We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place for couples and families alike”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Manor at Ngorongoro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2011

The Manor is a great place to escape from the heat of the Tanzanian lowlands. Luxury, great food, excellent staff and stunning surroundings make this place one of the best lodges in Tanzania. Far too good to stay just one night.

Room Tip: Request the family cottage if travelling with kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamasean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 269 of 333 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2011

It is not on the crater rim but dont let that worry you. When you take the drive and you finally get here you will just be so gratefull. It is divine and the African hospitality is the same fantastic hospitality I found at Kichwa Tembo in the Mara. The meals were divine, they have a beautifull restaurant and bar area.
The rooms are stunning and perfect. The garden is like heavan on earth.
Nothing to fault. It is perfect and in my opinion better than the Crater Lodge.
You will be rewarded!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TitanRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

This is the most extraordinary hotel I've ever been to. In my opinion this is the best of Elewana lodges. Each bedroom is actually an elegant, romantic and extremely comfortable cottage, with a huge and luxurious bathroom, a private deck and courtyard and a fire place. Magnificent interior design and furniture in the bedroom. Amazing landscape outside. Everything has been designed for your own comfort.
We went horse riding. Despite the breathtaking views it was a bit disappointing that the guide did not say a word!
Great bar, lounge, library, breakfast and dinner areas. it's basically possible to eat wherever you want (downstairs, in the garden, by the swimming pool, on the terrace, etc.)
Everything in the hotel is gorgeous, to the smallest detail.
Staff OK but sometimes a bit clumsy.
Only downside: we would have appreciated that the manager at least come say hi to us.
But the Manor is so relaxing and luxurious that I would definitely come back any time.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dussaert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We had a one week family holiday visiting various parks and staying at the elewana properties in tanzania. The manor is by far the best. The lodge is set on a coffee plantation, with beautiful views. In the rainy season the road to the lodge tends to be a bit difficult to access, but with a 4wd this shouldnt be a big problem!
The lodge is beautiful set in dutch style houses which are lavishly furnished. The rooms are massive, and for a family with 3 kids you get a 3 bedroom house with 3 bathrooms, tv room, sitting room and front porch.The huge bathrooms have lovely tubs,which you will appreciate sitting in after a long days safari.
The food is excellent. The staff are so friendly even my kids got attached! And normally if you stay for more then 3 days there is a surprise in store!
Facilities like horse riding, biking, snooker,crocket,bush walks,private dinner in a seperate room are available.There is also a spa offering massages.
The gardens are lush and the decor is something!!
I really enjoyed my stay here and have no complains.The service is excellent.Good job Mr Rodger and his team!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raha_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

The third stop of our Elewana Sky Safari took us to this colonial splendour that is the Manor close to the Ngorongoro crater. Quality accommodation perched in the hillside enjoying fantastic views of the Tanzania country. The service & cuisine is fantastic. The rooms are very comfortable and as other Elewana sites they just cannot do enough to ensure you have a comfortable stay. Fantastic wine selection; the waiter noticed our preference & had a bottle waiting for us upon our return the next day. Beautiful.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TADJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

What can I add more than all those positive reviews!!! It ia a real Luxury. Proffesional, efficient , and friendly stuff. I regret staying just one night , I really wanted to enjoy more of it. In conclution; highly recommended :))

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaylantayeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Hi,

After being constantly disappointed with the standard of self-professed 5 star places in Tanzania, The Manor was like a visit to heaven. I say this even after having two nights of extreme stomach problems due to some bacteria I picked up elsewhere. We were the first guest to arrive, and the lovely couple running the place had a table in the garden waiting for us so we could experience a wonderful lunch. Unfortunately some rain spoiled the opportunity, but the fact they thought of this was exceptional and consistent with a real 5 Star Experience.

The villas are wonderful with lovely English free-standing baths, and are tastefully decorated to encompass the feel of a coffee plantation in Africa. The common area was everything you could ask for. An amazing living area with fireplace, where one can have a drink, read, chat with other guests, and wireless internet worked like a dream. It feels like your own personal estate. They have a great snooker table which is great because I'm a huge fan of the game and equipment was in top shape. Somebody was complaining about the food being too British, no clue what their tastes are but I would completely disregard that, the food was exceptional and couldn't recall a single meal that reminded my of Britain.

I can't remember the name of the lovely couple that manage the place but they are genuinely warm and hospitable people. As mentioned, I ran into a bacteria which was causing havoc in my stomach, and they directed me to an American volunteer hospital run by an amazing gentlemen who has established a hospital nearby to help the local people with free medical treatment. He is worth a visit just to meet somebody who packed their bags from the city life to live in Africa and make a difference.

Overall, this was an amazing experience for us, and the Manor is in elite company in terms of offering real 5 Star service in Tanzania which is not very developed in this regard. I can assure you, you won't regret staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thechalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
10.8 mi away
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodg...
#1 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
698 reviews
3.5 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#2 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
441 reviews
12.9 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodge
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodg...
#11 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
112 reviews
10.5 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#9 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,660 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#3 of 54 in Karatu
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor at Ngorongoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor at Ngorongoro

Address: Ngorongoro Road | Shangri-La Estate, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range: $996 - $2,258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Manor at Ngorongoro 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located adjacent to the Ngorongoro Conservation Area within the 1500 acre, Shangri-La Estate, The Manor at Ngorongoro is reminiscent of a elegant, up-country farm home in the Cape Dutch-style of architecture. The Manor at Ngorongoro, with its 20-luxurious guest cottage suites, is one of the first luxury safari experiences in the region to fuse East African safari hospitality with old world Afro-European architecture, and décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Manor at Ngorongoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor At Ngorongoro Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing