We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most beautiful Gardens”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ngorongoro Farm House, Tanganyika Wilderness Camps
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We stayed there in 9/09 as part of a three week Safari with OAT.
This was one of my favorite lodges in the whole trip. The room was very big and beautiful with a four poster bed, sitting area and a fireplace that may come handy in the winter. All the rooms are small cottages and have a view of the coffee plantation.
They grow their own vegetable garden and the food was delicious.
The only issue we had is that their supposedly "free wireless" never worked and no one seem to know the pass word....their regular computers at $5 for every 30 minutes were outdated and very slow, they were however very nice and really try to accomodate our requests.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claucat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (983)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

651 - 657 of 983 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2009

Stayed for two nights on part of a package tour - so difficult to judge value.

Lovely setting, interesting tour of gardens and coffee production. Friendly staff.

Food is above average for a buffet, but not brilliant. Really liked that the drivers could eat with the tourists. Used by large tour groups so can be long queues.

Our room was massive and very good with great views and a very private feel. Rooms are a fair walk from restaurant - not a problem for us but something to be aware of.

Located a fair drive from Ngorongoro crater - fine if you are expecting that but it is not on the rim.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeamDawesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

Spent 2 days here. Could have stayed for a week!!! food was lovely, room was huge and had an awesome shower and very comfortable bed. The property is on a coffee plantation, and you can walk for several miles (which was appreciated after so much time in the safari vehicle)

Service was awesome and the grounds were stunning.

I would love to come back.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank horsewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2009

It was a long drive from the Serengeti back to the Farm House. We were greeted with a lemon grass tea overlooking an amazing lush green garden full of flowers and a dramatic building with a thatched roof overlooking a majestic farm. The baggage handlers led us down a long path through the coffe plants to our cottage. It was a long way from the main building, peaceful and quiet amongst the trees. It was huge and very clean. There was a 4-poster king size bed with mosquito net, a lounge and a veranda overlooking the farm, facing the sunset. Best of all was the shower - it was huge and old fashioned and very hot, it wet all of you at once.

Back at the main lodge we had a drink before dinner out on the massive deck where two fires were lit in pits. A local Iraqui tribe family sang, played music and dance around the fire while we watched. Dinner was buffet-style and very good. The dining area was fantastic and our guide was able to eat with us. We decided that it was definitely worth the long drive to experience this place and its warm hospitality. We all had breakfast together again the next morning before a long drive to the descent road into Ngorongoro Crater.

Despite the long drives this was a wonderful place to stay and is highly recommended - excellent for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AfricanAdventurer247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

We were greeted with the traditional welcome drink of lemongrass tea amongst an amazing lush green garden full of flowers. The main lodge is a dramatic building with a thatched roof overlooking the farm. Porters waited while we completed our paperwork and then led us down a long pathway through the coffee plants to our room 'Ilamba' (meaning crocodile). It was a long way from the main building and very peaceful amongst the trees. It was huge and very clean with a 4-poster kingsize bed and mosquito net, lounge and a veranda looking out over the farm facing the sunset. Best of all was the shower. It was big and old fashioned with lots of hot water.

After our shower we returned to the main lodge where we had a drink on the massive deck. Two fires were burning in the fire pits and we sat watching the flames. A local village family came and played music and danced to entertain us. It was a wonderful atmosphere with a true African feel.

When they had finished we went in for a buffet-style dinner, which was very good. We were impressed that our safari driver/guide was able to eat with us and we chatted about our day's adventure over dinner. Breakfast was equally as good. It was a shame that this was just an overnight stay. We had enjoyed the warm hospitality and it had been worth the long drive to have this experience.

The only drawback is that it is a long way from Ngorongoro Crater itself and if that is why you are staying here, then be ready for a long drive. However, even people staying closer to the Crater have to put up with the treacherous nightmare of the descent road. Be prepared!!!! In the Crater the scenery is amazing. But, after being out in the isolation of the Serengeti for a few days, we found the crater very busy with other cars - to us it was a bit touristy.

Stayed: September 2008
2  Thank AfricanAdventurer247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2008

This was my favorite place out in which I stayed during my safari in Tanzania. The other two were Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge and Serengeti Sopa Lodge. This one was in a completely different league. The rooms were gorgeous with rustic but contemporary furnishings (I stayed in two different rooms since I came back to the farm house later in my trip) with stunning views out the back balconies. The food was by far the best of all three hotels. The staff was great (as they were everywhere) and the activities, while I didn't participate, sounded fun and were unique to this lodge (coffee demonstration, tour of the grounds). I had an excellent massage there as well. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank elle13579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2008

An excellent value if you are visiting Ngorongoro Crater.

The Farm House offers lovely accommodations in a beautiful, quiet setting. The large rooms (with fireplaces and comfortable beds) are scattered throughout the very large and beautifully landscaped property.

Staff members were helpful. Food was good but not remarkable. The major drawback is the distance from the crater. It's about a 35-minute drive.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank statdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
14.0 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,619 reviews
2.4 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
426 reviews
12.0 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#2 of 51 in Karatu
673 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
324 reviews
16.2 mi away
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
#2 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngorongoro Farm House, Tanganyika Wilderness Camps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngorongoro Farm House, Tanganyika Wilderness Camps

Address: Ngorongoro Highlands, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ngorongoro – KaratuLodge. Ngorongoro Farm House is a 500 acre coffee farm nestle in a beautiful woodland area and located 4 km from the Lolduare entrance to the Ngorongoro Conservation Area.48 cottage rooms and 3 suite rooms built in 3 intimate camps.The Lodge has eco-friendly electric power supplied by solar panels, with a generator as a back-up.Nearest airstrip: Lake Manyara Airstrip 40 min away.Activities: Guided walks in the Ngorongoro Conservation Area, guided walk around the coffee plantation followed by a coffee bean roasting demonstration. Visits to local villages and schools or swim in the pool. At any time guests may enjoy a relaxing massage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ngorongoro Farm House Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing