We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay for the Crater”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ngorongoro Farm House, Tanganyika Wilderness Camps
Certificate of Excellence
rayleigh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for the Crater”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed here for 3 night in the middle of our honeymoon whilst on safari. What a great place reminded me of a very hot center parcs with the villa rooms all spread out and having there own names. very clean nice food friendly staff. if you get a chance sit on the veranda outside the main restaruant round one of the log fires and whatch the stars twinkle above you or the amazing thunder storms that were around when we were there. so nice to chill there after a day in a jeep packed lunches were great from there for our trips so much food. Room was spacious and very clean. if you get a chance its nice to walk around the plantation paths.

Hope this helps

Mr & Mrs Malyon

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    286
    55
    14
    3
See reviews for
240
351
31
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Duanesburg, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

On my first trip to the Ngorongoro Crater, I stayed at the Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge. It was a wonderful place with a great view of the crater, great dining room and food. I loved the place. On the next trip, they were fully booked, so my guide, Elias, made arrangements at the Ngorongoro Farm House. I was disappointed, but am always up for a new adventure, so I decided to make the best of it. We arrived there early afternoon, and I could not have been more pleased. The rooms are all separate with little porches and fireplaces. Everything was wonderfully decorated, clean and comfortable. There is a path from the main lodge dining hall to the rooms which takes you though amazing gardens in which much of their produce served in the dining room is grown. The dining hall is large, the food is good, and there is a huge deck that wraps around with a firepit for cocktails and after dinner drinks and stories. The buildlings have thatched roofs blend into the countryside. There is a pool and spa/massage room also available. This is a do not miss. I could move right in and live there. Great stay.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good. They are large, nicely appointed ensuite rooms with a little porch, big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CynthiaCreasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Had our last night on our safari here, and did not have any expectation. We were very positively surprised.The name "Farm house" does not do it just.
The separate cabins were very specious and nicely furnished. Our cabin also had a had a terrace with a view.The garden was beautiful. As some have noted, there is walk to the cabins, but porters easily available.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank langtvekkistan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
312 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed here one night. The cabins are quite spacious, clean, and comfortable. My cabin (Swala - "antelope") was some distance from the main lodge where meals are served. However, that did not bother me. I enjoyed the walk after being in a safari vehicle all day. In addition, the grounds are beautifully landscaped so the walk was very pleasant. The food was average. It is buffet style. The salad selections were very good but the main courses were sketchy. There is entertainment offered prior to dinner with traditional singing and dancing. Audience members are pulled in to the show. A pleasant stay, overall.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

My family (seven of us including my wife, three boys and their two grandmothers) stayed there for just one night in February. The night was a first in Tanzania at the beginning of our safari. We came straight from the airport and were bound for game viewing in the crater the next day. The lodges were located, spaced out under some trees, each one was spacious and characterful with a log fire if required. The boys enjoyed a splash in the pool. We congregated on the decking bar area and ate nibbles with some drinks while some local Iraqw people played some music and invited us for dancing - great fun and a warm introduction to the Tanzanian welcoming spirit. Buffet food was good but not excellent, the main feature was a choose your own ingredients noodle stir fry out on the veranda. I would recommend it as a good stop outside the crater.

Room Tip: Some rooms were further away - depending on whether you want a longer walk or more seclusion
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

For our Honeymoon, We spent our last night of safari there and honestly we were disappointed. Our room was 10minutes walking from the restaurant. Positive point: Room is very big and comfortable. Food is not very nice, too much cooked, hot ice cream... And finally service was not ok. We missed forks, glasses, asked twice to have wine...
We would have expected better after the amazing day in ngorongoro crater...

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ladybird2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston Ontario
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in the middle of our safari for a rest. Unfortunately the weather did not cooperate as it rained all day, so we were unable to try out the pool.
Our room was "Swala', it was beautiful and spacious but quite a walk, up and down hills, to the main buildings. I had the laundry done and it came back clean and nicely folded and was reasonably priced.
We overlooked farmland.
The food is great, nicely cooked and a good selection. We were the only ones in the dining room for lunch.
The wifi was down but you could sit in the computer room with your own computer and be able to get internet.
I found the staff to be charming.
I would return in a minute we enjoyed our stay here so much!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
8.7 mi away
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
3.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
14.0 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
2.4 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
5.5 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 47 in Karatu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
16.2 mi away
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
#1 of 42 in Lake Manyara National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngorongoro Farm House, Tanganyika Wilderness Camps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngorongoro Farm House, Tanganyika Wilderness Camps

Property: Ngorongoro Farm House, Tanganyika Wilderness Camps
Address: Ngorongoro Highlands, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ngorongoro – KaratuLodge. Ngorongoro Farm House is a 500 acre coffee farm nestle in a beautiful woodland area and located 4 km from the Lolduare entrance to the Ngorongoro Conservation Area.48 cottage rooms and 3 suite rooms built in 3 intimate camps.The Lodge has eco-friendly electric power supplied by solar panels, with a generator as a back-up.Nearest airstrip: Lake Manyara Airstrip 40 min away.Activities: Guided walks in the Ngorongoro Conservation Area, guided walk around the coffee plantation followed by a coffee bean roasting demonstration. Visits to local villages and schools or swim in the pool. At any time guests may enjoy a relaxing massage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ngorongoro Farm House Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing