We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Masek Tented Camp
Nearby Hotels
Green Hills Lodge(Karatu)(Great Value!)
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crater Rim View(Karatu)(Great Value!)
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge(Lake Manyara National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Jambo Rooms(Karatu)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveler rating
179
38
9
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
38
9
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showertented campoverlooking lakethe main lodgedouble sinkscanvas wallsclimbing mtanimals wanderinga small sitting areaseparate toiletluxurious tentslong game drivesoff roadgorgeous propertymy favorite placethree nightslunch box
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 226 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This is a nice camp located in Serengeti National Park ( entrance from Ngorongoro Conservation area).

For those of you willing to live the real experience of feeling wild life in a national park in Africa, this is a good choice.

Location is really nice. Animals come at night around the camp site, however it is safe ( staff makes sure everything is under control). Be aware that the sound of animals at night in open-wild life is really intense, so you may have some problems the first two nights trying to sleep. Not recommended for people afraid of insects or animals in general.
Food simple but acceptable. Good service by the camp staff ( in any case, be aware this is not a hotel, so you won´t have the luxury of a shower at any time that you want, you have let the staff of the camp know in advace, so they can prepare things so you can have your shower).

Total rating for the camp site is good ( however, be ready to say "ciao" to some luxuries of standard accomodation for the time you spend there -it is a camp site in Serengueti after all, so what else can you expect?)

Room Tip: All tents are basically the same thing. No special recommendation.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rafael_canabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

If you have the $$ this place is for you. It was absolutely amazing with first class service. We spent 3 nights here and the tents are built on a platform and are huge. The bathroom has a huge tub and there is a private outdoor shower. The staff would do anything to make the stay perfect.

This is a high end tented camp which may be outside of the reach of the budget for some but if you are going to spring for a special tented camp this is the one for you. The food was also very good.

The views over Lake Masek were spectauclar and it was great watching the hippos come out of the lake at night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Medic_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I had occasion to stay at this property in September 2013. As an agent, I was checking out properties I wanted to use for my next group. This property met the bill, not real high end, but also not real low in - a moderate property offering all the amenities of any high end luxury property. Rooms were very nice, accommodating and even had a hair drying which some of my guests frequently want. The ground are not gardens, it is in the bush after all, but the patio area was wonderful just to sit and watch the birds and the animals on Lake Masek which the property overlooks. My stay was wonderful, comfortable and plenty of 'night' action noises, which is a must have when sleeping in the bush in Africa, Tanzania to be precise.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great - and comfortable. In my opinion, one is not better than the other.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank njeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

While not the most plush lodge we stayed at, it was our favorite. The setting was peaceful; we had our own tented camp (Hondohondo). We particulary enjoyed having our own "living room". The "room" had a sofa, chair and coffee table and was enclosed in the tent's own netting. It was just great to sit out there with a drink and look at the lake; serenity plus. The bed was nice, there was a "moon" shower (in other words, an outdoor shower), and a fabulous bathtub. We didn't want to leave this place.

The food was good, but the service was EXCELLENT. The staff remembered special requests from the day before...really, really wanted to make everyone happy. The staff member named Paul was Excellent plus...an asset to Masek.

Enoy!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CocoBeans1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were only due to stay at Lake Masek Tented Camp for one night and it definitely wasn't long enough. Having arrived late at night and due to leave early the next morning we were very disappointed to not have longer at this gorgeous venue. The staff were the friendliest we had in our 5 day safari and the food was incredible. The views were amazing and the tents were so well equipped. We hope to be back and enjoy this camp for a bit longer!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RNSLondon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews