We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Highview Hotel(Karatu)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge(Lake Manyara National Park)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (714)
Filter reviews
714 results
Traveler rating
607
73
21
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
607
73
21
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrose petalshot bathelectric blanketsover the toppersonal butlergame drivesfudgengorongoro craterturkish delightdining roomcamp managerfairy taleonce in a lifetimebucket listtwo nightsoff roadmasai warrior
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
346 - 351 of 714 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2013

To but things right, we stayed at this place because our orignal booking place was full and they upgraded us. So I cannot comment on the price. The location is beautiful, you have your bungalow and yet you cant see the other bungalows of the same lodge. Excellent view into the crater of the ngorongoro, during day time zebras will walk past your balcony, at night the place can be full of buffalos grazing and resting. The interior of the bungalows is difficult to describe, a mix of different african cultures as well as a little Versailles..... in a way a little bit crazy, but a nice experience. I expected to showers to work more properly in such a place, this was really the very only negative point. Trinks of all kind are normally included in the price. The fireplace is working in the evening, as are the electrical blancets in the beds - you are at 2300 m above sea-level here. The restaurant is the same style, the food is excellent, the service, including your personal butler, is superb.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We absolutely loved this lodge. The rooms are amazing and beautiful--the staff is fantastic. The restaurant is something out of a movie set. The views are spectacular. Every night when you return to your room, there is a fire in your fireplace and a storybook setting. Champagne and rose petals are always close by. We had special entertainment by the Masai for a very unique sundowner. I want to go back to the place. Did I mention that zebra graze outside your balcony?

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

My husband and I started our two-week safari through Tanzania and Kenya at Ngorongoro Crater and chose to stay at the Ngorongoro Crater Lodge because it has excellent location and looked very nice.

The rooms are gorgeous - almost a little too over the top - with comfortable beds, fireplaces, and gorgeous bathrooms with claw-foot bathtubs sitting below crystal chandeliers. They provide amazing views down into the crater, and we were lucky enough to have our morning coffee with two zebras grazing right outside our room. The hotel has many fabulous touches - cognac waiting upon arrival, a box of chocolates, a bouquet of roses set by the tub. The beds have heating pads to make sure they're warm and the furnishings are comfortable and gorgeous.

The staff are incredible - very friendly, always wanting to help. Our butler was George, and he was always smiling - no matter when we saw him! He would happily bring us morning coffee, greet us upon our return from a day of touring, and help us select the perfect entree for dinner.

There's no question the hotel is lovely and the nicest place to stay in Ngorongoro Crater. We enjoyed it, though I feel it is a little over-priced for what it offers. That being said, staying inside the Crater park saves you a LOT of time driving, and so it was worth it to us. I have no complaints with this lodge; it was gorgeous and we enjoyed our time here, but I'm docking it one star because the value for cost wasn't as good as at other lodges we stayed at on this trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and all of us (my husband and I and our friend with her teenage daughter) absolutely loved it. Our flight was delayed for two hours, when we arrived at the airstrip , our guide was waiting for us with the nicely packed sandwiches. We immediately felt better after a long delayed flight. As our jeep approached the entrance of the lodge, the manager led her staff danced a welcome Masai dance with drinks and warm towels. All this together with the breathless crater view turns our day into a much pleasanter one. We also liked the interior decoration of the lodge, the rooms as well as the lounge area. It is a mix of African and perhaps middle eastern/Turkish which is exotically luxurious and pleasing on the eye. When we returned from safari the next day, a warm bath filled with rose peddle with a bottle of champion was waiting for us. We enjoyed every minute of our stay here. Needless to say that this is not a cheap place, on the contrary, but it worths it to have once in a life time experience at a unique place like the Ngorongoro Crater.

Room Tip: All suites have the beautiful crater view as well as a comfortable sized balcony. Our suite and our friend and her daughter's suite has a connecting door through an inside corridor. Obviously this is not a must but it added a mysterious African feel when passing through the indoor corridor - for a larger family with small kids, this would be very convenient. We didn't have good wifi signal in our suite which was farthest to the reception area, so you might want to ask for a room which is closer to the reception if having wifi in your room is important to you.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmrushaGaruda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

My wife and I spent 2 nights at this property. The rooms were phenomenal with plenty of room to relax and enjoy a romantic getaway. The staff was very good at accommodating you every need and surprising you with some great memories. One afternoon after a long and eventful safari we return to find our super butler provide us with a hot bath and Champaign to comfort our tired bodies. The guides are very knowledgeable and I must admit they have extraordinary eye site. I would highly recommend a stay at this &beyond property.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews