We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly memorable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Truly memorable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2007

We stayed at the Crater Lodge for two nights in June 2007 and had a wonderful experience.

As mentioned in other reviews, the hotel is fabulous, the staff is fantastic and the food is delicious. We had a memorable stay and would highly recommend it.

  • Liked — The view of the Crater was fantastic
  • Disliked — Crater is very crowded, but there are many other attractions in the area worth seeing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    66
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
146
345
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2007

I'm not sure there is much point in writing this review, given the rave reviews so far. However, I have to congratulate Samson and his team for making our 3 night stay so special. This really is a unique hotel in a truly special place.

The food and service are exceptional, the rooms and views are fantastic. We celebrated both a honeymoon and birthday during our stay - we picked the right place, romantic dinners, birthday cakes and even the Jambo birthday dance !

Our guide book said visit this hotel even if you need to take out a mortgage - how right they are - a very, very special hotel.

Tips:

The CC Africa shop is a little expensive - unless it is something unique to this shop, you may want to buy elsewhere.

It can get a little cool on this side of the crater - so you may want to make sure you have a sweater handy.

The slippers don't fit people with big feet , haha !

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — All perfect
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank St.Albans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2007

You’ve read it all before here, it’s all true – a fantastic experience from every aspect. Would give it a 6, but Tripadvisor would not accept it.
We went in early March just before the big rains and avoided the crowds on the game drives.

  • Liked — Tender loving care
  • Disliked — Nothing - flawless
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SimonGGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2007

CC Africa overall is a wonderful company that does everything first class. This hotel goes beyond that though. The lodge looks like a little hobit village, or maybe they're supposed to be like Masai huts or something. They're cute on the outside but phenomenal on the inside. Huge comfy beds, old english wood, big rooms with huge bathrooms and perfectly clean tubs. You are perched on the edge of the crater rim, so you wake up to the most spectacular view you have ever seen. Having been to 36 countries in the past 10 yrs (all for vacation) this was the most beautiful spot I've ever been. Very exotic. You are not roughing it in the slightest, so if that's your idea of a safari, then don't stay here. This place was more elegant and comfortable than any Four Seasons or Ritz that I've stayed.
The game in the crater is great. There are road signs so that is a little bit of a bummer but you get over it. The lions will come up to you car and lay in it's shadow. There are tons of monkeys and baboons. More zebra than you could ever count.
The hotel set up a bathroom and lunch for just the three of us in our party down on the crater floor. Delicious! This is my favorite hotel in the whole wide world.

  • Liked — the actual accomodation, the room
  • Stayed April 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank KatieDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2006

This was an amazing place to stay. A first class service with a truly breathe taking view. We had our own Butler who looked after us and when we had a long day out on Safari we would come back to a nice hot bath that had been run, with tea and biscuits. We could relax and enjoy the food and service. The rooms were beautiful, the bathroom had a tub which over looked a game reserve where we could see elephants and lions roaming around. This place had a magical feel about it definatley one of the best hotels in Tanzania.

  • Liked — Room was amazing all wooden inside, dramatic feel about it with red colours. Very clean.
  • Disliked — Lots of steps to get to it which was good because we were high up which meant good views.
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay maybe three nights as this was a very relaxing place to chill out in between Safari and travelling about.
  • Stayed October 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank MrsAVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quintana Roo, Mexico
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2006

Amazing! Yes, I could write superlatives about the rooms, the staff, the food, the view...there are not enough words.
If you are in East Africa...go here. That's it just go and stay at least 2 nights ( we stayed 3) View one of the worlds natural wonders at your feet, Ngorongoro Crater, go to Oldavi Gorge, just be amazed.
I have stayed in the best hotels in the world. This is number one!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Wanted to stay longer
  • Tips/Secrets — GO !
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank donk93953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Brook, Alabama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2006

My wife and I spent two nights at Crater Lodge following our climb of Mount Kilimanjaro. After spending 7 difficult days on the mountain (and six nights in a tent) Crater Lodge was a welcome oasis.
We have stayed at Africa' s number one property, Singita, three times and it is our favorite place in the world. We found our room at Crater Lodge (North Camp, room 3) to be the best room we have ever stayed in. We recently stayed at Conde Nast's number one property for 2006, Ladera in St. Lucia, and frankly, there is no comparison. Crater Lodge is far superior.
The manager of North Camp, Samson, and our butler, Celestine, did everything possible to make our stay special. Our Ranger, Arnold, was very friendly and knowledgeable. While the Crater is beautiful and full of game, the game viewing at Crater does not compare to Singita. The ability to go "off road" at Singita makes it the best game viewing site in Africa.
We found the food at Crater to be the best we have had in Africa with the possble exception of Camp Jabulani in South Africa.
We did take one afternoon to visit the Massai Village and enjoyed this very much. Yes, they did shamelessly hawk their crafts but overall, it was a very worthwhile visit.
The only negative about Crater Lodge is the condition of the road into and out of the crater. It is in horrible shape and the drive is very dusty and bumpy. It takes a lot of the enjoyment out of the game drives.
This is truly one of the best destinations in the world.

  • Liked — the rooms
  • Disliked — road conditions
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank Kent&Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
0.2 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
7.6 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
13.6 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 47 in Karatu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp
Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp
#14 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge

Property: andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
Address: Ngorongoro Crater, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Hotel Class:5 star — andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in romance, each stilted, handcrafted banana thatch suite at andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge is adorned with graceful antiques and unforgettable opulence. Ensuite bathrooms, with a centrepiece of fresh roses, feature huge showers and chandelier-lit bathtubs, while floor-to-ceiling windows ensure breathtaking views from all around. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ngorongoro Crater Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Hotel Ngorongoro Crater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing