We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I felt like Meryl Streep....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Plantation Lodge & Safaris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Plantation Lodge is beautifully landscaped, providing a relaxing, luxurious environment surrounded by coffee plantations and the Green Hills of Africa. Each room is different, but they all offer privacy, quite, comfort and charm. The rooms, as well as the mail lodge are all decorated with splendid antiques and art work from Tanzania. Most ingredients for the meals are grown on the Lodge's grounds, leading to fresh and delicious meals.
The pool has beautiful views of near-by plantations. Wi-fi is available in the main area.
My only complaints were minor. The resident German Shephard barks and, at times, that made it hard to take an afternoon snooze. Also, the accounting system is paper only and several in our group were inadvertantly charged for drinks they never had. So, check your charges carefully at the end of your stay.
Overall, though, this is a beautiful, relaxing and luxurious place to refresh yourself from days in the parks.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ljenks99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 448 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was our most luxurious lodge during our trip at the mainland of Tanzania. Don't expect any real safari feeling though, the lodge is situated in a agricultural area. We made a nice hike through the fields. The management was so kind to give us a big villa with 2 bedrooms (2 stayed locked) and a really huge living room with a big terrace. The garden is very well maintained. The swimming pool is nice (but rather cold in July). Good food in a very nice restaurant. It's only a 20 minutes drive to the entrance of the Ngorogoro national park. This lodge will certainly offer better value than the lodges at the crater rim. There’s wifi near the office, slow but it works. We stayed for two nights, had one perfect day to rest here, and moved on to the Ngorogoro Crater and from there to Ndutu.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bert-jan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Thank you Renate, for a wonderful stay during our honeymoon. We both loved our night at your lodge, and consider it a highlight of our highlight filled trip to Tanzania. It is obvious how much of your heart and soul has been invested here. Thank you for welcoming us in with your family and friends and for sharing your story with us. You did make the right choice.

Greg and Anya

Hopefully you'll take a look at tripadvisor some day and see all the wonderful things people have to say about your lodge.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neuf01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We only stayed at Plantation Lodge for one night on our way to safari. We were made very welcome and our room was excellent with some of the comfiest beds we've ever come across in a hotel. Whilst we didn't have time to take advantage of the pool, we did wander round the beautiful gardens with our cameras. Dinner was nicely served and all the team were very friendly. If you like a bit of luxury this would be a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Take time to admire the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The reception at the planation lodge did indeed occur a few days prior to our arrival at the accomodation: upon arrival at Arusha airport I was unsure of whether I had packed my CF. cards (several 16GB. camera storage cards, being a pro-photographer !) and was conversing with another passenger on the flight, Camilla, who very pleasantly gave me great advice as to where to obtain replacements lest I hadn't brought them - thankfully I had secured them into a nook of my suitcase (Phew !)
The Plantation Lodge was the 2nd. of 3 accomodations which we stayed at whilst on Safari, being different in that it's not 'on the ground'; it proved to be the best in all aspects: the service, food, accomodation - the whole package - was excellent !
The staff greeted us on our (early) arrival with an unscheduled drink & lunch; the hospitality offered by Maria was superb, as it was throughout our stay.
We booked this Lodge to enjoy a touch of Western cuisine/style, and although offered at other venues, here it was actually good - excellent, really: could be a gastronomical speciality hotel...
- If you really want to experience the African lifestyle and food, hire a shack...
It is apparent that the owner takes great pride in the running of the Lodge, which explains it's success.
This Lodge is ideally located for a range of Safari jaunts, and also seems to be the choice for drivers, a reflection on the respect given.
I would've loved to have stayed for longer, and made use of their massage; the one pity was the pool, which although was well situated, didn't appear to have been maintained as excellently as the rest of the property.
I'd love to visit again, even if just for the gastronomic experience, stylish design and the excellent service rendered - a wonderful treat.

Room Tip: As far as I could surmise, all of the rooms are good !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debal07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This gorgeous hotel was were we had the good fortune to stay during our trip to Lake Manyara National Park. The rooms are immaculately kept and the grounds are spectacular. The meals were top notch too. Our group was also given a tour of the ajoining coffee plantation. It was very interesting to hear how the coffee beans are grown and harvested.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnyday1k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

A real treat. Room & bathroom top notch; lovely, landscaped grounds; and great pool overlooking the sunset. Food superb - great breakfasts, top class four course suppers and excellent hamper lunch. And lovely verandah in the bar overlooking huge bonfire. Perfect retreat after the dust, heat and excitement of the Ngorongoro.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ngorongoro Conservation Area hotels
11.3 mi away
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodg...
#1 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
690 reviews
3.4 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
431 reviews
13.5 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
331 reviews
12.4 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#8 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,648 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodge
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodg...
#10 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plantation Lodge & Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plantation Lodge & Safaris

Address: P.O.Box 34 | Karatu, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Plantation Lodge & Safaris 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a green oasis, The Plantation Lodge, rests on the red-brown hills. The individually furnished rooms and suites melting harmoniously into the flowering garden offering comfort and relaxation. Everywhere you look, you can see and feel the personal atmosphere of this owner-run lodge with furnishings that were selected with great attention to detail. The Plantation Lodge's cordial service leaves no wish unfulfilled. The lodge's location promises maximum safari enjoyment: a stone's throw from the entrance to the Ngorongoro Conservation Area and the Lake Manyara national park, and just a short journey from the Tarangire national park and the Serengeti. A luxury lodge with 5 suites and 17 standard rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Plantation Lodge And Safaris
The Plantation Lodge & Safaris Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing