We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exciting!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kisima Ngeda Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Exciting!”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Approaching Kisima Ngeda is one of the most depressing experiences. You will drive through the country where hardly anything grows (at least visibly), and people's dwellings are definitely one of the worst one can find on this globe (do not confuse it with poverty though, you will see them driving motorbikes and even small 4x4!).

By the end of this journuey you will enter a village, which is clearly more neat, and is situated among small oasis of half dried palm trees. Voila, the very entrance to the camp. Honestly, it is dificult to beleive anything reasonalbe can be located here.

Then things change at a very fast pace. You are met by the staff with eagerness one can only dream of. You feel secure and safe and taken a very good care of, at your literally every step. Nice, serene setting, with no attempt to deceive you (that is what is good is good, what may be not is left as is). There is a hell lot of attention invested in every tiny detail of the camp, like wooden plank floors, covered with weaved rug (very compfortable to walk over), most tasteful furniture and other details of interior. Your every wish is fulfilled (for example, you can have your tea/coffee any time you want, from 0530 hrs in the morning till late night). You have a very useful guidance printouts left in your room. Quite obviolsy, the staff is treated fairly, which wins the management/owners their loyalty.

Food is just great. Mind you are dealing with a very difficult to please person, really.

Views on the lake and suronding are stunning, especially if you invest in a short climb over the cliff at the sunset.

Indeed, like it has been said by many other reviewers, hunting with the Hadzaba is The experience, since this is no touristy thing (like infamous Maasai villages).

Similarly, visiting a family of the blacksmith was quite an experience. You feel instant respect for the people who mastered the trade, no matter how imperfect and primitive it may appear to you, manage their affairs with lots of dignity, are genuinely happy (to an extent of displaying sense of humour).

Owners are passionate about their business, and are doing their level best.

One of the bext experiences in East Africa during our 6+ years.
.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gandibober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    23
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
66
80
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in 2007, sorry for the late review, but from the looks of it on tripadvisor, things haven't changed too much! The tents were comfortable, the food was homey and fresh (the family that owns and runs this place also has a working farm), and the location was peaceful an idyllic.

The next morning we went out with our local guide to go hunting with the Hadza. It was fun and not to be missed!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sweetpeatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
160 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

My wife and I spent 2 days at this camp on the shore of Lake Eyasi. The camp is small, with 5 comfortable tents with en suite bathrooms. The owners are much in evidence assuring a high level of service. Highlight was the morning spent with Hadzi Bushmen, primitive hunter/gatherers, as they raced through the forest with their dogs and bows and arrows. We kept up with them and witnessed their bagging a python, shot down from a tree. We were thrilled to watch it being skinned.

Room Tip: All tents identical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mittyc2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbrae, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

More than any other place we stayed during our time in Tanzania, Kisima Ngeda exceeded expectations. We would go back in a heartbeat -- and intend to! The setting is absolutely beautiful and lush. The tent cabins are maintained in excellent condition. The staff are top-notch and the owners are some of the friendliest, most well-informed you would want to meet. We loved drinking tea or coffee served to the raised porch in front of our tent cabin, allowing us a very leisurely bit of early morning birding (great birding at Kisima Ngeda) and monkey-watching to start the day. We loved the exceptional food in a very fitting indoor-outdoor setting. And the views of the sunsets over Lake Eyasi from the top of the rock lookout? That's a memory I will always have.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marin county, california
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2012

My husband and I had the great pleasure to stay at this beautiful tented camp a couple of weeks ago - March 2012. The hospitality, the food, the service and the general ambiance were unsurpassed in our month long Tanzania experience. The owners were welcoming and attentive to every details (tea and/or coffee delivered to your tent in the morning? what time would you like to be awakened?). Don's miss the steep but short walk to the cliff top outcropping behind the camp - the 360 degree sunset views are fabulous.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the 2nd to last tent from the main dining/bar area - there is a large monitor lizard livi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crisj077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012 via mobile

An oasis in Tanzania. This tented camp is wonderful, the staff are great, the food is fantastic and nothing is to much trouble. A fire at night, the tree house and walks along the lake were totally peaceful. We climbed the hill behind the camp and were escorted by two staff who insisted on carrying the cool box with glasses and our wine for Sundowners. The view is stunning and very romantic. A family of inquisitive mice visited while we were up there and just went about there business and left you alone while foraging. We managed a visit to the Hadzabe bushmen tribe which is highly recommended. Be prepared to really walk as these fellows move through the bush at such speed and with little apparent effort that after three hours we were ready to call it quits. Fantastic experience. All the tribal cultural visits were wonderful and showed another side to Tanzania after touring the Serengeti. Nani and Chris are really interesting people and genuine hosts who are really happy to share their piece of paradise with you. Definitely will be back. Tony and Carolyn ( a South African and New Zealander living in Singapore)

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank carton01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
224 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I can't agree more. This was the most perfect accomodation of our group tour safari. The owner couple couldn't have been more helpful or informative. The meals were set but hands down the best of our trip. Fresh, flavourful, unique ... what else could one ask for. The setting was quiet and peaceful. We walked down to the lake and also spent time by the pool. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The service from beginning to end was top notch. I would almost go back to Africa just to stay at this lodge!!

Room Tip: All are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sixtysix66_66_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
20.4 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
402 reviews
31.6 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#6 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,513 reviews
20.4 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#5 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 48 in Karatu
626 reviews
18.8 mi away
Crater Forest Tented Camp
Crater Forest Tented Camp
#33 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
52 reviews
42.0 mi away
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge
#10 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kisima Ngeda Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kisima Ngeda Tented Camp

Property: Kisima Ngeda Tented Camp
Address: Lake Eyasi, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Kisima Ngeda Tented Camp Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing