We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Plantation Lodge & Safaris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2008

My fiance and I stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Ngorongoro crater on a recent 2 week trip to Tanzania - we were very pleased with our stay - this was one of my favorite hotels on the trip. The lodge itself is located approximately 15 minutes from the gate to Ngorongoro conservaton area within a region of rolling hills. The hotel grounds are gorgeous - lushly green and immaculately maintained. They also have a pretty swimming pool with a patio for sunbathing. Our room was enormous with a comfortable king bed and a huge bathroom with a walk in stone shower and a large veranda overlooking the gardens. The room was clean and bright, and very attractively furnished. The only thing lacking was a ceiling fan - we slept with the windows closed to limit the mosquitoes and it got a bit stuffy. The food was outstanding - among the best that we encountered in any of the hotels. We were also pleased with the service. Plantation lodge is a really charming alternative to the large, impersonal, crowded crater lodges.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank emmyonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 453 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2008

Our room was amazing, very spacious, romantic, comfortable, and had a great outlook and the food was great compared to some other lodges we stayed at during our safari.
The staff were friendly however our room was about 300m from reception and there was no one to assist us with our luggage. Only other disappointment was the pool - which was full of swimming insects (under the water) so we chose not to hop in.
The grounds are beautifully manicured and its a great place to relax before heading to The Crater the next day.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank diverje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2006

We experienced no faults at this very tasteful and gourmet resort. The staff were extremely attentive though respectful of priavacy. The food was simple and superbly presented. Much of the produce was grown in their garden. Our small tour group had an entire building to ourselves with our rooms leading onto a beautiful open lounge with openfire.
It was a luxurious oasis after being on Safari. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2006

Very nice lodge in the Karatu Area ! Our travel Agent booked this lodge because the Serena was full.. What an excellent surprise ! The room was HUGE ! And very romantic ! The food is excellent, and the gardens are lovely !

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Berengere_french
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
Thank IsabelSt6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Françoise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
11.3 mi away
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodg...
#1 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
698 reviews
3.4 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
440 reviews
13.5 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
332 reviews
12.4 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#9 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,660 reviews
2.9 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#2 of 54 in Karatu
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plantation Lodge & Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plantation Lodge & Safaris

Address: P.O.Box 34 | Karatu, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Plantation Lodge & Safaris 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a green oasis, The Plantation Lodge, rests on the red-brown hills. The individually furnished rooms and suites melting harmoniously into the flowering garden offering comfort and relaxation. Everywhere you look, you can see and feel the personal atmosphere of this owner-run lodge with furnishings that were selected with great attention to detail. The Plantation Lodge's cordial service leaves no wish unfulfilled. The lodge's location promises maximum safari enjoyment: a stone's throw from the entrance to the Ngorongoro Conservation Area and the Lake Manyara national park, and just a short journey from the Tarangire national park and the Serengeti. A luxury lodge with 5 suites and 17 standard rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Plantation Lodge And Safaris
The Plantation Lodge & Safaris Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing