We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,857)
Filter reviews
1,857 results
Traveler rating
820
716
244
61
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
820
716
244
61
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rocking chairs hot water great view crater rim dining room two double beds bit dated access road big hotel rooms are large lobby area morning and evening public areas turn down service descent road main building high altitude
Filter
Updating list...
1,175 - 1,180 of 1,857 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2011

What a great stay we did have on our honeymoon, a memorable one.From the check in desk manned to the first class table service and tasty meals served, to the rooms with the best views ever, everything here is well coordinated and with a professional touch of a five star .
I should extend my sincere out most thanks to the management for going out of their way to arrange for a game drive when we had problems with our own transport .
Myself and my wife would like to acknowledge a well done job by the whole team and certainly we will becoming back and have already recommended Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge to our friends who are planning there visit soon.
Well done to Ngorongoro Sopa team!

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashassan2010p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Travelled with Pollmans and their sister company, Voyager safaris from Kenya to Tanzania. Long trip but journey up to crater rim was amazing. Hotel clean, peaceful and food and service set the standard for our 7 night safari. I was impressed with the customer service. Extended to porters lighting your way to your room at night with torches after dinner. Room was very large and well equiped with fruit bowl & water bottles as standard, bathroom with all the little extras and good shower. Beds very comfortable. Didnt need mozzy net - none of them around at such a high altitude. It was cold at that height but hot water bottles were fine - heating not really necessary if you are a tough specimen form the northen hemisphere! Fell in love with Africa here - the crater is the highlight of all the safari stops. saw 4 out of the big 5 in one day. High concentration of wildlife plus amazing scenery. You will not be dissapointed if you stay here.

Date of stay: April 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charaydis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The rooms are pretty big: we had 2 queen beds, big furnitures and even with that, the rooms was looking big. The bathroom is pretty nice and clean. The view from the swimming pool on the top of the crater is also pretty nice.

The food at the restaurant was pretty good, was a big disappointed on the 2nd day that it wasn't a buffet, because the buffet is really worthing it.

Make sure to bring a polar and some basic hot clothes, it is colder than anywhere else in the area.

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bnoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Slept both nights in socks and a polar fleece with the blanket pulled over my head and 2 hot water bottles. The nights were freezing and altho there was a heater in the room it couldn't be turned on. The front desk staff just kept saying the heaters weren't available with no other explanation.

The whole hotel is impersonal and badly in need of an upgrade. The rooms are cavernous and uninviting or maybe that was because I could practically see my breath at night.

Meals in the dining room were ok but staff were a bit overly friendly to the point of being invasive. The boxed lunch was boring, tasteless & dry.

The views of the crater from here are stunning tho and the lodge was chosen for it's quick access road into the crater which is pretty much all it has going for it.

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kath R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Arrived here after Safari in Serengeti.Beautiful Hotel in magical location.My only regret was that it was late in the day when we arrived and I would have loved to relax in the pool and watch the sunset.
The meal was good and room very comfortable.The hot water bottled in the bed was a great comfort

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheskinbeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews