We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apart from the view.......”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Essentially, you are paying for the view and it is truly 5-star. Otherwise, the Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge is unremittingly average. The room we had was fine but the bathroom was extremely small - broken toilet seat, no hot water on arrival, missing a shower door, faulty hair dryer. Reception staff varied from merely unhelpful to somewhat rude. Housekeeping staff seemingly unable to work quietly......shouted conversations and loud mobile phone conversations - when will hotel staff be told that these conversations are private and have no place in working time/in front of paying guests? Food generally 'OK', but the desserts (apart from fresh fruit!) were a minor disaster from the 1970s! Must do better.....basic staff training and poor maintenance are not acceptable anywhere in this day and age.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cvnutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (649)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 649 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

When booking our trip, we checked the reviews for this hotel on Trip Advisor and noted some of the more ambivalent or negative reviews. However, it appears that since some of these older reviews, the hotel has been making a concerted effort to improve its guest experience. The rooms were spacious and clean, and all the staff (in particular the bar and restaurant staff) were extremely helpful - striking the right balance between being attentive and friendly without being over-bearing.

A particular hat-tip has to go to one of the new chefs at the hotel, Krishna, who was extremely accommodating and went the extra mile to ensure our stay and experience at the Lodge the best possible. Most of the lodges and hotels on the northern parks safari circuit tend to provide buffet-style dining, and as does this Lodge. Having experienced the buffets of a number of lodges during or safari, we cannot fault the quality or variety of the food on the buffets - both at breakfast and at dinner.

A number of reviewers have noted the temperature. The Crater itself and the Crater Rim area can get quite cool (when we were down in the crater, we had to wear our jackets for most of the day), so it is not surprising that the hotel is cooler than some of the lodges down in the Serengeti or elsewhere. There is a large log fire in the bar/lounge area, and while we did note it was cooler in the public spaces, the bedrooms were perfectly comfortable in short-sleeves.

Finally, one cannot write a review of this hotel without remarking upon the breath-taking views over the crater, both from the veranda and from the bedrooms. For the views alone this hotel can be highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raspberrycake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Like most of the reviews have said, this lodge is worth it just for the view of the crater - a fantastic porch overlooks the entire crater, and the rooms have some pretty good views too. Yes, the lodge is cold, but so is the crater - so just bring a good jacket and you'll be fine. The food was fine - buffet-style, with lots of options. The staff was nice, the place seemed clean, and I thought it was a good stay for one night.

The only problem was with the room. The walls were so thin we could hear every time one of our neighbors flushed their toilet. The shower only had one door and it wasn't fantastic pressure - which is pretty important when you're trying to wash dust out of your hair. And the hallway to our room was dark with one flickering light - like we were in a horror movie or something.

Otherwise, it would be worth it if your stay in the crater isn't too long.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexisDorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The views are as magnificent as everyone says, though in the morning they were obscured by fog. We also were impressed by the building, which we thought was older than it really was. Our enthusiasm waned throughout our one-night stay, however. The food seemed mediocre, and the cold in the dining room and public spaces was startling. I was thankful I had that jacket; I certainly needed it. While some staff members were pleasant, we found a lack of warmth among them too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SleeplessinSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was my husband and my least favourite of the 4 accommodations we stayed at during our 8 days of safari through Tarangire, Lake Manyara, Serengeti and Ngorongoro. Firstly, the whole lodge was very very very cold. We had to wear a fleece or jacket everywhere in the lodge including our hotel room, and so were all the other guests and staff. Secondly, the decor was outdated and needs to be modernised. Lastly, food was so-so.. very "commercial" with soggy vegetables, cold desserts (bread pudding etc were cold too). Staff were not friendly as well. It's main redeeming factor was the amazing view we had of the crater.

I guess if we have not had the opportunity to stay in other tented camps and lodges earlier in our trip, we might have found this place acceptable. But having experienced other accommodation that were far smaller but so much more personalised with better service standards, this place was a real disappointment.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank FJH_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KampalaAshsharma, group General Manager Operations at Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Thank you for your valuable time to write review about our hotel. First of all, let me sincerely apologize about all the shortcomings during your stay with us. Feedback from our guest helps us to provide premier services at hotels and lodges Tanzania ltd . We sincerely believe and take all efforts at hotels and lodges Tanzania ltd to ensure that all our guest stays are comfortable and that they are delivered with the highest standards of guest experience.

We have re briefed our team at front desk/service/kitchen production team ensuring guests are communicated things in a much suttle manner and improvised the desired standards of food and service.

Once again, many thanks for the feedback which has helped us to identify improvement areas and would place us a step higher in our customer satisfaction. Many thanks. Ashish sharma & Hotels and lodges Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The location is fantastic and worth it for the experience at least once. The rooms have magnificent views over the crater, as do the public areas. There is a long balcony along the bar/restaurant outside where you can sit and enjoy the views and watch animals through the set of binoculars. The rooms were fine. The food was good but had a limited menu as though they were running on limited staff for off season. I would have enjoyed the stay more if it had been warmer. I spent the whole time wearing my fleece and even went to bed wearing my fleece and socks. The other problem we had was that the power goes off at Midnight until 5am (as do all the lodges apparently). No one told us that until we arrived and it wouldn't have been a problem except that my dad, who was travelling with us, suffers with sleep apnia and so needs a breathing machine through the night. However, after a few animated discussions with the manager, he did keep one of the generators on overnight which was much appreciated and they didn't charge us any extra although they wanted to at first. It might be good to take a torch just in case you need to get up in the night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oliveoil3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Although we have read some bad comments about the hotel and were a bit concerned, we cannot complain about anything! The room was very nice, perfectly clean (also the bathroom). The views are just spectacular and the staff was very hospitable. We liked our stay at the Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge and would repeat again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChuiCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KampalaAshsharma, Manager at Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Hotels and lodges management wish to extend the gratitude towards your kind words and zenuine reviews in regards to our ngorongoro wild life lodge..... the true and encouraging feedback has been our sources of motivation and helping us in our mission to create niche in hospitality domain in this particular region....


Assuring you Highest regards..


ASHISH.K.SHARMA

GROUP GM OPERATIONS
Hotelsandlodges Tanzania Ltd..
Email-grpmgrops@hotelsandlodges-tanzania.com
Www.hotelsandlodges-Tanzania.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ngorongoro Conservation Area hotels
1.1 mi away
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodg...
#1 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
687 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,221 reviews
6.9 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,640 reviews
11.2 mi away
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodge
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodg...
#11 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
108 reviews
5.1 mi away
Crater Forest Tented Camp
Crater Forest Tented Camp
#31 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge

Address: Ngorongoro Crater, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Hotel Class:2 star — Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge is dramatically perched on the rim of Africa’s Eden, affording unbelievable views plunging down over the crater floor, 7,500 feet above the sea level. The Lodge is elegantly built mainly from natural stone and local wood and timber, harmoniously merging with its natural surroundings, and it is provided with panoramic windows that encompass superb views of the crater’s great bowl. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ngorongoro Wildlife Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Ngorongoro Wildlife Conservation Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing