We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Plantation Lodge & Safaris

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Plantation Lodge & Safaris
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed here for only one night unfortunately while on our way to Ngorogoro Crater and Serengetti. The Lodge was amazing. The rooms were lovely, food was very good and the whole scenery was breathtaking. It is worth mentioning early on, or when booking if you have any dietary requirements as the dinners are set in advance. Having a gin and tonic on the bar terrace overlooking all the beautiful scenery was perfect. They had a lovely bonfire burning nearby to the building so you could go down at night and relax. The pool was lovely - great view of the surrounding hills while you catch some rays after a long day in the parks.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valipali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    86
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
94
244
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights mid safari. From the moment we were welcomed on arrival it was obvious we were in very safe hands.
All staff were excellent and a special thanks to the team who sang happy birthday to my wife in swahili whilst bringing the cake in - a very memorable ocassion. Pre dinner drinks on the balcony overlooking a fire pit was a great start to the evening and all meals were wonderfully prepared and professionally served. We used the pool a couple of times and the temperature was ideal. A perfect stay and very handy for the magnificent crater.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sunnydogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed at Plantation Lodge with a friend en route to the Serengeti and again on our way back to break up the long journey to the airport and enjoy some pampering after 10 days on safari.

The lodge has lovely gardens and the standard rooms are large with big bathrooms and very comfortable. On our return visit we were upgraded to the Zanzibar Suite which was such a nice gesture and surprise. It certainly had the wow factor which you can see from their website - it really did make the end of our safari really special and the fact that we were allowed to stay in the suite until early afternoon when our guide picked us up was very kind of the manager. We treated ourselves to a wonderful massage (recommended) which was perfect after an early morning swim in the pool.

Very good food here and a wonderful selection of wines to enjoy on the outdoor terrace.

It is about 20 mins away from the Ngorongoro Crater so a perfect spot if you do not want to stay at the larger, more impersonal hotels on the crater rim. I am so pleased we chose to stay here, it is a little gem of a lodge, nothing is too much trouble for friendly staff - I wish I could have stayed longer.



I

Room Tip: If you can afford the Zanzibar Suite, treat yourself, it is quite amazing. Loved every minute stayi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at plantation lodge for 2 nights during our safari trip. The property is absolutely beautiful and the rooms are stunning. The food was great and there was always so much of it. The view from the terrace made it the perfect place to have cocktails and snacks in the evening. The staff are great at plantation lodge and we stayed up both nights (much later than we should have) drinking wine and sharing stories with the staff as well as other travellers. It was a great experience! The bar area and wine cellar are gorgeous. This is a great place to stay if you plan to visit the Ngorongoro crater during your safari (which you should because it's breathtaking!)

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank StephS3624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

After a few days on Safari in Kenya, we began our Tanzania safari with Plantation Lodge (PL) as our base for 3 nights. We arrived after dark, and were welcomed by the PL team and taken to the delightful accommodation that would be our home for a few days. The room was beautifully decorated, and extremely comfortable. After settling in we went went to have dinner (all meals were included) in the dining room, and were treated to a 4 course mean and service that would do a fancy restaurant proud. After leaving early in the morning to see the wonders of Ngorongoro Crater, we returned to PL for a lovely lunch, and spent time wandering around the manicured gardens, before relaxing by the pool. When we eventually left PL we took with us wonderful memories.
Thank you PL team for the wonderful time we spend at PL. We had read excellent reviews of PL when we were selecting where to stay during our Safari, however, PL certainly exceeded our expectations!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is really a top flight establishment! We were pleasantly surprised to enter the lavish grounds (welcomed by hot towels and cold drinks, no less) after turning down an unmarked dirt road between roadside shanties on the road to Ngorongoro. Bowled over is probably a better word! The house a really beautiful, open, almost Spanish-style building, and rooms are scattered across tasteful clusters of out buildings. We had a wonderful suite of rooms with our younger daughter, with a private patio with lovely plantings. Rooms, baths and furnishings are incredibly tasteful, and the entire establishment would be considered cutting edge "hip" here in the US. The grounds are the final touch, with just beautiful gardens, lawns and trees; a secluded pool area; and a few playful kittens hiding in the flowers. My only complaint was that our room was a bit hot with closed windows and mosquito netting; and they only have a fan or two.

For our group, it was a huge bonus that there was a lovely bar, complete with a large deck overlooking the dik diks (very small deer) crusing the lawn, where we could swap highlights with fellow explorers. The restaurant was very good, though I'd have to say that fixed menu trended toward sophisticated and smallish; while I was thrilled to enjoy haute cuisine (supplied by the large vegetable garden in back), the bigger appetites in our group were left wanting a cheeseburger.

Last but not least, the Plantation is right beside the entrance to the Ngorongoro crater park, and they packed some excellent lunches for our day there. Staff was kind and accommodating.

This is a highly recommended garden spot. It really added to our fantastic trip to Tanzania.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BagzRPkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

After a dusty safari, there is no better place to relaxe for a day or two then here. Perfect location, beatifull rooms, bar, restaurant, garden and what a stunning view from the pool! The only minor point ( in my opinion) is the typical english menu, no Tanzania dishes here...

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kilidoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
10.3 mi away
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
3.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
11.4 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
5.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
2.9 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 47 in Karatu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plantation Lodge & Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plantation Lodge & Safaris

Property: The Plantation Lodge & Safaris
Address: P.O.Box 34 | Karatu, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Plantation Lodge & Safaris 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
The Plantation Lodge And Safaris
The Plantation Lodge & Safaris Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing