or the relaxing pool.

So I'll write about something that most people probably don't know about, which is the opportunity to see rare wildlife otherwise usually not seen on a regular safari.
Since Kisima Ngeda is in a forested area, a fair share of interesting animals reside in the area. On top of the rocks behind the check-in area you can have beers while watching an amazing sunset, with an added bonus: There's a den of the otherwise uncommon Striped Hyenas right below, and they come out in the late afternoon or early evening. The common hyena seen on a safari is the spotted hyena, and the striped hyena is a much more interesting and photogenic animal. In the forest, Chris and Nani are building a raised hide overlooking a water hole, where several interesting animals come to drink late at night, including the elusive aardvark, bushpigs, African civets, marsh mongoose and sometimes servals or even honey badger. It's much more active during the dry season, and should be finished by June or July, 2013. Ask Nani about it - the interesting animals usually come around 2-4am so if you're a real hardcore wildlife enthusiast or a National Geographic-style photographer who wants to capture rare animals in photos, go for it. They will have decently comfortable beds on the hide and watchmen to wake you up when interesting animals come up. So this will make Kisima Ngeda even cooler than it already is.

Other than that, their rooms are very nicely organized and can be used for friends, families or for romantic vacations. Their beds are comfortable and are positioned so that when you wake up the first thing you see is the outdoors and the lake. The nearby Hadzabe is the most extreme non-safari-type activity in Tanzania, with one of the only genuine hunters and gatherers tribe left in Africa. Also the Datoga craftsmen tribe in the area makes for an interesting afternoon. All-in-all there are really not enough good things that can be said about the location, the service, the friendliness and the wildlife opportunities of the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomeslice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providenciales
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Kisma Ngeda is now one of my favorite places in Africa; I love it.

The location. The food. The service. I have no complaints about Kisma Ngeda at all, except perhaps how hard it is to get a room. ;-)

I am a frequent visitor with the Hadza people and Kisma Ngeda will now be my base of operations!!

Room Tip: I just don't think you can go wrong with any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheWealthyHobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Beautiful surrounding, and so peaceful. Tents are far from each other so you don't hear people talking or walking outside. So comfortable . Very safe. Amazing staff. Great food with 5 star service. And the visit to hadzabe tibe was the best experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had a great time at lake Eyasi: we were very much looking forward to Serengeti so the beauty of the lake took us by surprise. We saw there the most amazing sunset, and felt like reaching the edge of the world.
Delicious food, comfortable lodging, spectacular day with the bushmen. All in all is a place where you feel as secluded and far away from any sign of civilization as possible, without giving up comfort during the night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,521 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 876 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is a very interesting break to the animal safari circuit.

The lodge itself is very comfortable with lovely little touches in the rooms like bushmen bow and arrows as shower curtain rails etc. The food good, the staff helpful and the pool lovely.

I particularly liked the short 5 minute walk up to the red rocks for sunset over the lake.

The camp is in an oasis, but once you get out towards the lake it gets pretty desolate fast, but it makes for interesting photography. The lake was there in January with a handful of flamingoes but they are hard to get close to.

The road down wasn't bad at all for us - not tarmac of course but pretty smooth and we made the trip in just over an hour from Karatu - we've driven our 2wd on far worse roads in Australia.

The trip down is interesting too, as you go down the road you can see things getting more remote, it gets hotter and drier and the catcus appear. The huts get more basic etc.

The bushmen trip and datoga visit are interesting, but be aware that there is a steady stream of visitors now so they have cottoned-on and will use the opportunity of your visit to try to sell you things (particularly the datoga)!

Still, the bushmen hunt was an interesting insight into their lifestyle and we saw a pretty intense hunt of a monkey and afterwards they let you have a go with the bow and arrow (aiming at things that are not alive!). The datoga's blacksmith demonstrations are also genuinely quite impressive. Worth going to both.

There is a very interesting back route short-cut from the lodge to Ndutu which is scenic and a little adventurous when climbing the mountain ridge behind the lake. Its a remote relatively untouristed way to approach Ndutu and actually quicker than going via Karatu and the Crater.

Room Tip: Not sure it really matters - they look similar
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Waddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
20.4 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
411 reviews
20.4 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#5 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,149 reviews
31.6 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.0 mi away
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge
#9 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
164 reviews
24.9 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 48 in Karatu
635 reviews
23.4 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kisima Ngeda Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kisima Ngeda Tented Camp

Property: Kisima Ngeda Tented Camp
Address: Lake Eyasi, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Kisima Ngeda Tented Camp Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing