We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, questionable food”
Review of Ndutu Safari Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ndutu Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We spent 3 nights here in March 2014. My family (wife and 2 daughters- age 11 and 14) were in the tail end of a 2 week northern circuit safari. The location is very good with tons of wildlife around. The game drives are really good in the area.

The chalets are very nice. Good, reliable water and electricity. Few bugs and no malaria in the area.

The staff is very friendly and willing to help. The service is nice. The bar is nice.

The food area is great with the resident Genets hanging around at times. The quality of the food is not very good. It was average for the places we stayed, but overall the Tanzanian food was not good. This was my third african country and the most disappointing food. Ndutu did not offer any choices during lunch or dinner. It is a set, one choice menu.

This is worth the visit for the location and facilities. The food is average in quality. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: This fills up early. Make reservations well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afisa N, Manager at Ndutu Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Hi Stephen
We appreciate you taking the time to review our Lodge and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Am disappointed to hear that the food was not to your liking. We do not pretend to offer extraordinary cuisine, rather simple home cooked meals, which going by the comments in our guest book, the majority of guests are happy with. Each high season have a visiting chef from the USA who comes for a short time to help with fine tuning recipes and to lift the standard so I am sorry you didn't benefit from that.

Karibu tena
A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 435 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2014

I'm not quite sure why but this was my favorite lodge of the five lodges that we stayed in while on an 11 day safari. It wasn't the fanciest and the service and food wasn't the best but it was just comfortable. Maybe it was the guests who stayed here. Everyone was very friendly. Or maybe it was because of the wild genet cats who appeared on the dining room rafters every evening. Anyway, I really liked this place.The rooms were fine with a small porch where you could see the lake. There was nice common area in the main lodge. The manager or owner was always around making sure that everything was going OK. The game drives were great. Lots of cheetahs and lions. You'll like this lodge.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afisa N, Manager at Ndutu Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Hi Charles - so glad you loved the lodge so really hope you can come and visit again one day! So long as you don't want a super luxury Lodge with unnecessary bells and whistles, Ndutu is a great place to stay so Karibu Tena!

All the best
A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This was our second visit to the lodge, this time we chose to spend 7 nights there, and we were in no way disappointed. The location is superb, being just at the edge of the Serengeti park but without the restriction of having to stay on the existing tracks, so one could follow (at a reasonable distance) the abundant wildlife this area has to offer.
As distinct from the Ngorongoro crater, which resembles a vast zoo, this area has all the wildlife you could want and at suitable times of the year, it is possible to see the great migration-a wonderful spectacle.
The lodge is a permenant collection of about 30 detached or semi detached rooms each with shower and WC and a short walk from the main building, and the owners/hosts are charming...thanks to Eva and her team!
Food quantity was always more than adequate, well presented and excellent.
We had excellent sightings of amongst others, lioness with cubs, cheetah with 5 cubs, buffalo, wilder beast, zebra etc.
Spend as long as you can here, you'll not be disappointed!

Room Tip: All have the same views, no preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kingeyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afisa N, Manager at Ndutu Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Hi there

We appreciate that you have taken the time to review our Lodge and are very happy to know that your time here was so enjoyable.

We really are in an extraordinary part of the world, and our staff do their best to make your stay and pleasant as possible. We have many guests who return year after year becuase it is one of their favourite places.

Do spread the word and do come back again!

All the best
A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Spoke with the owner of this lodge and thanked her for not installing Wifi! We all spent the evening sitting around a campfire enjoying each other and talking with people from faraway lands. The water is very soft here so getting soap off of you is a challenge but they seem to have made great strides in the hot water department since I was last here as it was plentiful.
We had our laundry done here also and it was reasonable. Star gazing was the biggest hit of the night next to just relaxing. The food was planty and hot and the beer cold. There is a computer you can use in the office and I would bet that they will give in to Wifi before long but I hope they don't.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the high 20's they are the farthest from the lodge and you don't have peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coopervanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afisa N, Manager at Ndutu Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Hi there
Yes, isn't it amazing when you actually can sit and talk to one another without the impolite interruptions of wifi / cellphone users. We want people to come to Ndutu Lodge and have the opportunity to get away from the modern way of being 100% accessible 24hrs a day, and have the opportunity to listen to the sounds of the bush and spend time star gazing and practicing the lost art of conversation with other travellers.

All the best
A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed for one night, traveling between the Serengeti and Ngorongoro. Ndutu felt like the true wilderness, with not many lodges in the area, so much fewer cars than in the Serengeti. We had a private viewing of a pride of lions and saw some cheetahs with just one other car. It felt very natural being able to drive off-road, and truly explore the entire area. The lodge itself was charming, lacking a few basic creature comforts (you could tell there weren't many female staff!), but spending just the one night was an unforgettable experience. The food was terrible, but not sure than can really be helped given the remote location and limited electricity! The setting is lovely, and sitting around the campfire in the evening with the tiny little dikdik deer coming right up close to you was magical. I have never seen a clearer sky or so many stars in my life.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraE29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Wonderful base location for daily outings.Accommodations very clean and comfortable. Food was excellent and the bar well stocked. The staff was suberb. Overall first rate experience. Highly recommended if one can secure a reservation.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PabloB040646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed here towards the end of February, arriving the day right after a big rain storm. We had bungalow 28, towards the end. I woke up one night to 3 buffalo right outside the room... eating the lovely grass. They were so close! The gift shop here is amazing.. both for selection and prices, I wish I had bought more! The meals are nice, we had breakfast, lunch and dinner here. Lunch and dinner are set menus, served. Our server was Joseph, who was very good, I loved his dry sense of humour, and he added a lot to our stay here. The rooms are adequate, the fact that there is always hot water is great and the electricity is on long enough that is necessary. I wish there had been a bit more water pressure in the shower, but I understand the water difficulties. We had a leak around our toilet and I got a staff member and within 10 minutes somebody came back and fixed it.
Our stay here was good, the animals around Ndutu were fantastic and the migration was out of this world!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afisa N, Manager at Ndutu Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Judi
We appreciate that you have taken the time to write a review for us, and very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Ndutu. Jospeh is indeed a character, he keeps us all on our toes with his humour. The gift shop gets a lot of positive comments, and guests always get home and wish they had bought more! You will have to come back again.
Isn't it great to be so surrounded by wildlife that it sounds like it is coming through the front door!

Kind Regards
A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ngorongoro Conservation Area hotels
37.7 mi away
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodg...
#1 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
698 reviews
47.8 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#9 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,659 reviews
48.4 mi away
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodge
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodg...
#11 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge
#7 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
190 reviews
35.8 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,241 reviews
45.5 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ndutu Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ndutu Safari Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 6084, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ndutu Safari Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ndutu Safari Lodge, shaded by majestic acacia trees, is situated in the south-eastern part of the Serengeti. The Lodge has thirty four cottages, all built with local materials, with individual verandahs facing Lake Ndutu. Tucked away from the madding crowd, Ndutu offers peace and tranquility. Stay close to the lodge and enjoy our resident wildlife or go for a drive to explore the surrounding plains or marsh area. After sunset return to the homely warmth and hospitality of Ndutu Safari Lodge. Karibuni. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ndutu Safari Hotel Arusha
Ndutu Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing