We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2012

A fantastic location, great facilities and wonderful staff define this excellent lodge. This is one of several lodges we stayed at during our African Safari (organized by Sky View of Africa) and although they were all good, the location of this one, on the rim overlooking the crater, made it a bucket list memory for me. Amazing stuff. Loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller5324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

972 - 978 of 1,660 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2012

Probably one of my favorite spots on our Tanzanian safari was the Crater. The views from this lodge are tremendous. You can literally watch the sun set on the crater. The food was so-so, but the room was nice (could be a bit more modern, though). I believe it was the only property that my mom and I each had our own queen sized bed.

The staff was very professional and were also very accomodating.

It can get quite cold up there, so make sure you bring warmer clothing for night.

Honestly, I can see there were some things that would make this rating drop one level, but the experience of the crater really erases any minor issues (especially with the food).

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the crater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jwwhite10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Wish our stay could have been longer. Loved it here. As with the other reviews...wow what a view. Rooms were large and we slept well (no mosquito nets required). The restaurant was excellent and really enjoyed the food. Relaxed in the bar which have sofas you don't want to get up from. All the staff made you feel so welcome. The pool area offers the best views of the crater and a perfect place to relax in between game drives.

Room Tip: All have fantastic views over the crater
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanB1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Our final safari lodge was the Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge on a hilltop overlooking Ngorongoro Crater--spectacular view! The room is basic but comfortable with all the amenities we needed. The evening meal was excellent and again the staff took great care of us; Daniel was our friendly waiter. Only drawback---Sopa boxed lunches were not great.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

This was my second stay at the Sopa lodge while working as a guide. All my clients have been blown away by the location and the view! Food and service is up to the usual Sopa standard with particularly good service from the restaurant and bar staff. Our rooms were huge! Cavernous! The 'big lodge' format isn't for everyone but it's easy to overlook when sitting back and looking at probably the best view in Africa! I'm looking forward to my next safari!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeepImages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Hotel is situated right on the crater rim, so you can have nice view over the crater all the time. The whole area is very well mantained, and beaitufully set into surrounding country

Pros:
- Service and atmsphere: The whole place looked luxurious, with well organised services.Checking in was very fast (we have just filled out some papers). During this, the staff took our baggage to the room, and in two minutes we were accomodated...
- Room: Simply furnished, but clean and spacious. Bathroom was also very clean. Every room has glazed wall on the crater side, so you can enjoy spectacular views over the crater during your stay at the room
- Pool: Hotel has nice pool, but with quite cold water, so we did not use it...
- Restaurant: for a dinner, you can choose from five meals which are already prepared and quickly served. Menu also comes with a soup and a dessert. Breakfast was buffet style, with great variety of food. Restaurant itself is a huge structure with a fireplace in the middle.
- Lobby is also very huge and connects the retaurant with the bar on the other side



Cons:
- if you stay at the remote rooms, you will not catch a wifi signal
- restaurant staff has cheated on us. We have ordered coffee that should be included in the price, but they brought us some other type (that looked like the normal one) and told us that we must pay for this one (althought that they could not recognize the differnece between this one and free coffee). But when you are in Africa, you must simply get use to this...
- Dinner was quite simple wit not big sellecion of meals. Serena lodges, that are the biggest competitor to the Sopa, are offering combined served and also buffet styled dinner and therefore you have multiple times bigger choice of food !!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Try to choose upper rooms (every villa consist of four rooms. The upper ones have better views over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrickyX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

A tad large for my liking but still a nice place to stay. To be honest you won't spend a lot of time here as the Ngorongoro crater sits just below most of the rooms. This is arguably one of the best places to view wildlife in Africa. While you can see the crater from most of the rooms unless you have a good set of binoculars you aren't going to see any wildlife.

The room I had was set back a bit and didn't have a view of the crater but the pool area gives you a good view. Free tea and coffee is served in the lobby and they have wifi access for updating that Facebook page to make people jealous.

Food was good albeit a little crowded for my liking, I prefer the smaller lodges with a bit more intimacy but the staff were first rate.

For those, like me, who like to wonder the grounds there isn't much of a circuit but plenty of birds and flowers to take pictures of.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank depicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ngorongoro Conservation Area hotels
13.7 mi away
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodg...
#1 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
698 reviews
14.1 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,241 reviews
12 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodge
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodg...
#11 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
112 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
332 reviews
49.4 mi away
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge
#7 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Address: Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range: $327 - $771 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngorongoro Sopa Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing