We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sopa Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Sopa Superb”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Africa is one country i can travel to every year if I had the finances and Ngorongoro is the place i will repeatedly visit as there is no place like it In Tanzania Africa or even the world. A melting pot of many animal species this is the hotspot for all safari buffs.

The hotel is located on the edge of the crater like all the others. Why then choose Sopa you ask well my answer is simple. Luxury. The rooms are huge the food is good and the staff is courteous. All that you need in a perfect five star hotel. The view is perfect and one can enjoy a glass of wine while watching the animals move around the crater.

There are always morning and evening safaris ( because there's nothing else to do) and the evening entertainment which is mainly african dances or a similar theme. Having been back here a second time I must say that it was as pleasurable if not better than my first time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlishaT152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    591
    191
    50
    9
See reviews for
408
675
49
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our first stop on our African Safari Trip and it was fine. The rooms could use a face lift but the Lodge is warm and inviting. We spent very little time in the room and preferred to hang out in the lobby, bar and enjoy long meal in the dining room for dinner. The food and variety was good. However, our server was new and missed a few things which was not a big problem but funny since dinner is buffet and all he needed to get was drink orders right. Still, he made a good effort and was apologetic when realized his mistakes. The rooms were a bit cold (heaters did not do much) but nice for sleeping, we stayed under layers of blankets and hot water bottles. The sunset over the crater was beautiful and days seemed to just flow by both in the crater on safari and at the lodge. We were able to feel relaxed and carefree while there.

Room Tip: Our rooms were quite a trek from the lodge but we enjoyed the walk after a long day of sitting in sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Sopa Lodge was one of the highlights of our trip. We got to the hotel right before sunset and were able to get great pictures from the crater rim. The rooms were really cool and very spacious with small patios that looked out over the crater. Dinner was included with our room rate and was phenomenal!!! The guys in our group thought the portions were a little small, but the food was delicious. There is also a small bar that reminded us of a ski lodge bar where we hungout for awhile. The hotel staff was extremely friendly, and they bring around a heated water bottle for your feet to sleep with!! They also made special arrangements to provide us with a breakfast box as we were leaving before breakfast started. Overall, this hotel is one-of-a-kind and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ckraynak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Overall the experience at Sopa was very good. We stayed here in the middle of our safari trip and were glad to have regular facilities and laundry. Being inside the park we were able to get a good start on the safari ride first thing in the morning. For food they alternate between a dinner buffet and a fixed menu.The buffet was average and the menu was very good. Service in the dining room was confusing because too many servers kept approaching the table and asking what we wanted even though we had a "waiter" assigned to our table. And the waiter was pretty creepy and just kind of stared at us and once asked me how much I paid for my Kindle Fire Tablet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TN-Worm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Location superb! The grounds are charming with beautiful flowers spilling over. Lovely pool with a view. Our room was lovely with all the amenities. I enjoyed getting the hot water bottle. With that and the comfy blankets I was not cold. Food was delicious with great variety.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
1,019 reviews
287 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 578 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed for one night as part of a two night safari organised by Roy Safaris.

The view of the crater is spectacular. It is a big resort with a pool although it was very cold when we were there so I'm not sure how much the pool gets used.

Our room was massive although strangely very plainly decorated with hardly anything on the walls which made the room look a bit cold and impersonal. Our room had two double beds a lobby area and large bathroom - it was almost as big as our flat in London! There was a turn down service and we were given hot water bottles in our beds as it was cold - amazing service!

Showers were hot and powerful, there was a radiator in the bathroom too so it was nice and warm. The bed was comfortable and there was a hairdryer! There was electricity in the room to charge things.

Wi-fi is free and available in the common areas and the connection was by far the fastest we had come across on our trip so far. The bar area and restaurant was also very good, as was the entertainment at dinner which started in the dining area around 8.30pm I think. The resort is high up so bring warm clothes.

Our room didn't have a view of the crater but we arrived late and headed up to the bar for a drink to watch the sunset so it didn't bother us. Our room was a bit of a walk from the main area but it didn't bother us. If we were staying here for longer it would have been great to have had a room on the upper level with a view of the crater.

The food was delicious and the packed lunch we had from the resort was the best we experienced on our trip.

Room Tip: I would request a room close to the main area on the upper level with a view of the crater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eatydrinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane QLD
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I stayed in room 1 on 11 and 12 June. The room looked clean and tidy. Check in was swift. The food at the restaurant was very nice but there was no water available to drink only bottled water to be purchased at the evening meal.. You can get a free tea or coffee but no free water.
My main reason for scoring so low is that I was bitten terribly by BED BUGS. The first morning it was only a few itches but the second morning when we left I was covered in bites. I contacted the hotel by email on my return home but have had no response. I am concerned that others may suffer my fate and be put in room where there is an infestation of bed bugs.

Room Tip: Don't take room 1 untill it has been fumigated for bed bugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank awayagainBrisbaneQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken A, Group Operations Manager at Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear AwayagainBrisbaneQLD

Firstly may I thank you for your review of our property at Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge posted on the 24/08/2013.

From our records the room to which you refer to was occupied by William and Lucy and if this is indeed yourselves, I would wish to thank you for having made Sopa Lodges your preferred choice during your recent stay at the Crater.

We cherish every guest feedback and are indeed very concerned by the comments regarding ‘bedbugs’. We take all matters regarding room hygiene very seriously and we hope that our response is seen as helpful and transparent and not defensive or dismissive. As your claim to having ‘bed bugs’ is indeed a serious matter and has a direct impact on our Lodge, we have treated this matter with abject seriousness and I hope the detail of my email demonstrates the gravitas with which we view your comments.

Four our records room No. 1 has been vacant for only one night during the month of August – namely the 24th of August. Throughout this period, there has not been any such complaints raised on bed bugs, neither has the lodge ever experienced such a situation in the past. This does not in itself mean that you did not receive any bites but I shall h explain more on this.

Bed bugs, when they occur, are incredibly difficult to eliminate and require significant efforts to do so. To ensure that these pests do not take hold, Ngorongoro Sopa fumigate all their rooms periodically as a standard practice. We clean the rooms thoroughly each day and provide the requisite fresh linen from our 24-hour on-site laundry facility thereby ensuring that all our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

If ‘bed bugs’ had been the cause of your bites, these same bugs would have affected numerous guests either before and/or after your stay due to their infamous resilience to being exterminated. We have carefully looked into this matter and confirmed that we have to date not received any complaints of a similar nature for this or any of our rooms. In addition we have checked this room – and all our other rooms as a precaution – and have to date not found any signs of any bed bugs which is both a relief to us, but should also come as some relief to yourselves.

Had we found any sign of an infestation we would be now writing to you to offer our sincerest apologies, and a possible refund, as this would have been the most appropriate course of action.

However as our management teams have now checked the beds forensically, and as mentioned ‘bed bugs’ would have affected other guests stay had they been within the beds in your room, we can say with confidence that unfortunately you have in all probability been of what is a very common occurrence in the African bush. Many guests are bitten in the evenings whilst outside, walking in the grounds to dinner and sitting enjoying the night air. These bites are mostly from small gnats and mosquitoes and bite without warning.

These bites can manifest themselves by an itching sensation appearing more obvious by day. Any exposed skin in the evenings, usually arms and ankles, are the prime areas for bites. Alternatively tsetse flies can also leave a nasty bite but usually these are far more noticeable during the daytime and would not be hard to detect.

Obviously we cannot say with 100% guarantee that this is what has happened, but we can say that neither your room nor any of our rooms suffer from ‘bed bugs’.

We are desperately sorry that you have received discomfort and remain available to you for further advice or information on this matter.

Should you wish to pursue your claims of ‘bed bugs’ within the room, we will endeavour to put you in touch with prior or post guests who stayed in this same room. If you then discover that it is possible that you may have been mistaken in your assumption, we would appreciate it very much it you would amend or edit your report to reflect your findings.

Should you however not be convinced you that you may indeed be mistaken, we will vigorously defend the allegation and accusation of a ‘bedbug infestation’ as this is potentially very damaging to our Company name.

Ones again thank you for the feedback and be rest assured that Ngorongoro Sopa is safe facility with what it takes to have a memorable experience.

Regards.
Kennedy Ayoti
Group Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
14.1 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#5 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,131 reviews
12.0 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
402 reviews
18.4 mi away
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
#1 of 41 in Lake Manyara National Park
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 48 in Karatu
626 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
306 reviews
16.7 mi away
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodge
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodg...
#14 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Property: Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Address: Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngorongoro Sopa Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing