We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Stay While Visiting Lake Manyara NP”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Plantation Lodge & Safaris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This gorgeous hotel was were we had the good fortune to stay during our trip to Lake Manyara National Park. The rooms are immaculately kept and the grounds are spectacular. The meals were top notch too. Our group was also given a tour of the ajoining coffee plantation. It was very interesting to hear how the coffee beans are grown and harvested.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnyday1k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 446 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

A real treat. Room & bathroom top notch; lovely, landscaped grounds; and great pool overlooking the sunset. Food superb - great breakfasts, top class four course suppers and excellent hamper lunch. And lovely verandah in the bar overlooking huge bonfire. Perfect retreat after the dust, heat and excitement of the Ngorongoro.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

What a gem! We were not expecting anything this upscale on our safari. Plantation Lodge is exquisite, with location, grounds, rooms and dining areas all beautifully designed with taste. We were on a full board plan (maybe everyone is) for two nights. This included a 3:00 tea/coffee service served anywhere you wanted it - by the pool, in the shady garden, outside our room on our own outdoor table. Box lunches packed for our trips to Ngorongoro Crater looked to be of higher quality than those we saw from other lodges. (Ask for the chicken salad instead of a sandwich.) One morning, I felt queasy and the owner Renata ordered the cook to make me white rice and chicken broth without me even asking and had it delivered to me on the veranda of our room. I spent time at the cool, blue pool after hot days on the road and it was peaceful and refreshing. Dinner is served in one of two dining rooms and the food is stylish and delicious. As I said, I didn't expect a place this civilized on our trip and probably would have nixed it with our tour company if I had known in advance - after all, we were in Africa and I wanted a more rustic experience. But once we arrived, it was awfully easy to fall into the lap of luxury and love it!

Room Tip: I think any room would be wonderful. We were in Forest Left, with its own veranda and outdoor table...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oneyearoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is really one of the most beautiful places to stay in Africa. The lodge and rooms are filled with beautiful artwork and exquisitely decorated. The food and service is fantastics. Overall, this is a beautiful, unique restful place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PSK_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is a first class lodge. Attention to every detail is what makes this place stand out. The relaxing grounds, superb rooms, friendliness and excellence of the staff, decor and layout combined to make this an outstanding stay. The food is five star quality, and the bar and pool area are very inviting. There is not a single negative to either the hotel or our stay in it. This is an absolutely first class experience to stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northernravens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed on our first night in Tanzania in mid Jan 13. Perfectly located approximately an hour from Lake Manyara Nat Park and 30 mins from the crater meaning we could leave at 5.30am to get to the crater and be there for its 6am opening and the first vehicle in ( albeit there are a few lodges within crater Nat park).

A lovely lodge with massive very sophisticated bathroom, own deck with sun loungers and what seemed to be lovely big gardens and a pool but did not get to experience either of these as there for literally 12 hours. Beautiful outdoor bar terrace and v sophisticated bar area. Clearly great for wine and there is an interesting glass look down from the bar into the cellar. Food was spectacular both for me as a vegetarian and partner who is not and all set up as a classy restaurant.

I suppose staff were slightly less outright friendly than some of other places we stayed but nothing to complain about ( though for example we had a drink then went for 30 min shower before returning to bar at which point most people seemed to be having canapés, we were not offered any and probably our own fault that did not ask but were unsure if was 'included').

All in all lovely!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnaSurrey_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here after several days safari in Serengeti and Ngorongoro; it was lovely to relax in the lovely room and garden, and have a swim after a busy few days. We were upgraded to a suite, which was beautiful; as we only had one night, we did not get chance to use all of it! The food was good, and the whole place was designed and built very imaginatively. Highly recommended!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank chapyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ngorongoro Conservation Area hotels
11.3 mi away
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodg...
#1 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
688 reviews
3.4 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
431 reviews
13.5 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
50.8 mi away
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge
#11 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
176 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodge
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodg...
#10 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
108 reviews
12.4 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plantation Lodge & Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plantation Lodge & Safaris

Address: P.O.Box 34 | Karatu, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Plantation Lodge & Safaris 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a green oasis, The Plantation Lodge, rests on the red-brown hills. The individually furnished rooms and suites melting harmoniously into the flowering garden offering comfort and relaxation. Everywhere you look, you can see and feel the personal atmosphere of this owner-run lodge with furnishings that were selected with great attention to detail. The Plantation Lodge's cordial service leaves no wish unfulfilled. The lodge's location promises maximum safari enjoyment: a stone's throw from the entrance to the Ngorongoro Conservation Area and the Lake Manyara national park, and just a short journey from the Tarangire national park and the Serengeti. A luxury lodge with 5 suites and 17 standard rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Plantation Lodge And Safaris
The Plantation Lodge & Safaris Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing