We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Manor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Manor at Ngorongoro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Manor for 3 nights as part of our safari, staying at all of the Elewana hotels. I can't add to the positive comments already made by other travellers only confirm everything that's been written about it.

The hotel, grounds and views are beautiful and we too saw the jacaranda trees in full bloom. It felt like arriving at an oasis in the middle of a dessert. Lovely welcome with cold towels and fruit drink. Room was impeccably clean and spacious and a gorgeous bathroom with a roll top bath.

The food was excellent and we were looked after by Sheriff. He magically ran a bath for us after our long day in the crater. He set up a wonderful breakfast on our patio. He arranged a beautiful table for us in the conservatory for our dinner one evening and a table around the pool the following day for lunch. He brought me afternoon tea when he knew my husband had gone on the coffee tour. All the extra touches made our stay even more memorable and we thank Sheriff greatly.

The pool area is beautiful but be warned the pool is extremely cold!

The drive to The Manor is bumpy but this adds to the experience. On two of the days we encountered a young group of male elephants around the perimeter of the grounds. We were possibly 6 feet away from them and they just stood and watched as we made our way past them.

The Manor is part of a large coffee estate and the owner of the estate has a private residence on the estate. After the coffee tour my husband was lucky enough to be shown the estate owners watering hole, elephants and buffalo were using it and were 12 feet away, amazing. It's a shame The Manor can't make this more available to all guests. The only thing we said we missed at The Manor was the animals, this would be a great plus point if accessible.

We met some great people at all the Elewana properties and because we stayed at all of them we followed the sky safari route, although we drove.

This is an observation not a criticism - the sky safari guests do get the best of the rooms, location etc. They are attended to before other guests and have preferential lunch hampers. We understand this but we thought that as we were using all Elewana hotels we may have had an even better location of room.

We would definately return and wouldn't hesitate to recommend in an instant.

Room Tip: Next time I would request a room on the right hand side of the main building (sunnier)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anoif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

229 - 235 of 329 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

Day 4 on our Elewana Sky Safari and we arrived, hot and dusty at Manyara airstrip to be met by our guide for the Ngorongoro Crater - Baraka. He had cold towels and chilled drinks for us before we set off in our safari vehicle to The Manor. Baraka told us all about the area, the people and the wildlife on our trip as well as finding out what particularly we were expecting to see on our game drive. We learnt a great deal from him. On the bumpy and dusty approach to the Manor we glimpsed through the trees the most wonderful sight of an elegant, white colonial building nestling amongst a cloud of Jacaranda trees in full lavender bloom - quite beautiful.
On arrival we were met by the lovely manager, Rodgers and introduced to our butler Benedict who had more cold drinks and snacks waiting for us on the lawn outside the house. The Manor is quite outstanding, it is every bit as wonderful as you read about on the website but it also has the most attentive, smiling and genuinely lovely staff that you are likely to encounter in Africa!
Our room was superb, sofas, a desk, a huge bed from which you could look out of the French doors to your private terrace, the lawn and the coffee plantation beyond. There is a fire place for the colder evenings as the temperature is a litle cooler higher up in the plantation - not that we noticed! The bathroom is like a stage set with a huge claw foot bath, an enormous powerful walk in shower, a lovely washbasin unit, wardrobes and a separate wc. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided as well as a decanter of sherry, we didn't really do these justice as the lovely Benedict provided us with all the snacks and drinks we needed! Evening drinks before dinner were taken on the terrace in front of the opulent drawing room. Log burners provided a wonderful atmosphere and soft cushions on comfy sofas invited guests to relax, socialise and feel pampered. Dinner was marvellous, as was breakfast and after a wonderful day exploring the exciting Ngorongoro Crater, we were met back at the Manor by Benedict who had run a huge bubble bath, scattered rose petals and put a bottle of bubbly on ice next to the bath! In my late fifties, I haven't experienced such luxury for many years - it was truly wonderful. Oh - I forgot, Benedict had also booked massages for us both, put hot water bottles in our beds and put out a tray of snacks!
The Manor is a haven of absolute luxury - perfect for any aged guest, maybe not so perfect for small children but there are plenty of games, a pool and a wonderful snooker room plus lots of staff to attend your every need.
The ONLY negative is that you will want to stay longer in order to fully appreciate what is provided. It would have been wonderful to ride, to walk through the coffee plantation, to swim or just to sit with a glass of wine and soak up the surroundings. Three days would be perfect before the next round of wild animals and bumpy roads lure you away! A huge thank you for making our stay so perfect.

Room Tip: We stayed in cottage number 5 - perfect location, wonderful facilities and a breathtaking view from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PandJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Pros:
Beautiful hotel with exquisite interior design
Large and lovely room with beautiful views of the coffee plantation
Fantastic service
A full size snooker table!
Good selection of included drinks
Excellent massage in the spa

Cons:
Only niggle is that the drive way could perhaps be a little less bumpy in places, especially the last bit leading up to the hotel. Certainly not a reason not to stay though, the hotel is fantastic!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobinatorSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Manor at Ngorongoro ,a beautiful place to relax.Beautiful surrounding and rooms overlooking coffee plantation,an oped deck to relax.Beautiful room and bathroom,I loved the way they put flowers everywhere.Very good sitting areas,loved the private dinners arranged very beautifully and specially for us.I loved riding on the hilly area as well.On the whole it was a fantastic experience staying there .

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alkabombay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We somewhat overlooked this property as we viewed it more as a 2 night stop over while going on game drives in Lake Manyara & Ngorongoro Crater. When we left, we wished we would have had one more night here so we could explore more of what the property had to offer. The grounds are simply stunning and each cottage is very spacious with a wood burning fireplace inside the room.

Other reviewers mentioned the road to get up to the property. It was quite bumpy, but after being on game drives for several days already, it was not that out of the ordinary. Once you arrive, you are wowed by the scenery and forget about the bumps.

When we arrived we mentioned in passing that we would love to try the local food. One night they set up a private dinner in the cellar for us with local food that was not on the normal dinner menu for the night. Our Butler, Justin, aimed to please and made our experience a very memorable one.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jasbap8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We had a good time there , the rooms are nice, too cold at night, service was slow, the 2 best things are the coffee tour and the pony ride.
The location is far of the road, bad access road 30m off , more than an hour to the crater would have preferd to stay inside the crater, can skip this place. Nice but when you have such lovely places elsewhere this is not a must.

Room Tip: The family house has 3 bedrooms and is a great place for a big family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank IssyE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

As soon as you arrive on the lush grounds of this beautiful property, you feel like royalty. The service, the staff and hosts, the buildings, the accomodation, the food, all fabulous. We wondered if we could afford to turn it into a retirement village and just hang out there forever. Another spectacular elewana property. The mists in the morning make the place feel surreal, a great start for the climb/descent into the crater.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KR W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ngorongoro Conservation Area hotels
10.8 mi away
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodg...
#1 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
688 reviews
3.5 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
431 reviews
12.9 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodge
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodg...
#10 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
108 reviews
10.5 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,641 reviews
50.4 mi away
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge
#11 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor at Ngorongoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor at Ngorongoro

Address: Ngorongoro Road | Shangri-La Estate, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range: $1,020 - $1,485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Manor at Ngorongoro 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located adjacent to the Ngorongoro Conservation Area within the 1500 acre, Shangri-La Estate, The Manor at Ngorongoro is reminiscent of a elegant, up-country farm home in the Cape Dutch-style of architecture. The Manor at Ngorongoro, with its 20-luxurious guest cottage suites, is one of the first luxury safari experiences in the region to fuse East African safari hospitality with old world Afro-European architecture, and décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Manor at Ngorongoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor At Ngorongoro Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing