We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

The hotel is situated overlooking the crater. Our rooms were situated so you could look out of your bedroom windows and see the crater. This was amazing. As it is so high up to took a fair amount of time to get to and from the lodge from the crater and it is quite cold so be prepared for that! There isn't a pool as it is too cold at the lodge. The food was great with great live music to go with the food. Unfortunately staff felt the need to place all guests next to each other at tables even though there was only two or three guest parties. I would definitely recommend this lodge, it was great!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    241
    152
    54
    30
See reviews for
119
280
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mwanza
Level Contributor
105 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed here one night in low season. It was quiet, but we enjoyed the stay. The rooms are fine - not luxury lodge standard, but certainly adequate. The bar/restaurant is interesting - it looks very much like a ski lodge, and as such it wouldn't be my cup of tea in high season. There is a long terrace with stunning views of the crater.
The staff were friendly. The food was good. It's well worth taking a look at.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
149 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Had originally been scheduled to stay at the Ngorongoro Serena Lodge, but a very late change in itinerary put me in this Lodge; a screw up either South African Airways Vacations and/or Kudu Safaris. Ltd., and a lot of finger pointing. Tried to get into the Serena Lodge, but no room at the Inn (was Christmas Day). Very upset when I arrived at the Wildlife Lodge and the manager, Hamisi Juma, did a great job to make me feel welcome and arranged for a good room. Very friendly attentive staff, good bar service and the food was adquate, bufflet style serving. Lodge located on the rim of the Crater with great views, but was more like Holiday Inn in Tanzania, which is not that bad. No hot water in the AM on the 26th, so took a very quick and refreshing (cold) shower. Do not know what I paid so cannot assess value for the price point. Would have rather been at the Serena Lodge for Christams, that was to be one of the high points of my 5-week trip, but travel companies ruined that goal. Score above should be "Good" for the overall score, but no catefgory for "Good". Tip: Check and Double Check what your travel companies are telling you, and the arrangements they are making.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dionges1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silicon valley
Level Contributor
319 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The setting on the top of the crater is stunning. The hotel is dated and worn out. The rooms are simple and clean. The restraint is a buffet and had many choices. Nothing luxurious, but it did have warm showers and a view.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel4fun111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge is a luxury wildlife lodge. It is situated close to a large lake and is surrounded by high hills.
The lidge itself has very good and comfortable rooms and a very good restaurant. It is Close to the Ngorongoro Crater.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lars B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

When we arrived, we were expecting the worst! We were quite familiar with the reviews….and they were not good - go for the view and nothing more.

As our tour operator dropped us off, two ladies took our bags and started to clean them. When we went to check in, we were given 2 cold towels with lemon infused smells added, and 2 refreshing drinks. They were absolutely wonderful. Check-in was quick, and at this point we were very impressed. We went right to the balcony on a CLOUDLESS day…has to be one of the top views in the world for a hotel, I kid you not.

We had a few drinks (average price), and were given complementary nuts and popcorn. The main room looked refinished…with soft leather seats. We were wondering why there were so many complaints.

Supper was also good, not great, not bad, but good.

The room was the issue. Not including the unbelievable view from each, several huge issues arose…

When we showered, every time someone else flushed a toilet, the water would scald you…to the point of actually burning you. The walls are extremely thin…you can hear every flush, door shut, and so on. There were several power outages. Internet was charged $10/hr..and only in the main room. This alone is a joke, and needs to be changed! There is not one wall painting in the room…just blank white walls giving a very cold feeling. The boxed lunches for safaris are also a joke….waste of time ordering them. The had a white hotdog bun with cucumbers, a banana, and water…ugh.

This place needs to cut the price in half till they figure out a few of their major issues including plumbing!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlechilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The lodge was really lovely, first place I have stayed in that offered Tea and Coffee making facilities in room, and a small fridge. Only problem is they only have power between 6 and 10 am and pm, something I was unaware of until I checked in. It wasn' t a huge drama, but if you want a cup of tea at 4.30pm forget it, and make sure you take a torch in case you need to use the tiolet at 3am.
The meals were excellent, great variety in the buffet, and the packed lunches for safari drives more than sufficient. Staff were very friendly, my only complaint was that they hovered around me too much at meal times, then when the restaurant was busy I could get dri k service, I actually had to get up off my table and approach staff in order to place a drink order.
The views and location is spectacular, my disappointment came from the game drive, I had been told the animals there were in abundance and fabulous. Yes they are there, but unfortunately having just come from a safari to the Masai Mara, it was very disappointing by compared, at the Mara the animals were so much closer and approached the vehicle's. I did enjoy it but it did not compare to the Masai Mara. My booking agent had also said there was a swimming pool at the lodge, which there is not. It didn't concern me, but I don't like being given false information. All in all it was a lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zarina1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
23.4 mi away
Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge
Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge
#1 of 2 in Lake Manyara National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
6.9 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#5 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
11.1 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 48 in Karatu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
7.9 mi away
Crater Forest Tented Camp
Crater Forest Tented Camp
#30 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge

Property: Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
Address: Ngorongoro Crater, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge is dramatically perched on the rim of Africa’s Eden, affording unbelievable views plunging down over the crater floor, 7,500 feet above the sea level. The Lodge is elegantly built mainly from natural stone and local wood and timber, harmoniously merging with its natural surroundings, and it is provided with panoramic windows that encompass superb views of the crater’s great bowl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com and Agoda so you can book your Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngorongoro Wildlife Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Ngorongoro Wildlife Conservation Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing