We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had a great stay at this Lodge overlooking the great Ngorongoro Crater. The views were breathtaking, especially in early mornings and evenings. The lodge was well laid-out, rooms were well appointed and very clean. Our room and patio overlooked the crater. The staff was helpful and pleasant and eager to help. There was an excellent bar area with a large fireplace in the middle, a great place to congregate. It was warm here during the days, and very cool at night. They had hot water bottles in our beds at night! They also had a radiator to help knock off the cool air. Entertainment in the lounge/dinning area preceded dinner each evening. All the meals were very good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bandmanjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

783 - 789 of 1,241 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed in several lodges in Kenya and Tanzania and the Ngorongoro Serena was the best for us. As everybody says it has a wonderfull view with the rooms located in order to see the Ngorongoro Crater.
The room and bathroom could be better but were nice enough, the bar and dinning room also nice.
About the food and service they were excellent. The restaurant is not buffet and we were afraid about the service, but no, it was quick and the food also very good. In fact we didn´t like the wine but in this case was my fault once I did a wrong choice.
Congratulations to the staff of the Ngorongoro Serena, once the lodge and Ngorongoro itsef exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elica49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We staid in a number of lodges and camps in east Africa. This is one of the very best, from our perspective. LOCATION, location, location. On the rim of the Ngorongoro Crater with a view across the 12 mile caldera. Simply spectacular. Very nice rooms and baths. Very good food and excellent service. Also had nightly entertainment that was fun in the bar area before dinner. Highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: I think that all the rooms have a crater view. Might wish to stay closer to the restaurant if walki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This hotel is located on the rim of the Ngorongoro Crater facing east. Consequently, you have an awesome view of sunrise, with cloud banks oozing over the crater rim like slow-motion waterfalls. We were fortunate to visit when there was a full moon, so moonrise was just as spectacular.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room on the second floor facing the crater, for a better view. Unfortunately, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bsimosd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The positives first: the room was nice and the location is excellent. We also had a very nice walking tour led by a young, educated masaai man.
The negatives, which make it a little stretch to call it average: the food was mediocre at best and the service in the restaurant was so bad that my husband and I left the restuarant 1 hour and 20 minutes after being seated because we had not yet received our main course (and there were only about 3 choices anyway!).
I loved the wildlife in the caldera and, if I ever return, it would be to another hotel. I know some people have said this was the worst Serena hotel, but I doubt I will ever know, since I am unlikely to try another one.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank recreationaltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights here. The room was large, very clean and very comfortable, really good large bathroom with excellent shower, terrific views from bed and balcony into the caldera. It is a fantastic location for travel into the caldera to view so many animals.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Great location to access the crater. Authentic African rooms. Family rooms very good, clean and comfortable. Food OK although the staff were not the friendliest out of the 3 hotels we stayed in while on safari. Entertainment could have been better.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCR2657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ngorongoro Conservation Area hotels
2.4 mi away
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodg...
#1 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
698 reviews
10.1 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#2 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
441 reviews
14.1 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#9 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodge
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodg...
#11 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
112 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
333 reviews
14.3 mi away
Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp
Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp
#17 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge

Address: Ngorongoro Crater, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range: $286 - $906 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the jagged rim of the crater, wreathed in morning mist, camouflaged in river-stone and cloaked in indigenous creepers, the Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge is a triumph of ecological and architectural fusion. Sensitively constructed so as to take nothing from its environment whilst affording endless vistas over the heat-shimmering reaches of the crater below, the clustered boulder-built buildings of the Lodge hug the crater rim, linked by rope-lashed timber walkways that skirt the buttressed roots of ancient, liana-hung trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing