We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gibbs Farm
Nearby Hotels
Green Hills Lodge(Karatu)(Great Value!)
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crater Rim View(Karatu)(Great Value!)
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Jambo Rooms(Karatu)(Great Value!)
$25
$21
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge(Lake Manyara National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (732)
Filter reviews
732 results
Traveler rating
635
71
16
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
635
71
16
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showercoffee plantationthe cottagesbush babiesngorongoro cratercow milkingelephant cavelocal choirbread makingcoffee beansvegetable gardenthe main housegift shopsitting roomtwo nightscrater floorsoaking tub
Filter
Updating list...
558 - 563 of 732 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Our first reaction to our room (Shamba) was - wow! What luxury! Exceptionally comfortable, beautifully furnished, excellent facilites (loved the outside shower!). Can't fault the accommodation. Evening meal was superb. Garden & surroundings gorgeous. So our last comment may seem a little bizarre - at Gibb's, we didn't feel as if we were on safari and were longing to be back "in the bush" the following night!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChezArchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

we stayed here for 2 nights in order to visit the crater, and as a mark of how much we liked it, we asked to come back from our drive early so as to spend more time here, had we known just how good it was i would have added an extra night and simplyed stayed at the farm all day, excellent accomdation, fab food, great stuff and a truly restful environment

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

What a totally pleasant surprise this was. We stayed here for 2 nights.

We were arriving from Tarangirie National Park, and the first thing that struck me, even before we reached Gibb’s Farm, was how pleasant the drive was - you pass traditional little huts, boys tending cattle and goats by the roadside, cattle drawn vehicles being overtaken by 4x4 landrovers, rolling hills and scenery - it was Africa at it’s best.

And Gibb’s Farm did not disappoint at all. The cottages are awesome - beautifully decorated, and very spacious and light. The verandah of the cottage we had, Shamba, overlooked the coffee plantation where Gibb’s is situated, so you got the atmosphere of a working farm yet it was still peaceful and tranquil. There was an open fireplace in the lounge (unfortunately the weather was warm enough in October so we didn’t need to light the fire) which also opened into the large bathroom, so you could have a bath or a shower in the firelight - how romantic would that be! The outside shower was enclosed by the vegetation, so your view is just banana trees and greenery!

Peter and Tracy, the managers, were incredibly friendly and welcoming, as were all the staff.

The food was outstanding - real home-made tasty cuisine, and lots of it! Lunch was an expansive buffet with a hot and cold selection, with soup as a starter, and a choice of desserts. Dinner was lovely - made even more special by the fact that Peter arranged for us to have a private table outside on our first night, lit by a chimnea and lanterns and candlelight.

On our full day here, we went to the Ngorongoro Crater - it took about half an hour to drive to the entrance/visitor centre, where your guide fills in the necessary paperwork. It was a further 60 minutes of driving along very bumpy roads until we were down on the crater floor, but you can enjoy the scenery and the troops of baboons as you go, so it does not feel too long a drive!

There is plenty to do at Gibb’s Farm too - they give you a whole list of activities, ranging from spa treatments, garden and farm walks, forest walks, guided walks to caves, biking, day trips to the nearby Lake Manyara National Park - you can easily spend 3 days here - one day to arrive and relax, one full day at the Ngorongoro Crater (one day here is sufficient), plus one other day to do any of the other activities - you would not get bored.

We really did not know what to expect from here before we turned up - but it was truly the ‘find’ of our trip, and definitely one of the accommodation highlights. Highly recommended to everyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelButlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We booked a couple of nights here to relax between Tarangire and Ngorongoro Crater. I could not imagine anywhere that could be better suited, everything about Gibbs Farm said relax, chill out and enjoy. The staff were great, the food was quite superb, the flora around the farm was beautiful and the views were stunning.

We were in the library room which is set towards the back of the farm with a large balcony that gave panoramic views. It also has a large living room with a good selection of books (as you would expect for a library!) to while away a sunny afternoon. It is a bit colder here first and last thing than we had been used to in Tarangire but compared to October in the UK it still felt balmy!

If you have the time make sure you do the Elephant Caves walk, it's only about 1.5 hrs there and back but it is a beautiful walk and we did bump into an elephant on the way.

My only slight moan is the laundry service, you have to get it in by 10.00am to get it back by 10.00am the next day - we arrived at 4pm in the afternoon and were leaving at 6.00am 2 days later but we still had to use the Express service to get our laundry done and back within time, this doubled the price and meant 2 trousers and 3 shirts cost us $26.

Finally, it is just over a 2hr drive from Gibbs to the Crater floor so it works best if you are staying a couple of nights here rather tha just using it as an overnight stop.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rids64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Gibb's Farm has been my place of choice to stay whenever I am on safari with friends or visitors. Unfortunately, I stayed there only three times if I remember correctly, in the span of 15+ years. I say - unfortunately, because to me it is a highlands paradise in Karatu and Ngorongoro area.

I do not wish to go into details describing how this hotel looks like and what amenities are there. To me it feels like visiting a friend in a colonial coffee estate, beautifully located with wonderful views over the valley and the coffee fields.

Last time I was there we were four, and were given a family house, with a fireplace and a kitchen. Great feeling being at home and being able to prepare our take away for the next day safari to Ngorongoro and Serengeti - with produce we purchased ourselves.

I loved every detail of service and the food was delicious. Just like you would expect at this level of hospitality.

The coldness of the night and mornings makes for a refreshing change after the safari and before the next day in safari vehicle. Make sure you have a sweater to keep you warm while there.

Next year I will have visitors again and surely we will aim to stay at Gibb's Farm while on our way from Arusha to Kiabakari.

Worth visiting, staying and relaxing. Worth every penny. Highly recommendable!

Room Tip: On our last trip we stayed in the family house overlooking the valley. It was a very good choice. With a verandah and spacious place, kitchen, living room and two bedrooms.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WojciechAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews