We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never expected this on safari”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Never expected this on safari”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Accommodations: Italian Renaissance meets African safari. If you can’t fall in love with your spouse/significant other here all over again, it probably is never going to happen. The service here is what a five star should be – roaring fire awaiting you with a glass of sherry after dinner, a bathtub filled with bubble bath and the floor covered in roses, your own personal butler to attend to your special needs, and the bed warmed by an electrical blanket awaiting your arrival. The décor is really something to see in of itself. The rooms are very large with multiple decks overlooking the crater and much of the walls are paneled in hardwood. WiFi is available only in the common area and is a bit slow especially for larger files.

Activities/Game drives: Ours was done privately with Peter. Although you are going to see just about everything you can imagine, you should be aware that during high season this is a very busy area. The day of one of the black rhino sightings there were no less than 70 vehicles at the site jostling for position. The vehicles are required to stay strictly on the roads, so no tracking of the animals is allowed. The picnic areas, although nice, are jam packed during lunch.

Dining: Both nights we were seated in front of a roaring fire (this area gets chilly) and service was attentive, well paced, and the food well conceived, constructed and assembled. On one evening the electricity went out and service continued without a hitch.

Final recommendation: This is a wonderful place for a two night stay – you’re probably not going to get more bang for your buck by doing game drives for more than two days in this area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyandDeanHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    67
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
149
356
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed for a night in 2011. I travel a great deal and I would class this as one of the best experience hotels I have been in.

The views are stunning, the atmosphere enchanting, the rooms exquisite and the staff efficient and friendly.

one of those hotels, you will never forget for all the right reasons.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyH0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Coming in from the flatlands, Ngorongoro crater was a spectacular contrast. The conservation area is a fascinating self contained ecosystem where hyenas are the dominant predators. Other than the elephants which sometimes prowled the grounds of the lodge (hence the need for the Masai warriors walking you to your rooms) the wildlife generally kept to the crater floor.

The lodge was a creative interpretation of a 'gentlemen's' african hunting lodge. Service and rooms were aces.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D0c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Must say how the location of this lodge is absolutely priceless and privileged. The view of the crater from the lodge is exquisite.
We all loved our rooms and the unique setting. Most of us made use of the bath tub after our game drives which helped us relax in our rooms for a while. I even enjoyed the bush baby scratching our roof at night, it made the experience even more alive.
Upon arrival the whole crew from south camp greeted us and George was assigned as our butler. He was the best. Super nice all the time. He knew who drank what and had our drinks ready for when we came back from the game drives. He was truly adorable.

Our Ranger - Mudy - He was our most knowledgable ranger. He always knew where to go and how to find the animals. He knew how they would react or where they would walk thru, which allowed us to experience ngorongoro in the best way possible. He was very good at setting up breakfast for us at the crater and he always looked for the best spots for us the achieve great pictures. We had an opportunity to further learn about the animals as well as the Masai culture. He seemed very well educated and highly knowledgable in various subjects.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaxCh777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I am still lost for words on how to describe the Ngorongoro Crater Lodge, all i can say is that you have to see it and experience it for yourself! We only spent 2 nights here, but i could easily have gotten lost in this fairytale setting for a much longer time. Once inside the tree house you almost forget that you are here on a safari trip. It would be too self indulgent to come to this property to hide away without actually going to the crater itself! We stayed here after we had been to the Serengeti and welcomed the cool climate for a few days. The service is excellent, all of the staff were very friendly and happy to assist with anything. Each night we returned to our room there was always a hot bubble bath and scattered rose petals waiting for us. Due to our schedule, we could only eat dinner at the resturant and both times the food was amazing as were the breakfast boxes and picnic lunches we received. The Crater Lodge is a true gem and definitely worth the experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacjacjackeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed at the andBeyond Crater Lodge and we were very disappointed with the service, the food was always the same as well, in our last night there, after a long day out doing safari, visiting a Masai tribe, all we wanted was a nice warm shower but there was no hot water in our room.
The only positive about staying there is that the lodge is located inside the crater (rim), making travel down there shorter in time (about 45min).
Very pricey for the service provided. Our bitter Moyo was helpful though.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ingrid Rheinlan... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

andBeyong Ngorongoro Crater Lodge was our last safari stop for our honeymoon and it couldn't have been a better ending to an already spectacular trip. The lodge is situation right on the rim of the crater and the views are literally breathtaking. The staff are 5 star and anticipate all of your needs, the rooms are simply incredibly and each and everyone of our meals was delicious.
We stayed in room 21 on the South Wing and all I can say is WOW. The view from every window was amazing, there is a fire place to warm up the room and the bed is huge and comfy especially with the electic blanket. My highlight was coming back from a game drive to a steaming bubble bath and a glass of champagne!
Game drives - it is about a 40 minute drive to get down to the crater so you generally do one long game drive each day. We opted to head off early morning and then had breakfast at a scenic picnic spot before coming back for a very late lunch. We saw lots of animals - lions, cheetah, rhino, elephant, a serval and much much more. Our guide Vicky was amazing - we loved her!!
The only negative is that once someone sights an animal, it doesn't take long for there to be 10 other vehicles vying for a viewing spot. I'm glad we were not there at the peak season thats for sure!

Room Tip: South wing room 21 - apparently the best views of the crater
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becpaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
7.9 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
403 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#5 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,132 reviews
13.7 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
307 reviews
12.2 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 48 in Karatu
626 reviews
12.1 mi away
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodge
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodg...
#14 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge

Property: andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
Address: Ngorongoro Crater, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Hotel Class:5 star — andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in romance, each stilted, handcrafted banana thatch suite at andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge is adorned with graceful antiques and unforgettable opulence. Ensuite bathrooms, with a centrepiece of fresh roses, feature huge showers and chandelier-lit bathtubs, while floor-to-ceiling windows ensure breathtaking views from all around. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ngorongoro Crater Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Hotel Ngorongoro Crater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing