We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2006

This hotel was stunning. The location, for one, was spectacular. Setting on the rim of the conservation area, the hotel bar and diningroom featured floor to ceiling windows to look out over the crater. Each room had a balcony with a similar view. The rooms themselves were comfortable if not plush. They were clean and large enough, however. This is not a put-down as the amount of time spent there is very small because the rest of the place is so nice. The service was superb. In fact, it became a little annoying at times because the staff paid so much attention to you. They all had smiles and a cheery "Jambo" everytime they saw you. The food was very, very good. It was formal dining with a 5 course meal and desert/cheese and crackers. Again, the service was good. The Bar has 2 fireplaces and numerous plush chairs and couches to relax in. I got a beer and sat with a book in one of the picture windows. Wow.
I can't gush enough about this lodge. Superb and 5 Star comes to mind.

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank 10X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,003 - 1,009 of 1,241 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2006

Serena is a well known group of hotels in Tanzania... So OK it's a big infrastrucure and there's a lot of people around but the view from our room (39) was wonderful !!! The food is good and the bar very comfy ! Enjoy !

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Berengere_french
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2006

Excellence at its best! This was one of the most spectacular views I have ever seen in my life. The rooms were beautiful. The dinner service was fabulous. Highly highly recommended

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank manderley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2006

What a view !!! Could actually lie on the bed and look down at the crater. Fantastic hotel design, built on side of crater with long walkways from room to reception and bar/restaurant. As its high up, it is cold in the evenings and the hotel puts hot water bottles in your bed for you, whilst you are eating. There is also a big fire in the bar that almost gives you a feeling that you are in a ski resort !

Yes the food is a little repetitive if you have done the other Serena hotels, but so what, its high quality and the service is very good. They also do try and mix it up a bit between self service and a la carte.

Overall if you stay here it is an experience never to be forgotten (for good reasons) and also you are only 30 mins from the bottom of the crater

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank SandAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2006

What a beautiful place!!! The veiws of the crater from our room were outstanding!! Leave your curtains open if its a clear night and be amazed by the night sky absolutely fantastic we lost count of the shooting stars. Like all the serena lodges we stayed in this was a wonderful place. The service was excellent, food was good and the room was lovely! It can get a bit nippy at night so coming back to your room to find a hot water bottle in your bed was a most welcome suprise. We loved our two night stay here and only wish we were still there.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mewk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2006

Having read the reviews of this lodge in various guide books - which I must admit could be two years out of date - we found this lodge disappointing to say the least. The lodge, set above the crater has wonderful views, the rooms are excellent but the dinning experience leaves a lot to be desired. The food is bland, poorly presented and the same food appears at two consecutive meals - poor menu planning; whilst breakfast is fine/ accetable, dinner is less so. I am not normally a buffet person, but this seems to be the best choice - you can amongst other things choose your portion size. The lodge is used by large tour groups, which give it a "transit camp" feeling, whilst other lodges manage to overcome this problem, there appears to be fewer staff to cope with this aspect.

With hindsight, we should have stayed only one night -access to the crater is second to none, but then moved on to Karatu. Accommodation and drink charges are high here.

9  Thank kaw118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Orlando, FL
28
Reviewed March 8, 2006

This made the whole family relaxed and the safari arranged through Wildersun in Arusha was phenomenal. Our guide was a walking encyclopedia.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ngorongoro Conservation Area hotels
2.4 mi away
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodg...
#1 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
698 reviews
10.1 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
440 reviews
14.1 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#9 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodge
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodg...
#11 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
112 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
332 reviews
14.3 mi away
Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp
Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp
#17 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge

Address: Ngorongoro Crater, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range: $286 - $906 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the jagged rim of the crater, wreathed in morning mist, camouflaged in river-stone and cloaked in indigenous creepers, the Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge is a triumph of ecological and architectural fusion. Sensitively constructed so as to take nothing from its environment whilst affording endless vistas over the heat-shimmering reaches of the crater below, the clustered boulder-built buildings of the Lodge hug the crater rim, linked by rope-lashed timber walkways that skirt the buttressed roots of ancient, liana-hung trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing