We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tloma Mountain Lodge, Tanganyika Wilderness Camps
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Highview Hotel(Karatu)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge(Lake Manyara National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (427)
Filter reviews
427 results
Traveler rating
275
135
14
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
135
14
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoffee plantationper itemlunch boxorganic gardennice poolvegetables and fruitsgrounds are gorgeousan oasisstir fryswimming pool isa lovely place to stayrooms are largestayed for one nightbeautiful roomanywhere in the worldhotel groundsmosquito netting
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
272 - 277 of 427 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2012

This place is gorgeous. The staff is so nice and almost serve a seven course meal which is really tasty. I loved taking a walk around the plantation which is budding with coffee and banana trees. We spent the evening at pool side and then chilled at the dinner table overlooking the mountain. The gift shop was excellent too and quite reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank halfpiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

This was a lovely place to stay during a safari. Beautiful setting, gigantic and well-equipped rooms, refreshing salt-water pool, fantastic food and excellent service. I appreciated their lunch box service which allowed you to pack your own lunch -- a welcome change from the butter sandwich and dried chicken leg offerings of other places! They had a reasonably laundry service ($1 per item). The lodge is on a coffee plantation and the (drip) coffee was EXCELLENT -- we even bought some beans to take home.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We had booked our safari as part of the Thomson/First Choice package hence had no choice of lodges. (Plus we had changes to elements of the itinerary at the last minute). Our third stay was two nights at the Tloma Lodge. The approach is uphill along up a sandy red road but on going through the gates what a surprise, the hotel is set in wonderful gardens which are expertly managed. (Just to say though I felt really guilty as not far from the gates is the communal water storage where people, including small children were getting their water, can’t quite equate this with such a splendid Lodge being so close to what is a poor standard of living for locals but I guess that isn’t the Lodge’s fault.)The hotel was originally a coffee farm and still has coffee bushes. The staff were welcoming and showed us to a room quite near to the reception. The room was large, we had two good sized double beds. The shower room was also a good size, we found the rubber doormat used as slip prevention in the shower very hard on the feet. My only complaint was that we could hear every word said in the next door room! There is a gift shop on site. Drinks are available from the bar and coffee tea and cakes were around during the afternoon. Meals were good with choices for meat eaters and vegetarians. In the morning you make up your own lunch boxes which I think is a great idea. You can choose to dine inside the dining are or outside on the deck. From the deck area there is a pleasant view to the mountains over tree tops. One evening we sat watching lightning flashing over the Ngorogoro crater. If I have any gripes it is that the Lodge is a long way from the parks but in my opinion the standards and ‘greenness’ of the Lodge makes up for it. A very relaxing Lodge.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieB08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This was a beautiful place of tropical gardens. Stayed here before and after safari to Sarengeti. Rooms were spacious and clean, beds were a little hard for my taste. Had a very nice pool which turned my blonde hair green...lots of chlorine. A very reasonable same day laundry service. Staff was very pleasant. Restaurant was buffet style and had a good variety. Many veggies from their organic garden. Nice deck for drinks and watching sunset. Stayed here as part of our Overseas Adventure Travel safari tour.

Room Tip: Some rooms in the back are smaller and do not have hair dryers or safes. The two rooms I stayed in were the ones that were 2 rooms attached. They had nice patios.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monkey_and_Tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

On a safari through Kenya and Tanzania, we were fortunate to stay here two nights. The grounds are gorgeous! Coffee plants, banana plants, flowers galore. The rooms are very spacious, wtih romantic mosquito netting gracing the beds. Bathrooms were a tad tight, but adequate. Our balcony overlooked a lush vegetable and flower garden. The food in the restaurant (we ate dinners and breakfasts there) was good, but not spectacular. Service was excellent. Note that this lodge does offer internet service, for a nominal fee. Our fellow travelers were impressed that they were able to send out their laundry items for only $1 per item! A very nice lodge, in our opinion.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grice-Fearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews