We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

The place is magic and you have the best views to the Crater.
The room is amazingly confortable with great views and the service is very atentive, all details are threre. You can have a warm bath and fire in the room.
The food is very tasty and they offer very good options for vegeterians like me.
Managers are around checking everyone and the performace at night siniging was fun and beautiful endeed.

Room Tip: It is divided in two parts so you get better attention camp south and camp north all romos have view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    67
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
148
354
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

It is hard not to repeat all of the highlights mentioned by the other reviewers . This lodge really does take your breath away. The stunning rooms have a panoramic view of the worlds largest caldera at 2,500 meters above sea level with cosy fire places, dressing table with a view, a bath with yet another view and even the loo has a view!. Returning from your game drive the bath is run and a lovely message spelt out in rose petals. The free laundry service is also a great treat when traveling. The food is exceptional and a highlight in its self with special waiter service from our man - Safari.

The game viewing doesn't disappoint and we were lucky to see a beautiful lion and elephant family with babies. I would highly recommend adding this lodge to any Tanzania trip. Didn't want to leave and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We had room 21 which was closest to the restaurant so might be good if you can't walk too far. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyWestcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

When you walk into the main building your breath is taken away. It has chandeliers in every room. You go directly into a meeting room that has crystal decanters filled with sherry, and is served in crystal goblets. This is where everyone meets before dinner. The room is filled with many antiques, and amazing stories. You feel at home, not at a hotel.

We were then taken to our houses. We had two houses connected by a hallway. You see a fireplace with chocolates and sherry right next to your bedroom. The bed is huge and comfortable. Above the bed is a chandelier. There is a private balcony you can sit and take in the views and watch animals.

The bathroom is very different than you expect. It is all open expect for the actual toilet, which has a beautiful view. There is a bathtub in the middle of the room which has abundance of roses in vases, and the bathmat is decorated with rose pedals. To the left of the bathtub is one of the sinks then the open shower and another sink on the other side of the shower. That makes up one house and then there was a hallway that led to the exact setup for my daughter. I didn't want to leave the room, it was so relaxing.

Our butler Joachim made sure to keep us very comfortable. He remembered what our choices of drinks were when we came back from our game drive. He was always smiling. He asked what we wanted to drink in the morning and what time. We thought when we got to breakfast he would have them there. He didn't, he had asked what time we wanted to wake up and brought it to our house. It also had roses on the tray. We did not want for anything at anytime.

Crystal, china and silver is used at every meal. Amazing food was always served. They also adjusted the meals to meet your dietary needs.

We choice to have a sundowner with the Massai people. There were 20 Massai who greeted us with lighted torches, singing and dancing. They brought us down to where the view of the crater was breath taking. The experience was amazing. It was a nice extra we decided to do.

Our guide Joseph took extra time to find our list of animals to see. The first of course was the black rhino. We were extremely lucky to find they close up. There was first one rhino. After getting the pictures we wanted we drove a little bit to find two more rhinos. It is hard to find one let alone 3. The next day we saw 2 more. We found a hippo pond and stayed and got videos and pictures. He was patient until we were done to move on.

At night the animals would come out and visit our camp. One night a buffalo family came under our house. It was nice to be able to see them from our windows. The morning we were leaving, outside our house was an elephant. It was a very nice send off.

Our African safaris would have not been what they were if we didn't go to & Beyond. When we come back we will only travel with && Beyond.

Room Tip: Everyone is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unowhup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Ngorongoro Crater is a must see when going on safari in Africa. A truly amazing place with unique characteristics because of the good supply of water and therefore lack of animal migration

This hotel is lying on the edge of the crater with views that has to be experienced to be understood. The hotel have a "old British colony hundred years ago"-feeling. Our room was very spacious and had a bath tub place in the middle of the room, overlooking the crater through big windows from floor to ceiling. Next to the bath tub was a crystal bootle with Sherry, two glasses and some fresh roses. Truly special feeling.

Some rooms are actually built AROUND trees with the tree trunk coming up in the middle of the room from floor to ceiling. Amazing to see.

Safari trips usually means early mornings and therefore we asked for a wake up call. Wake up service in this hotel meant (at least for us) staff entering into the room very quite, lighting up the fire place and placing a fresh cup of coffee next to the bed so you can slowly wake up in bed, looking at the sun rise, the fire place and drink your first cup of coffee. Truly amazing feeling for service, I have never experienced something similar in my life.

Amazing animal experiences in the day time and fantastic service in the night time. Food was great. What else can you ask for? Not cheap of course, but who cares when you get such an amazing experience. Go!

Room Tip: For a extra unique experience, choose the rooms with a tree inside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cederstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed at this lodge for our final 2 nights of our Tanzanian Honeymoon and we must say that it did not disappoint. As with all the &beyond lodges this is a truly beautiful, one of a kind place with spectacular views of the crater. The lodge and rooms are decorated beautifully in an old English style complete with roll top bath and leather armchairs but also has an African vibe thrown in for good measure, it has to be seen to be truly appreciated. The food is delicious, we particularly enjoyed our platter style lunch's and it was great to be able to have a choice at dinner time, for the more brave among you make sure you try the hot chilli dip! The service was excellent and the staff were so attentive making sure you were always looked after. Our game drives were excellent and we were lucky enough to spot black rhino, which made our trip for us. A truly magical touch is when you return in the evening the wood burner is lit and a bath complete with rose petals awaits you, you will find this is the perfect way to unwind after a long game drive. Overall in our opinion the perfect way to end a Tanzanian Safari.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We have been fortunate to stay in some wonderful places across the world but Crater Lodge tops them all ! The views are completely magical and the wildlife in the crater was plentiful, the accommodation outstanding and the staff were amazing .Going into the crater isn't cheap with the conservation fees being $50 per person per day and $200 per vehicle, however we saw large amounts of animals including buffalo, wildebeest , hippo,rhino, elephant, hyena and many lion, including a pride of 6 who decided to lie underneath the car to shade from the sun! Also saw a lioness with tiny cubs feeding from her, amazing . The crater is spectacular with a lake at the base full of flamingos , and viewing all this wildlife in the base of a huge intact crater is quite surreal. Crater Lodge itself is beautiful , you really do feel as though you've stepped into the Shire in Lord of the Rings, but with all the comforts imaginable . The food is wonderful , no buffet, just exceptional menu that is changed daily, quality drinks and staff that you couldn't fault, our butler Patrick couldn't do enough for us, and always with a smile. Hot, sunny afternoons but very cold evenings, sitting in our room in front of our log burner at the end of the day with our glass of cognac was wonderful. For a trip that will stay with you forever, visit Crater Lodge.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asburysix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights during our honeymoon in Tanzania. It was absolutely amazing and all the staff were wonderful. The property is set on the rim of the crater and being honeymooners, we were able to stay in the "Tree Camp", which is right down on the rim, with views over the crater. My husband really enjoyed looking through the binoculars and seeing the animals walking around. This was really a "once in a lifetime" trip and we will treasure the wonderful memories always and feel thankful that we chose to spend part of our honeymoon there!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boranup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1.1 mi away
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
3.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
7.9 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#5 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
12.2 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 48 in Karatu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge

Property: andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
Address: Ngorongoro Crater, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Hotel Class:5 star — andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in romance, each stilted, handcrafted banana thatch suite at andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge is adorned with graceful antiques and unforgettable opulence. Ensuite bathrooms, with a centrepiece of fresh roses, feature huge showers and chandelier-lit bathtubs, while floor-to-ceiling windows ensure breathtaking views from all around. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ngorongoro Crater Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Hotel Ngorongoro Crater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing