We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way above expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Manor at Ngorongoro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I felt like a queen while I was there. My husband and I were waited on hand and foot. The room and bath were lovely and filled with fresh flowers daily. A warm bubble bath complete with rose petals awaited me at the end of every day trip. Ahhhh! They arranged for an elegant 'picnic' outside on the phenomenally beautiful grounds one day. I celebrated a friend's birthday one night. They baked a wonderful cake and sang 'Jambo' to my friend after an amazing dinner. It's a birthday she will never forget. The last night we were served an incredible dinner in a private room. When we arrived we saw they had written the blessing "LONG LIFE" out in flowers on our candle filled table. They ended with another beautiful cake just for us. Sharif was our waiter for the time at the Manor and he made every meal a really wonderful occasion. I really hated to leave. If you want a really, really special place to stay, come to the Manor.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isabell2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

228 - 234 of 339 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Second part of SkySafari by Elewana.
Arriving at Lake Manyara airstrip around 3 pm. Took us 2 hours to get to the Manor at Ngorongoro. The road from the turnoff to the manor was very bad. That's quite normal for road conditions in rural Africa. The driver, Lorry was good at his job. Upon arrival, we had canapés, cheeses and lemonade waiting for us. The GM Martin came out to greet us. The room was spectacular, dinner was great. The hotel has beautiful gardens, surrounded by coffee plantation.

Early start at 830 am, the drive out of the Manor was really bad. It took us 2.5 hours to arrive at the crater. Very bumpy road. The animals here were very "relaxed". The highlights were cheetah, rhinos, pink flamingos, wildebeest, hyenas. Too many tourist s and cars in the crater. It felt like a zoo or storybook animals kingdom. When we got back to the room, there was a bottle of red wine waiting for us next to the bathtub. a rose petal bath was drawn and waiting to sooth our tired bodies. The massage by Caroline was amazing. Very detailed and strong. She found all the points on my back that needed to be worked on.
There was a jazz band with Mama Charlotte for the night. She's a native of Kansas City, moved to Tanzania in 1972. Powerful and soulful voice. The Chrismas menu was superb. We had dinner with Andy and Diane that we met the night before. Absolutely enjoyed it. There were Christmas cards and gifts for us too.

Woke up late the third day. Had breakfast at the terrace. Beautiful day, the temperature was just nice. Martin came and sit with us for a chat. Gave us lots of information about the hotel, Zanzibar. He even printed some information on Zanzibar. Horseback riding around the coffee plantation. the view was so beautiful. on the way back we saw a beautiful lunch set up under the tree overlooking the beautiful hill. it was for us!! another surprise. Lunch on the lawn overlooking the coffee plantation. White table cloth n linen. Full service 3 course lunch. Guide took us to the airport. The only thing I would change is I would stay one more night here just to do nothing and enjoy the property.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed here two nightsas we travelled from Tarengire to Lake Manyara to the Ngorongoro Crater to the Serengetti. It was an amazing respite from a very busy travel schedule. Rodgers and his team are so freindly and accomodating! The grounds are amazing and lush. As far as i could tell the rooms are all "suites" - that is they have large and comfortable living areas, bedroom and very large bathrooms (our bathroom had a wonderful claw foot tub). One of our friends who we were travelling with took advantage of the spa and had a very nice massage. The staff is so thoughtful that, even though we had not requested it, on our return from visiting the crater they had poured us a steaming hot bubble bath and sprinkled rose petals around! The food is wonderful and the chef gladly accomodated our request for some African specialites! It's great to sit around the roaring fire in the evening with cocktails or wine and some hors douvres and share stories with fellow travellers. What more could you ask for? It is just a bit of a trip from the crater if that is going to be your focus while you are staying there. It was a great change for us as we stayed in tented camps prior to and after our stay at the Manor. I would highly recommend The Manor at Ngorongoro!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed one night between our drive from Serengeti to Lake Manyara. This place ranks as one of the best places we have stayed anywhere. Suites are large. Staff is efficient, helpful, and friendly. Food is excellent. Grounds are just perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

When you arrive there you change gear.
The place is fantastic, the rooms just stunning, the staff smiling and service is perfect.
You just dont want to leave the place.
One of my best experiences ever

Room Tip: All of them are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yannisParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Going to this place is quite a feat. The roads were so bumpy and very uncomfortable. However upon reaching the place, its just wonderful. Their hamburger sandwich is simply unforgettable....... the place has an aura of the 6 star resorts giving the guests a memorable experience. Bravo!

Room Tip: any room in the area is just fine.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gorichville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is the best property without doubt in the Karatu area and once you have gone over some of the bumpy roads off the main drag you arrive at an absolute oasis. The style is cape dutch and the attention to detail in the decor is wonderful. The rooms are very large with the most wonderful bathrooms.

The food was exceptional and the staff extremely attentive. Do not go there if you are on a diet!!! The views over the coffee plantations are stunning and they have horse riding so when the horses are not out with guests you can just sit on the verandah and watch them playing in their paddock.

The gardens are beautifully laid out with amazing smells and colours.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IntrepidMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
10.8 mi away
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodg...
#1 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
709 reviews
3.5 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
450 reviews
12.9 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#8 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#9 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,681 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodge
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodg...
#11 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
119 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#2 of 55 in Karatu
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor at Ngorongoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor at Ngorongoro

Address: Ngorongoro Road | Shangri-La Estate, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range: $994 - $2,396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Manor at Ngorongoro 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located adjacent to the Ngorongoro Conservation Area within the 1500 acre, Shangri-La Estate, The Manor at Ngorongoro is reminiscent of a elegant, up-country farm home in the Cape Dutch-style of architecture. The Manor at Ngorongoro, with its 20-luxurious guest cottage suites, is one of the first luxury safari experiences in the region to fuse East African safari hospitality with old world Afro-European architecture, and décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Manor at Ngorongoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor At Ngorongoro Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing