We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ngorongoro Farm House, Tanganyika Wilderness Camps
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed at the farmhouse for one night on our way to the crater. I enjoyed the tour of the plantation that was only $US 5 that covered the coffee growing and roasting as well as the large vegetable gardens. The estate is 600 acrea with 6 devoted to coffee. They have their own cattle, pigs and goats and grow most of their own vegetables.
We found the cultural show interesting and fun as they got many of the guests up to dance. Sitting around the deck area next to the pit fires with a view over the property was restful and relaxing.
The accomodation was spacious in the adobe style huts with each deck area having a view. Being a "working farm" it made this accommodation a bit of a different experience than the tented or hotel style that most on safaris use.
Worth a stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stewart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,003)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

605 - 611 of 1,003 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2012

The farmhouse lodge has the most beautiful gardens, the staff are great & the decor very colonial & elegant. I would liked to have had tea/coffee making facilities in the room though.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

A functioning coffee plantation with gorgeous grounds. The chalet was huge and unique. The tub didn't work, they said they were short on water, but the shower worked fine? Food was good, staff was not nearly as friendly as everywhere else we went. If there was an alternative, I would try it, just because of the staff.

Room Tip: All chalets are lovely, as are the surrounding grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bverdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

This is such an incredibly beautiful property. We stayed here for 1 night before heading into the Ngorogoro Crater and my only regret is not staying longer. The Farm House has a large garden which they use to supply their kitchen - which means all the vegetables you eat are grown on the premises and delicious! It's also a working coffee plantation, and I would highly recommend the farm tour with Paolo - it's worth more than the $5 they charge.

The rooms are spacious if sparse, and our mosquito net was impeccable which wasn't the case for every place we stayed. If it weren't so far away I would come here every year, it was simply extraordinary.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Stayed at the Ngorongoro Farm House for 2 nights while visiting the Ngorongoro Crater. When I first heard about the Farm House, I didn't really know what to expect but once you get there, it is such a beautiful place. The service was excellent and there's a nice pool to relax in and cool off from the safari drive. The rooms were large, had comfy beds and had such a nice rustic and comfortable feel with a porch/patio to sit in and enjoy the surroundings. I really enjoyed the buffet which had great selections for me (a vegetarian). I also enjoyed the singing and dancing entertainment after dinner. While you are there, make sure to enjoy the spa services (I had a pedicure and body scrub) which was a real treat! Would definitely recommend staying there if you are visiting the Ngorongoro area.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lanilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

What an amazing place to stay, rooms are HUGE and clean, with large comfortable beds and great showers. 15 minutes to the park gates and the grounds are breathtaking! We were also able to take advantage of the pool which was small but lovely.

on the down side:
The food was good - not excellent, and the coffee was very dissapointing. We felt like we got nickeled and dimed to death here, as well the "local entertainment" felt very fake and the there were serveral hints for tips etc...

As a side note, what is with all the open bathrooms - a little privacy please:)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank northerngirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We only stayed here one night on our safari and only wished we could have stayed longer. The room was so spacious and very comfortable with a lovely big shower and double sinks. There was a big dining area and the food was buffet. There was a good selection and the beer was cold so we were happy! The highlight was the amazing view from the porch of the room. Great service and fab coffee!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnMarie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ngorongoro Conservation Area hotels
9.7 mi away
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodg...
#1 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
687 reviews
2.4 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
431 reviews
14.0 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,221 reviews
48.8 mi away
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge
#9 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
176 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodge
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodg...
#11 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngorongoro Farm House, Tanganyika Wilderness Camps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngorongoro Farm House, Tanganyika Wilderness Camps

Address: Ngorongoro Highlands, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ngorongoro – KaratuLodge. Ngorongoro Farm House is a 500 acre coffee farm nestle in a beautiful woodland area and located 4 km from the Lolduare entrance to the Ngorongoro Conservation Area.48 cottage rooms and 3 suite rooms built in 3 intimate camps.The Lodge has eco-friendly electric power supplied by solar panels, with a generator as a back-up.Nearest airstrip: Lake Manyara Airstrip 40 min away.Activities: Guided walks in the Ngorongoro Conservation Area, guided walk around the coffee plantation followed by a coffee bean roasting demonstration. Visits to local villages and schools or swim in the pool. At any time guests may enjoy a relaxing massage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ngorongoro Farm House Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing