We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional accommodations near Ngorongoro Crater ~ service unsurpassed.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Manor at Ngorongoro
Certificate of Excellence
West Friendship, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional accommodations near Ngorongoro Crater ~ service unsurpassed.”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This is the most luxurious of our Elewana properties stays, all of which were just lovely. The Manor's comfortable elegance and service were unsurpassed. The main lodge offered library, bar, snooker and entertainment centers, and most impressive, a verdant, private setting. Our cottage and gardens were reminiscent of our previous stays in Bermuda and Wales. Horseback riding was available onsite. Our dining experience was exquisite, with a delicious meal and unsurpassed service; our final dinner was set poolside, with a fire flickering, rose petals decorating the lovely table, and two staff tending to our every need. The road in, if driving yourself, was nearly impassable when wet, but our guide managed the slick mud. We also enjoyed the Arusha Coffee Lodge, Taringire Treetops, and Serengeti Migration Camp. All of the Elewana properties offered unique, special experiences with consistently exceptional service.

Room Tip: Each cottage is private and quiet. The service is impeccable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank energybiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    17
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
70
159
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

If you're looking to be treated royally, this is the place for you. This is truly a very special place to stay! the road in is horrible, but once there you will be in dream heaven. The location as related to the caldera is fantastic.

Room Tip: As far as we know, they are all spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryF994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Treetops was first on our trip, then an ok place that was not a part of this chain, then this. WOW!
On a coffee plantation: green and lush in manicured fashion. The grounds of the Manor were gorgeous with flowers and nice walking paths. We were presented with a table set for us outside by the main building in the shade--this was right after we arrived so they anticipated our
eating lunch there. The rooms were as good as any upscale spa resort we've ever stayed at, and really spacious. Another amazing moment after an afternoon safari was returning to find the bathtub full of hot water with bubble bath and ROSE PETALS in and around the tub!!!! Can you even imagine the thought that went into this? They also went all out our last nite, serving us
dinner in a small library room by ourselves with candle-light. Ok, we were the only ones staying there that nite, but still it was extraordinary. Also, I did get a very lovely massage there for extra--it's what I would have paid in the states and worth every dime! The service in general was extremely gracious. I wished we could have lingered there a few more days~~

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be attached by a wall to one other room. There are individual entrances and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicki g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We didn't stay at the Manor but wish we had. The owner and staff were very accommodating. The Manor is further away from the Crater than our hotel but well worth the longer drive. The food and accommodations far surpass the other resorts in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clewcuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelers Rest, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We traveled toTanzania in January 2014. After one night in Arusha following a trans-Atlantic flight our stay at the Manor was nothing short of fantastic. Nestled inside the Shangri-La coffee plantation (we are still ordering their coffee!), The Manor is a true diamond - or maybe I should say Tanzanite ;) in the Ngorongoro area. The staff here makes everyone feel light the most special guest that has ever stayed at the property. The grounds are immaculate and lovely. The food was superb. The best choice.

Room Tip: We stayed in the family unit - a free-standing building - very large, clean and quiet (after you adj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amhdwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We have just returned from staying 2 nights at the Manor as part of a sky safari. The building is stunning, and set in a beautiful setting. As others have said, the attention to detail is impressive, and the rose petal bath was perfect. Sharif, our room ambassador, was such a lovely man, so efficient, friendly, and genuine, not just good service but great company also, a credit to the company. The food was good, and the complimentary massage most welcome. If you want an example of top service then this is the place to go. Our guide Ndossi was also wonderful. I left a bottle of perfume and mentioned it to him as we flew off to our next lodge, as we left 2 days later I was retuned the perfume as they had sent it on with another couple. You cant ask for more than that, and this for me reflects their commitment to making their guest's stay perfect. Thank you. We will absolutely return.

Room Tip: All rooms are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 365Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Excellent accommodations. Worth the drive from the crater. Amazing attention to detail e.g. rose petal bubble bath after a day in the bush. Good food and friendly, efficient staff. Would highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
3.5 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
403 reviews
12.9 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#5 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,132 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 48 in Karatu
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,515 reviews
2.7 mi away
Acacia Farm Lodge
Acacia Farm Lodge
#5 of 48 in Karatu
156 reviews
13.8 mi away
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
#1 of 41 in Lake Manyara National Park
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor at Ngorongoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor at Ngorongoro

Property: The Manor at Ngorongoro
Address: Ngorongoro Road | Shangri-La Estate, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Manor at Ngorongoro 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located adjacent to the Ngorongoro Conservation Area within the 1500 acre, Shangri-La Estate, The Manor at Ngorongoro is reminiscent of a elegant, up-country farm home in the Cape Dutch-style of architecture. The Manor at Ngorongoro, with its 20-luxurious guest cottage suites, is one of the first luxury safari experiences in the region to fuse East African safari hospitality with old world Afro-European architecture, and décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your The Manor at Ngorongoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor At Ngorongoro Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing