We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unique experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
257 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“unique experience”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Unique lodge on side of crater, lots of walking from front lobby to the room, lots of
Large bedroom with a great balcony and great view of the crater. had fog in the morning and looked like a planet scape. really unique, room had unique animal paintings on stone walls and bedding and drapes .lamp like old oil lamp. large shower. free internet , safe in room. great service for porters.
only negative was the slow service in restaurant and only fair service with servers. food ok buffet all the time and found again only fair.
bar area lovely. great fireplace, and entertainment. snacks provided , warm cashews.
electricity went off every day for a short period of time. was difficult when we were charging batteries for cameras etc. \
also restaurant allowed a smoker to set up her dining table at the bottom of the stairs to the main restaurant. The smoke billowed up the stairs and it was offensive. It was a non smoking restaurant and bar but they allowed this one woman to chain smoke at her table. I complained but was told o well that is the way it is. stairs

Room Tip: we were in room # 2 far from reception but a good location for crater
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackiefrombrampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    411
    128
    38
    9
See reviews for
271
503
45
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Very unique lodge set on the side of the crater with amazing views. After a long day of Safari in Lake Manyara we were enchanted to arrive at this beautiful lodge! The balcony off the room was our favorite part where we sat both in the evening to star gaze and the morning to watch the sunrise! The air was crisp and the robes were warm. The bed was very comfortable and spacious. We ordered coffee to our room in the morning but it never came. The food at dinner was average, but the breakfast quite good! Very charming lodge none the less made entirely out of stone. Would definitely stay here when at the crater - its a must see!!

Room Tip: We had a room on the upper level and the view was spectacular. I think they are all good though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crenee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
315 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I felt apart from the bush and didn't experience the sounds of the animals. Actually no animals around. However, there was a fabulous view of the Ngorongoro Crater. But too far to really see animals. Room was fine with 2 twin beds and a large bathroom. Patio with chairs

Room Tip: No elevator. I walked up stairs and stayed in room 41. Had to walk quite a ways to get to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acey071368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
214 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

huge hotel, built on the top of the caldera. a lot of stair cases to go, some of the rooms are quite far from the cetral area of dining room, spa, etc. the rooms are very big, bathroom is very comfortable. the place is high altitude and it is cold at night. te heating system could do a little better. Food is great - quality abd selection. all rooms are facing the crater and the views are breathtaking. you can sut in the balcony and watch the birds and some gazzelles passing by.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elhanan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
151 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Beautiful stone lodge on edge of the crater. Attractive room with wood floor and big bathroom. Free Wifi, but I had problems sending email. Menu is different than other serena hotels. Employees seemed more friendly here than at Serengeti Serena lodge. The Mari craft shop near the bar takes USD or TZ shellings.
Fun necklaces and bracelets.
Best meal in Africa and the best service. Mask dancers for enterainment and during cocktail hour. Tauck Tours had lots of people booked into the lodge.
This was very nice. It gets cold at night!

Room Tip: We asked for a room near the dinning hall. All rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxxtraveltoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This lodge has breathtaking views of the crater from almost everywhere in the hotel. The room balconies all have fantastic views as well as the restaurant, bar and terrace outside of the bar. There is even a viewing scope on the balcony outside of the bar to look down into the crater and spot animals. At night the lack of any other close properties provided an excellent chance to view stars at night. The drive down into the crater is fairly short and there is plenty of game around the hotel. When we first arrived to check in there was a bull elephant drinking water right in front of reception. This lodge had the best service of any hotel we stayed at in Tanzania. The food was quite good and the nightly entertainment was also great. The rim of the crater gets cool at night and the hotel provided hot water bottles with turndown service to keep you warm all night. The rooms were very clean and service was great. The crater was fantastic and this hotel provided an excellent base to explore from. I was on a girls trip with two friends (all in our late 20s) and we felt very safe and comfortable staying at this lodge. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: All have great views but the higher the room the more unobstructed the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmarte05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at the Ngorongoro Serena in July, 2013. This was our first stop on a 10 day safari in Kenya and Tanzania. We flew from Nairobi to Kiliminjaro and were met by our wonderful driver, Frank from Bushbuck Safaris. The drive to Ngorongoro was very long, but once we reached, we were enchanted! Every room has the most amazing view of the crater. The sunrise was breathtaking! The rooms were very comfortable. Be prepared with warm clothing, because it is cold! We loved the hot-water bottles in our beds. The food and entertainment were very enjoyable, and the staff was extremely friendly and caring. We loved the entertainment before dinner - dancers and singers the first night, and acrobats the second night. They gave us packed lunches for our trip to the Crater which is truly like being in the Garden of Eden. It is truly one of the most beautiful places on earth!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 53Travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
10.1 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
402 reviews
14.1 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,513 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.6 mi away
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge
#10 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
161 reviews
14.1 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 48 in Karatu
626 reviews
14.4 mi away
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodge
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodg...
#14 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge

Property: Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Address: Ngorongoro Crater, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the jagged rim of the crater, wreathed in morning mist, camouflaged in river-stone and cloaked in indigenous creepers, the Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge is a triumph of ecological and architectural fusion. Sensitively constructed so as to take nothing from its environment whilst affording endless vistas over the heat-shimmering reaches of the crater below, the clustered boulder-built buildings of the Lodge hug the crater rim, linked by rope-lashed timber walkways that skirt the buttressed roots of ancient, liana-hung trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing