We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sopa Lodges & United Travel Group are super!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed at several Sopa & Serena Lodges in Tanzania on our safari trip with United Travel Group. Lodges all had hot running water & flush toilets (a requirement for me!) since I'm not really into "roughing it".
I can highly recommend the safari trips booked with United Travel Group. We only had 5 people in our jeep & our driver/guide was terrifiic. UTG also lets you choose between several grades(prices) of accomodations to customize your trip. We plan to use UTG again in 2012. Africa calls you back....

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank QueenNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,640)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,026 - 1,032 of 1,640 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2011

What a great stay we did have on our honeymoon, a memorable one.From the check in desk manned to the first class table service and tasty meals served, to the rooms with the best views ever, everything here is well coordinated and with a professional touch of a five star .
I should extend my sincere out most thanks to the management for going out of their way to arrange for a game drive when we had problems with our own transport .
Myself and my wife would like to acknowledge a well done job by the whole team and certainly we will becoming back and have already recommended Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge to our friends who are planning there visit soon.
Well done to Ngorongoro Sopa team!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashassan2010p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Travelled with Pollmans and their sister company, Voyager safaris from Kenya to Tanzania. Long trip but journey up to crater rim was amazing. Hotel clean, peaceful and food and service set the standard for our 7 night safari. I was impressed with the customer service. Extended to porters lighting your way to your room at night with torches after dinner. Room was very large and well equiped with fruit bowl & water bottles as standard, bathroom with all the little extras and good shower. Beds very comfortable. Didnt need mozzy net - none of them around at such a high altitude. It was cold at that height but hot water bottles were fine - heating not really necessary if you are a tough specimen form the northen hemisphere! Fell in love with Africa here - the crater is the highlight of all the safari stops. saw 4 out of the big 5 in one day. High concentration of wildlife plus amazing scenery. You will not be dissapointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charaydis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The rooms are pretty big: we had 2 queen beds, big furnitures and even with that, the rooms was looking big. The bathroom is pretty nice and clean. The view from the swimming pool on the top of the crater is also pretty nice.

The food at the restaurant was pretty good, was a big disappointed on the 2nd day that it wasn't a buffet, because the buffet is really worthing it.

Make sure to bring a polar and some basic hot clothes, it is colder than anywhere else in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b-noy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Slept both nights in socks and a polar fleece with the blanket pulled over my head and 2 hot water bottles. The nights were freezing and altho there was a heater in the room it couldn't be turned on. The front desk staff just kept saying the heaters weren't available with no other explanation.

The whole hotel is impersonal and badly in need of an upgrade. The rooms are cavernous and uninviting or maybe that was because I could practically see my breath at night.

Meals in the dining room were ok but staff were a bit overly friendly to the point of being invasive. The boxed lunch was boring, tasteless & dry.

The views of the crater from here are stunning tho and the lodge was chosen for it's quick access road into the crater which is pretty much all it has going for it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katheer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Arrived here after Safari in Serengeti.Beautiful Hotel in magical location.My only regret was that it was late in the day when we arrived and I would have loved to relax in the pool and watch the sunset.
The meal was good and room very comfortable.The hot water bottled in the bed was a great comfort

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheskinbeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The location of the lodge can't be beat, it's right on the crater rim. With a good pair of binoculars, you can see animals in the crater. It's really pretty spactacular. The rooms are also very nice. I particularly like the tempupedic mattresses, others in our group thought they were too stiff. The bathrooms were luxurious for Africa. Nice big showers with great water pressure and dependable temperature.

The restaurant is a bit crowded and the waiters are a bit over eager to please. They were often in the way. The food is pretty good. Breakfast is the best time to get an "American" meal. The gift shop has some decent stuff, but you can get a better rpice if you are willing to go to town and fend off the street vendors.

The pool, bar and all of the common areas are really well done. Overall though, I think I liked the Serengeti Spoa just a bit more.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
2  Thank Les M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ngorongoro Conservation Area hotels
13.7 mi away
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodg...
#1 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
687 reviews
14.1 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,222 reviews
12.0 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodge
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodg...
#11 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
108 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
329 reviews
49.4 mi away
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge
#9 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Address: Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range: $546 - $755 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngorongoro Sopa Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing