We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed for two nights and could have stayed for two months. The cottages were beautifully decorated in African art and were so luxurious. The food was phenomenal. There was a wide range of choices on each menu including some local specialties. The proximity to the rim and Ngorongoro Crater is extremely close. The service here was impeccable and couldn't be beat. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    43
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
119
175
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed here only one day/night while on safari in Tanzania - the place is amazing! A wonderful oasis at the edge of the crater. The service was impeccable. The rooms wonderful. They could not do enough to make you sure you were happy and comfortable. They have their own produce garden where they grow the organic foods used in the restaurant.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CMV21202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Explorean Ngorongoro is one of the Best Place we stayed during 10 days wild safari to Tanzania. It is New, Well Managed, Clean property with Excellent and caring ground staff. We have travelled with Kids, though the stay was only for a night, we wish, could have selected for more nights. It is outside the Ngorongoro Crater and Crate Rim, adjacent to Road; still it provides real comfortable stay to get you ready for next day’s safari. We dp not hasiate to provide High recommendation to this property

Room Tip: Rooms Stip down have good View of Crater Rim
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hiren_D_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here for two nights while on our honeymoon and thought it was perfect. Best accommodations we had while in Tanzania (luxurious!), great service and excellent food including some swahili dishes for dinner and beautiful location in the valley.

Location is about 5min outside of the gate to the Ngorongoro conservation area so it takes about 30min to get to the rim and another 30min to get down into the crater (1hr total from the hotel). In contrast, 20-30min from the hotels on the rim down into the crater.

I think Exploreans is a great trade off of distance from the crater and cost when compared to locations like the Crater Lodge for about 3x the price or the Manor for 1.5x the price and further away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrevorGSX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights as part of our honeymoon booked through Real Africa in the UK.
On arrival we were greeted with warm towels and a welcome juice! We were allocated Cottage 19 which I think was the best cottage at the lodge! Absolutely breathtaking views from the veranda!
The rooms and attention to detail was amazing! We were treated to wine, chocolate cake and bedtime chocolates as part of our honeymoon welcome! The cottages are like large apartments with living area and bedroom each complete with their own fireplaces and doors onto the veranda! The fireplace and hot water bottles at night were hugely welcomed as it was very very chilly this time of year up in the highlands! Pack warm clothes!
The food at the lodge was superb with an extensive 7/8 course dinner each day! My husband and I are vegetarian and were not overly keen on the options available on the menu, however Atigon was incredibly attentive and the kitchen staff extremely kindly made food to our own tastes on both days ensuring we had a full and delicious dinner each day! Amazing service, can't fault it at all!!
We didn't use the pool due to the cold weather and sadly didn't have time to use the spa but both looked fabulous!!
Would definitely recommend this lodge to anyone visiting Ngorongoro Crater...superb location...5* in every way!
Thank you Exploreans for making our honeymoon so special!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWilliams86_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is perfection! It is beautiful cottage, perfectly decorated and maintained. The room is just amazing, comfortable, with a lot of space. The staff is just so amiable, kind and always willing to attend you with and smile and quality. I loved the food, the options in the restaurant are all delicious, the plates are very well decorated and the food is so tasty. I loved it, is you are going to Ngorongoro I do recommend this place to stay without doubt.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danara01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Beautiful place to stay. Food was excellent and the staff are very attentive. Try the passionfruit mojito, delicious! Didn't have time to try the spa or the pool which was a shame. The hot water bottle in the bed was welcome as the room was chilly even with the fireplace on. Excellent place to stay, complete luxury.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trip1check
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
6.9 mi away
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
3.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
10.1 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
12.0 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 47 in Karatu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodge
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodg...
#12 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge

Property: Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Address: Ngorongoro Conservation Area 6222, Tanzania (Formerly Exploreans Ngorongoro Lodge)
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 50 acres of virgin Tanzanian bush in the Ngorongoro volcanic landscape, this all suites wood log cabin style retreat is located a few steps from the Game Reserve Gate and 20 minutes drive away from the Ngorongoro Crater that is said to have the most dense concentration of wildlife in Africa. This all inclusive property features 20 spacious private log cabins with fire place, a restaurant, a bar and conference facilities. Indulge in moments of relaxation at the swimming pool or at the Mvua African Rain Spa after a full-day game drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing