We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tloma Mountain Lodge, Tanganyika Wilderness Camps
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Another great place”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We spent a night on our way to Serengeti and this turned out to be exactly what all the reviews say. Great bird life set in a working coffee plantation with well appointed rooms , all having quaint Swahili names. A very pro active chef who obviously knows his onions adds charm to this place.
The laundry service is super efficient-- took in the laundry at 6 pm and had them back in the rooms by midnight.
Internet is dear -$5 for 30 mts but worth it for those who cannot do without it.
The curio shop has some good stuff but the manual swiping of the card can lead to problems

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sellappa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    94
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
101
124
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Beautiful rooms, especially the bungalows. Other units while not as fabulous, have an amazing view of the hotel's gardens and a deck to view them from. Lots of paths around the property to enjoy the birds, and observe the large variety of plants that are cultivated for use in the wonderful meals served to guests. Meals are served buffet style, indoors and out, and offer a large variety of local style dishes. Laundry is quick (same day turnaround) and the best deal anywhere in the world at one dollar per item, frequently less for undergarments.

Room Tip: Bungalows are spacious and quiet. Other rooms feature a balcony with beautiful garden views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise2900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The Tloma lodge is a beatiful place with a large pool, huge grounds filled with flowers, coffee and
fruit trees, and a large vegetable garden. I stayed at the lodge with an OAT group twice--one day on the way to Serengti and two days on the way back to Arusha. The rooms are spacious, the laundry service rapid and reasonable, the food excellent. Our group enjoyed the afternoon happy hours with the snacks provided while watching the sun set. The fires in the fireplaces and on the deck made it appear that you were in a camp ground. One should not miss touring the grounds which are home to over 120 species of birds including the reclusive African Paradise Flycatcher with the male and its very long tail during the breeding season. Canna plants were filled with a number of different
sunbirds throughout the day. The music being played was also interesting from traditional african
songs to Christmas music.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DFH10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
245 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The food was excellent.
The apres-safari food was so tasty (chicken, peanuts, banana chips, potato chips).
They have a signature cocktail with mint, honey and limes, which was excellent.
Fresh coffee was available all day.
The buffet dinner offered a lot of variety and tasty food.
Breakfast was great
Lunch boxes were brilliant- this is the only place where we could pack our own lunch and decide what we got in our lunch box, which was of course delicious.

The grounds are beautiful and they have a pool. It's not in a park, but the plantation setting is peaceful and lovely.

The rooms are huge and clean. Less charming than other places we stayed at, but very comfortable.

The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDN_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quesnel, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Yup - back again 1 year later. Love this place. The food (and the chef) are great. All the staff is pleasant but the chef is really fun. I do know better...but she darn near had us convinced it was hippo & eland on the menu that night. Stay here. Wander the gardens, allow time to enjoy the place. We usually arrive late in the afternoon and leave early the next morning - try to have more time than I do!

Room Tip: Rooms are nice. Not over-the-top fancy & luxury...very comfortable & enjoyable. I almost w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Flowers are the main thing that pops into your eyes and you cand find them almost everywhere. The rooms are very spacious and clean. They also have special rooms for people with disabilities. They have their own vegetable garden, coffee and bananas plantations.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eturia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Bolivia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed two nights here and would agree with most reviewers on how nice the property is. That said, it should be made clear that the facilities are good, clean but very basic. Its a no thrills / extra details & cozy place. Rooms are comfortable, spacious and clean. Food is fine and the staff are very welcoming and nice. Pool is good size and overall facilities are very well taken care of.

So, a good retreat, nice gardens, good (not exceptional) food and basic facilities.

The downside is wi-fi which is not available and internet access is through hotels pcs at USD5 per 30" - wi-fi should be these days like hot water, part of what you get in slightly above average hotels.

On the way to Seregueti I stayed at Ngorongoro Farm house which is a superior coffee farm type hotel which I would recommed over this one

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoseLuisContreras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
5.1 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
402 reviews
14.5 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#5 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,131 reviews
10.8 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
306 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 48 in Karatu
626 reviews
2.3 mi away
Acacia Farm Lodge
Acacia Farm Lodge
#6 of 48 in Karatu
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tloma Mountain Lodge, Tanganyika Wilderness Camps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tloma Mountain Lodge, Tanganyika Wilderness Camps

Property: Tloma Mountain Lodge, Tanganyika Wilderness Camps
Address: | Karatu, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tloma Mountain Lodge, Tanganyika Wilderness Camps 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ngorongoro -KaratuLodge. An exclusive lodge consisting of 24 cottages and 12 garden view rooms, situated on the outskirts of Karatu village within the Ngorongoro Highlands Area. Tloma Lodge´s unique location, on raised shoulder of a valley, offers breathtaking views with en suite facilities. The lodge has eco-friendly electric power supplied by solar panels, with a generator as a backup.Nearest airstrip: Lake Manyara airstrip, 30 minutes away.Activities: Guided nature walks in the Ngorongoro Conservation Area, cultural guided tours of Karatu village, swim in the solar heated pool, full or half body massage by a trained an experience masseuse. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tloma Mountain Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing