We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing experience....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lemala Ndutu Tented Camp
Reviewed March 4, 2013

With no idea what to expect we found ourselves in the middle of nowhere in a moveable tented camp with hot showers and flush toilets. The tents are big with the most comfortable beds you could imagine, ok they have to heat water for the shower but no big deal, the staff were fabulous and a credit to the camp manager Richard. Nothing was too much trouble for these guys, woken up at a pre-determined time with tea and coffee in bed, sensational food prepared from a primitive camp kitchen, all drinks included with a good selection of beers, spirits and wine, laundry done each day and the best of all, the lions roaring (mating) at night behind the tent.

We had 4 fabulous days at Lemala and could have stayed longer. Apart from the accommodation, the experience of being in the wilderness and not confined to specified roads was one to be remembered. In this area we were able to drive to the game rather than waiting from them to come to the road. Long, long days and a wonderful place to come back to and relax at night.

Would definitely come back again, this was close to being the highlight of a 3 week trip to Africa.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worktotravel010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 52 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

We were quite often in Africa, but this camp was one of the best, we were ever in. The staff is great, the kitchen gorgeous
and the wildlife outstanding. The area is phantastic. So this is hily recommendable.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Petra1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at Lemala Ndutu Camp and enjoyed it very much. This is a moveable camp that follows the great migration. The tents are huge and have a separate area with bathroom and bush shower. I particularly liked that there was plenty of water available for drinking, as well as laundry powder, shampoo, and soap.
The staff are wonderful! Each morning, you are brought coffee, tea, or hot chocolate at the time you specify. Luxury! Each evening, you can sit around the campfire and have sundowners and eat at a communal table. Food is very good. It's amazing what the chef can do with so little equipment.
We slept very well at this camp and woke to hear lions roaring but always felt safe knowing that there were Masai patrolling the camp at night. Location is excellent.
Highly recommend!
Location is

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica O, Regional Sales Manager at Lemala Ndutu Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Ellen,
Thank you for your review of Lemala Ndutu. Ndutu at this time of year is fantastic so when you combine the area and location with good food and a comfortable nights rest lends it self to a great way to enjoy a safari in Tanzania.
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and hope the rest of your trip was fabulous.

Warm regards

Veronica Otter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed in Lemala Ndutu night of 19 Jan 2013. It was a truly outstanding African bush experience from when we turned up covered in dust and were met by friendly and endlessly helpful staff to when we bid a regretful farewell the next day. Richard the manager was an exceptional host - knowledgeable and professional. Had unforgettable drinks around campfire with Masaai warrior in attentdance (he was there to chase away the lions etc). Excellent food, and the tents were superb. Polished wood duckboarding, warm bush showers, beautiful 'safari chic' furniture. We weren't after a hotel experience, but a safari camping experience, and this couldn't have been better.

Room Tip: All the tents were in good positions - we saw impala and zebra from ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeamWilks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemala C, General Manager at Lemala Ndutu Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Team Wilkes
Getting feedback like this is a big moral booster for our teams out at the camps and I will be sure to pass this along to the guys at Ndutu. Lemala Camps is all about the experience. We are most fortunate to be positioned in prime locations which affords our guests prime game viewing opportunities. The migration is now just to the south of Ndutu and with the recent rains, the wildebeest should be making their way towards the camp.
Thanks for posting.

Best wishes

Tom Yule

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

It is difficult to write reviews of camps like this because it all depends on expectations. People expecting a Four Seasons will be bitterly disappointed - this is a camp that is seasonal with long supply routes, it can get muddy, there is only solar power for the tent lamps and they are dim, there is no wifi or the other things people paying a lot of money expect. But that is not the point - I stayed here for 2 nights. One day at lunch the Serengeti migration passed right through the camp, with thousands of wildebeest walking and running right by us. While we were having dinner, there were lions right near the toilet tent and that same night there were four lions who fell asleep where we did the campfire. 8 more lions were in the bush near my tent the previous morning. Being close to the action allows unique experiences. In one day I filmed lions mating six different times. I saw a number of the aftermath of kills -- lions and cheetahs eating. And there was a unique view of 12 wild dogs too. The staff here work extremely hard, there is a good camp atmosphere around the communal dinner table and the food is great. This camp delivers unique experiences. The days I spent around Ndutu are ones I will remember for decades.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank ghfatw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemala C, General Manager at Lemala Ndutu Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear gafatw

What an experience! Thanks for responding. It is exactly as you say - it is the experience you go away with. We are a tented camp, seasonal, running on solar and all water is trucked in. We are not a 5 star lodge and do not profess to be one. Our small camps will give you an intimate, Hemmingway style safari right in the middle of where the action is and in the best possible locations. I take my hat off to our staff who do a sterling job under tricky conditions and our guests not only take away fantastic memories but also take a part of Lemala with them in their hearts when they leave.

Safe travels and best wishes

Tom Yule

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Lemala management must have taken previous reviews to heart because on our recent stay we found nothing really to complain about. The camp is in a lovely setting in the Ndutu area during the summer, but I understand it moves to the north for the river crossing during migration, which is something I would go back for. Everything in our room worked fine, Samuel our butler was on standby as we showered to replenish water when it ran out. As it got cold at night we were thankful for our cosy beds and thick blankets and duvets. And for the wake up call with bed tea/ coffee.

Sadly we did not see any animals at camp but the location made it convenient to go for a game drive then back for a proper lunch before heading out again. Sundowners with bush tv were a lovely time to chat with our Masai guards. Felix and his team provided fantastic service. We also stayed at Lemala Ewanjan. We slightly preferred Ewanjan as it was a tad more polished, but the food at Ndutu was better. Amazing desserts prepared out of a coal fire!

Room Tip: Take a room further from the mess tent to avoid being disturbed by staff chatting, driving on servic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BornVivant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemala C, General Manager at Lemala Ndutu Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Born Vivant

Your feedback is most valuable and I thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very glad that you have had good stays at both Lemala Ewanjan and Lemala Ndutu. With ongoing training, refurbishment of the camps, new menus and attention to detail, guest experience is the most important thing for us and we are working hard to achieve excellence all round in our services.

Best regards and safe travels

Tom Yule

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

Do not stay here. This is the worst camp I have ever stayed in. My 20 Safari these include camping to 5 star in East Africa , Botswana , Zimbabwe and South Africa
The most disappointing in terms of staff, indelible food , broken floor boards, toilets didn't flush ,radio didn't work and one has to wait to be taken from tent so with no radio we ended walking in the dark unaided!
There are plenty of choices so go elsewhere

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kayedel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
13.8 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
324 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,202 reviews
36.7 mi away
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge
#9 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Ngorongoro Forest Tented Lodge
Ngorongoro Forest Tented Lodge
#19 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
88 reviews
15.0 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,620 reviews
12.8 mi away
St. Catherine Monastery, Camaldolesian Benedectine Nuns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemala Ndutu Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemala Ndutu Tented Camp

Address: Ndutu, Ngorongoro Bordering Serengeti, Ngorongoro Conservation Area 14529, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range: $969 - $973 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lemala Ndutu Tented Camp 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the edge of a permanent marsh,LEMALA NDUTU is the ultimate amphitheater for the wildebeest migration between December and March. 12 Suite tents are relocated from the Northern Serengeti to this stunning Ndutu site to capture the boundless drama that accompanies the migration. The migration arrives in December and begin calving in February. The camp is situated inside the NCA, near the border of Southern Serengeti, in what is perhaps the finest location in the whole of Ndutu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lemala Ndutu Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing