We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Green Hills Lodge(Karatu)(Great Value!)
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crater Rim View(Karatu)(Great Value!)
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge(Lake Manyara National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Jambo Rooms(Karatu)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,286)
Filter reviews
1,286 results
Traveler rating
632
459
140
42
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
632
459
140
42
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacrobatic showroom balconybar areagreat viewcrater rimbefore dinnernightly entertainmentmasai dancerslocal entertainmentrooms are nicea hot water bottlegift shopsouplaundry serviceturn down servicehigh altitudecape buffalo
Filter
Updating list...
651 - 656 of 1,286 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Had stayed here at the end of our safari trip to Serengeti and Ngorongoro.
The Good:
1) Excellent location - you can see a magical view from the room balcony, we experienced one of the finest moon rises ever from our room
2) Comfortable accommodation in the middle of nowhere
3) Serena levels of eco friendliness plus luxury
The Bad:
1) Service was very average, compared to the other Serena properties that we stayed in. Housekeeping took really long to come
2) Food was average - not a patch compared to other Serena properties
3) Bitten by bed bugs at night :( !

It is a great place to unwind, but for the price I feel the staff should take inputs from other Serena properties, on how to handle guests

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dr_trvllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

One of the agents that we were in communication with pre travelling tried to put us off staying in this hotel , "you will get better accommodation away from crater rim...". Yes maybe so, but this place was more than adequate and the location IS worth it.

The Lodge is utterly on the crater rim with excellent views from the restaurant, and our room (infact must be from every room). The room itself was fine - two beds pushed together rather than a double (annoying) but it was just fine. We did not find it too cold at night. The plugs were british and there were plenty in the room for camera charging.

The hotel is a bit 'american' and it caters for big groups in the restaurant and bar, however it was very quiet when we were there and so we had no buffet for dinner and table service. The food was ok - a 6 out of 10 for dinner and a 9/10 for breakfast. The service is good. They are super keen to take your suitcase and earn their tip...

The entire setting of the hotel is beautiful and we ensured we got up to watch the sunrise (at 6.30am) and it was so worth it - very beautiful.

The packed lunch was the worst we had, a cucumber roll ?! and VERY dry chicken which should have been fed to the animals rather than us. I am sure they could improve this.

The location was spot on and you really are on the crater floor in 30min. We left the hotel at 7.30am and we were down there by 8.00am - perfect timing and I would recommend this. The crater can get a bit busy with safari jeeps - it is a shame as it makes it a bit cartoon like, but to be honest it is still beautiful. We saw lions, elephants, hyena, zebra, little cheetah cat, hippos and more.

We knew what we were getting with this hotel so our expectations were managed, but we were more than happy with it and SO glad that we selected to stay here and ignore the agents!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonLucyLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

One night here from traveling, the view was spectacular, as my balcony overlooked the crater. It is built to blend in with the natural surroundings, staff and food excellent. Loved that they have amazing body services as well as activities.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebelMuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This hotel had one of the most magnificent settings of all during our Tanzania safari. It is set up very high, basically in the Highlands and it could get downright cold at night, so be prepared! The restaurant had great views of the crater below. The property is very spacious and the architecture is an interesting combination of stone and wood. Staff was friendly, and the food at the buffet was good. This was probably the best of the lodges we stayed in. I wouldn't call it super luxury, but the rooms were spacious and clean and the group as a whole was very satisfied.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KincsZoltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Just look at the pics and you will just wanna go there immdtly...
After serengeti SAREENA we went here for one night stay..it was a fabulous place the view of the crator took our breath away...the lodge in itslef is beautifully designed and constructed..our room was facing the crater in fact all rooms do...they serve champagne for breakfast...'cos it gets freezing cold out here..my daughter of 5yr old absolutley loved this place. remember to late for the acrobatic show and remember to get up before sunrise to see the best sunrise view...absolutely amazing place and an amazing staff...thank you very much.

Room Tip: try to get your room closer to the dinning so that its easier on your legs...for those who don't mind walking then take the room at the far end worth it either way.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kichukodoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews