We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Masek Tented Camp
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveler rating
179
38
9
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
38
9
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showertented campoverlooking lakethe main lodgedouble sinkscanvas wallsclimbing mtanimals wanderinga small sitting areaseparate toiletluxurious tentslong game drivesoff roadgorgeous propertymy favorite placethree nightslunch box
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 226 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2013

After a wild ride across rain-swollen rivers and miles of muddy, twisted roads, what a complete surprise to find a lovely, comfortable tent, complete with beautifully made up bed, a toilet and shower. The service here was excellent -- lovely meals, men who bring hot water in buckets when you want your shower. You're out in the wild here, but safe in your tent (the size of a decent New York City apartment) you hear unidentified sounds but can sleep in peace. No electricity after about 10 pm, but they have plenty of flashlights to lend out. An great place and a great adventure in the middle of outstanding wildlife.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beadil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

They call it a tented camp, but it is much more than that. The tents are really beautiful rooms built up on a platform, with a huge comfortable bed and a full bathroom comtained within it. The option of an outside shower is also great.

Staff was friendly and food very nice. Couldn't fault this place at all. We had the added bonus of a giraffe chomping on a tree outside our window on both nights we stayed.

Free wifi is provided - it is very patchy but even the option of patchy wifi in an area this remote exceeds what i expected.

Would recommend this place for anyone heading to Lake Masek.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TraveltimeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I spent 3 nights at the Lake Masek Tented Camp in January 2013. The overall experience was fantastic. The camp overlooks Lake Masek with hippos in easy view from the deck of the main building. The deck is comfortable and a great place to enjoy a drink or relax or shoot some photos. The manager is totally involved and gets to know the visitors as they arrive and makes everyone feel welcome and cared for. She is there from breakfast until late at night making sure guests are enjoying themselves. The staff are also friendly and attentive and everyone seems to take the extra step to make this hotel a gem. My mother was nursing a cold and staff provided her tea or water and honey as soon as they saw her arrive.

My son and I were in the tent Kifaru which is one of the more remote tents. Still it was maybe 3 minutes to the main lodge. The accommodation was impeccable and very comfortable with a wonderful outdoor shower and plenty of hot water. The beds were comfortable and mosquitoes did not get through all the netting both for the tent and for the bed. Food was the best we experienced on our 10 day trip with lots of fresh fruit, tasty meats and veggie dishes. The tent experience gives you the opportunity to hear the night life of the local animals in full splendor be it bird calls or hyenas celebrating a kill nearby. All in all the Masek Tented Camp capped a wonderful 10 days of Safari for me and my family.

Within a 15 minute radius of the camp, we saw Lions, Elephants, Cheetahs, Hippos, Hyenas, Wildebeests, Zebras, Bat Eared Foxes and dozens of birds.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mark319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

In the middle of nowhere, overlooking Masek lake, this luxury tented lodge, is an amazing surprise!
Tents are spacious, beutifully decorated, and comfortable.
Outside shower is fun, with hot water at any time.
Made us feel part of nature, and pampered at the same time.
Staff was friendly and attentive. Food was delicious, too.
At night you are accompanied to the tent, by a staff member, felt like a night safari!
Unfortunatly, we only stayed for one night.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruraam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This luxury tented camp is just that - luxury! The tents are incredible - just like 5 star hotel rooms - and the private outside shower is amazing. Very clean, spacious and comfortable. The food is also great and all drinks are included. You also choose what you would like in your safari picnic lunch - they even had Cadbury chocolate!

Very friendly and safe - local Maasai escort you from the restaurant to your tent so that the hippos don't eat you!

The only disadvantage is that it's a long and very bumpy drive to get there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gazlar_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews