We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breath Taking View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breath Taking View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

This probably has the finest crater view in the region. Rooms were basic but nice and clean and food was good enough. It has an awesome observation deck from which you can see the entire crater using their binoculars. We had a couple of visitors to the lodge a Male elephant and a couple of wild buffaloes.

Overall a nice warm hotel to stay at which offers good service at offered prices.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PercyPatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    238
    152
    54
    29
See reviews for
119
277
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Daylesford, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

The rooms were pretty basic, service also was average, and the food was best described as enough.
However this was nothing compared to the views, fantastic well worth the stay. Forget the fact that the lodge is large, the view and easy crater access make it well worth while.
Overall it does offer great value.
It must have the best crater location.

Room Tip: Any room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

This lodge has a spectacular view of Ngorongoro Crater - and that is its only real asset.
Shortcomings:
1) towels were not available upon check in
2)power outage for about 1/2 hours before dinner
3)wifi is not free - $10 for an hour - did not work and had a terrible time getting refunded.
4) bar waitress would not allow me to charge my drink order to my room - insisted upon cash - said check out in the morning would be too busy to reconcile my bill
5) restaurant is like a high school cafeteria - buffet style, but no seating assignment - people grabbing tables, moving tables and chairs around. Could not tell if a table was occupied or had been vacated. Staff had hard time keeping ahead of the mess.
6) had to wait for clean coffee cups during breakfast.
7) food is mediocre - pork chops so tough I could not cut them.
8) Driver/guide facilities are also lacking - very small rooms, no towels provided, and eating area so small that some must stand to eat their dinner - unacceptable!!
This faciitiy is not worth the money - would suggest another facility in the area - others also have great views.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the crater
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ngorongoro Conservation Area hotels

Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

I stayed one night with my family and the hotel offers a great view but the facilities and the service is horrible. Moreover, you have to pay 10 USD to access the internet.

They do not turn up the heat during July and August so please remember your winter coat it is very cold inside (the staff wear fleece inside)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThomasC463364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banos, Ecuador
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great views from rooms and restaurant . Good hospitality and food. This is the lodge I would recommend for a visit to Ngorogoro crater for a safari tour as it is well situated to access roads to the crater. It offers good value in comparison to the likes of Four Seasons.

Room Tip: Spend two nights here at least
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelbrkeaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed one night here and one night at Rhino Lodge. This lodge was way more expensive, but we actually enjoyed Rhino Lodge more. The food here was bad. The service at the restaurant left a lot to be desired. The rooms were adequate. The pipes were noisy whenever you or your neighbor turned on the water. There was no hot water for my wife's morning shower.

However, the view is the best on the crater. If you can eat or drink on the balcony outside (i.e., if it's warm enough), you really should.

It seemed like they were trying to create American style accommodation in east Africa, and it just didn't quite work. Perhaps that's why we enjoyed Rhino Lodge, which is more genuine.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
156 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

The only reason to stay here is the view. That said, there are two other lodges along the crater rim with the same view so unless they are booked up, there is no reason to stay here. The rooms are fine but nothing special. I would have been worried if my mother had been with me as I feel the step into the tub/shower was quite a high one. I would not have let her do it alone. I was pretty shocked and put off by the fact that this place does not let the guides can't eat with their guests. Internet was an unbelievable $10/hour (i declined). The lunch box they packed for me a a vegetarian was french fries. Meanwhile the rest of my companions (all meat eaters) were given a vegetarian sandwich along with their chicken. Dinner was ok. This is not a place were you feel particularly cared for by the staff. It is a bit of a factory. I later saw a review in the lonely planet guide that was succinct and dead on, "If all other lodges on the rim are full, but you really want a room with a view, consider this large relic, which can only be recommended for its excellent setting."

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank aps101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
23.4 mi away
Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge
Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge
#1 of 2 in Lake Manyara National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
6.9 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
11.1 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 47 in Karatu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
7.9 mi away
Crater Forest Tented Camp
Crater Forest Tented Camp
#31 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge

Property: Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
Address: Ngorongoro Crater, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge is dramatically perched on the rim of Africa’s Eden, affording unbelievable views plunging down over the crater floor, 7,500 feet above the sea level. The Lodge is elegantly built mainly from natural stone and local wood and timber, harmoniously merging with its natural surroundings, and it is provided with panoramic windows that encompass superb views of the crater’s great bowl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and Booking.com so you can book your Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngorongoro Wildlife Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Ngorongoro Wildlife Conservation Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing