We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms, amazing view, nice food”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms, amazing view, nice food”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on the last night of our honeymoon safari, when you walk in the view you get is astounding. The hotel has floor to ceiling windows that overlook the crater and then when we got to the room we found we had the same wonderful view.

The dinner was a nice change from the buffet style, being able to choose from a range of menu items which made up a 4 course meal. Just a shame that they didn't serve good coffee instead using the instant equivalent .

Really nice way to end our stay, waking up to that view topped off the safari.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayleigh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    242
    153
    55
    30
See reviews for
121
281
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Rooms a bit basic, bathroom minute (extractor fan did not work). Fantastic view over the crater/caldera, friendly staff (had a long chat to the very friendly Indian chef). Buffalo grazed right under our window during the night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed here in April 2013, the view was well worth the stay, the lodge was priced to suit. Its closeness to the main road made it handy as well.
The rooms are simple and the dining room is large but the food was plentiful and tasty.
It is worth staying here for the views and the walk we did in the forest, we felt quite safe with the armed ranger.

Room Tip: Enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sara p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Fantastic location and views from bedrooms and balcony, but I agree with the reviewer who said that the views are not enough. The lodge lacks atmosphere and needs updating. The dining room was more like a huge cafeteria packed with people. Food is plentiful but average. Staff did not smile. Overall for the money spent it was very disappointing.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillyGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ngorongoro Conservation Area hotels

Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the lodge for a single night, on our Ngorongoro-Serengeti safari. The lodge is literally perched on the rim of the Ngorongoro crater and provides breath-taking views of this natural wonder. The rooms are ok. Don’t expect any big city hotel luxuries though. No room service. Don't really need it anyway. No air-conditioning, this is ok, as during the day you'll most likely be out and about and the temperature drops at night, so its not uncomfortably hot. No TV in the rooms. There is one big screen TV in the lounge. If it really bothers you that there is no TV in the rooms then you need to revaluate the whole point of an African safari. I did think it was a big classless to find, some hotel staff gathered around the TV lounge when we passed by on our way to dinner. If you need to iron any clothes, you must call housekeeping and they will do it for you. The dinner and breakfast we had provided a decent buffet selection. Overall a decent experience.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonding, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This lodge is one of the disapponting lodges in Tanzania. The view is extraordinary, but the rest got stuck in socialistic times.
The room is ok, relatively small with a huge window front with the view into the crater. It was cold, as most of the times in this Region and the room was not heated. This made us feel very uncomfortable. The balcony is nice, the dining room is like a train Station and Food is really not overwhelming. But you don`t starve anyway. The staff didn`t seem to be motivated and for African circumstances was Kind of unfriendly. No smile on the faces. During dinner a Music Combo played Music without any motivation or emphasis and as they played "Jingle bells" end of October we decided to got to bed where we couldn`t sleep as it was very cold. Drinks very very expensive! There are better lodges at the crater for the same Price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teeny29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Given that this lodge is cheaper than just about everything else at the crater and by a margin we did not have high hopes. We were absolutely delighted by our experience. As self-drivers we were a bit unusual but they did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable. The food was good, not fantastic, but well above the average of our trip.

I note a previous reviewer commented on it not having US standards, true, I was never invited to have a nice day, instead they did everything in their power to ensure that we did.

The room was clean and had the most fantastic view of the crater possible. It would be worth staying here for the view alone.I have travelled a fair bit but would suggest it is a contender for the best hotel view I have ever seen. We also welcomed the provision of a bath as well a shower. Also the reliable electric supply rather than the solar alternatives that leaves one squinting if one tries to read.

The hotel is decorated in sixties style which may sound off putting but it has been done to such a high standard with Italian art work that it is a gem.

If we ever returned to the crater we would be back there without hesitation.

Room Tip: They all have excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank langham1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
3.3 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,149 reviews
6.9 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
411 reviews
12.9 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 48 in Karatu
635 reviews
11.2 mi away
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodge
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodg...
#14 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
76 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge

Property: Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
Address: Ngorongoro Crater, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge is dramatically perched on the rim of Africa’s Eden, affording unbelievable views plunging down over the crater floor, 7,500 feet above the sea level. The Lodge is elegantly built mainly from natural stone and local wood and timber, harmoniously merging with its natural surroundings, and it is provided with panoramic windows that encompass superb views of the crater’s great bowl. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ngorongoro Wildlife Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Ngorongoro Wildlife Conservation Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing