We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAVORITE camp of our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Burlingame, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“FAVORITE camp of our trip”
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

We booked this trip for location, and it certainly has that, but there are many, many other reasons we loved it. The setting is in a beautiful, peaceful flat top acacia forest. Tents have everything you need but are basic - we grew to love the bucket showers and the voice asking if the temperature was good from outside the tent. The staff is the nicest, most genuinely welcoming we found and really makes the experience. The birthday song and cake for my husband really put this one over the top. AND we were the last ones out of the crater on day 1 and first ones in on day two - priceless!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MelloB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica O, Director of Sales at Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
What a lovely review. Thank you so much for taking the time. So pleased the cake went down a treat and being in the location we are first in and last out of the crater is such a bonus.

The talking showers continue to be a highlight of our guests stay and have become a talking point of many a guest to arrive.

I hope you had a great trip back and if we can be of any further help, do let us know.

Warm regards


Veronica Otter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    42
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
45
85
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

This tented camp (on the ridge of the Crater and close to the entrance to the Park) is in the forest and just what you need after a day in the hot, dusty Crater. The accommodations, customer service, food, etc. were outstanding!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica O, Director of Sales at Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you so much for posting your review of the Ngorongoro. It truly is a magical forest and such an advantage being so close to the rim. I am delighted that your stay was perfect and look forward to hopefully hosting you again.

Warm regards


Veronica Otter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Liked the free liquor, rooms were so bit and kindly decorated. We loved the hot water bottles and all the little details that were paid attention to.

So grateful our guide ate with us - lovely.

But with the bucket shower and the lack of wildlife viewing, was not worth the pretty big expense.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FraserCarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica O, Director of Sales at Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing our property. The hot water bottles are a delight and very popular with our guests. I am sorry to hear about wildlife viewing experience as often it is regarded as very good but hopefully the rest of your trip in Tanzania was fabulous.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

As other have mentioned this is camping at it's best. Solid tents with wood floors, beautiful furniture, beds and bathroom. Location is very close to the crater so you definitely are able to arrive early and enjoy the crater with very few other tourists. It is a tent though and you can hear the wildlife at night.
The extra features that we enjoyed were the appetizers and beverages around the fire before the evening meal. It was nice after a day of Safari to relax with a glass of wine and some snacks and share the days events with other travelers. The large family style dining table in the eating tent was also a nice change from typical hotel dining. The food was excellent and the experience overall was a very enjoyable one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adelle58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemala C, General Manager at Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Adelle58

Thank you for your wonderful comments about Lemala Ngorongoro. Apart from being within touching distance of the crater floor and having game drives with the crater as the sole attraction in the area, Ngorongoro offers much more than this.
Enjoy a guided walk with the Masai Chief's son as he reveals the secrets of the ancient forests. He will teach about the medicinal properties of the plants which grow in the area. You will also witness breath-taking vistas of the crater on the walk. You can also visit the local Masai to see how they live or go on a picnic to Empakai Crater - another intriguing place to explore which is just one short hour's drive though the beautiful basins and valleys which make up the Ngorongoro Highlands landscape.

Thanks again for posting and I wish you safe and fun travels.

Tom Yule
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here last month and while the camp itself was very nice, the location is unbeatable. It's literally at the entrance to the crater so you can be there when the park opens and beat the crowds to have the crater to yourself for about an hour. It was raining when we stayed there so the rooms were a little chilly but they have wonderful gas heaters in your tent and the staff worked very hard to provide us with hot showers despite the rain and cold. Hot water bottles inn the bed at night made for a cozy sleep. Food was very good as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventurers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemala C, General Manager at Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Adventurers99

Thank you so much for your favourable comments about Lemala Ngorongoro. We are happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us. As you have so rightly pointed out, our location is unbeatable. Being tucked into an ancient forest on the crater rim also gives our camp a mystical ambience and of course the icing on the cake is being inside the gate and having just a seven minute drive down onto the crater floor. Our guests can leave when they like without having to go through any gate procedures and proceed to the floor of the crater at their leisure. They enjoy extended game viewing opportunities without the crowds.

Thanks again for posting. I wish you safe travels and fun adventures.

Tom Yule
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
554 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here. This camp is in an amazing location, inside the entrance to the crater, which gives you the advantage of getting to the crater floor ahead of the crowds. The staff were excellent. The tents were great, beds were very comfortable. Tents include wooden floors, a bathroom area with flush toilet, sink with running water and a shower. The shower is on request. They bring the hot water to fill the shower bag and hoist it above the tent to provide the shower water. You let them know if the temperature is good and if you need more water. The tents are lit with solar-powered lights that are charged during the day.
Food was great, with excellent preparation, quantity and variety. Meals were served in a nice dining tent/lounge tent. Evening drinks and snacks were provided while sitting around the fire.
The higher elevation makes this camp cooler than others, so each tent also has a propane heater, which the staff light in the evenings. When they stop by for your wake-up call in the morning, they offer to come in and start the heater before you get out of bed. To keep you warm at night, they place a couple of hot water bottles in the bed. It was a very nice touch, and the heat lasted through the entire night. It was a great experience and one of our favorite camps on this trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemala C, General Manager at Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear SteveinCH

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor about your stay at Lemala Ngorongoro. One of the many great things about our camp is its location. Guests staying at Lemala Ngorongoro can be first on the crater floor in the morning and have an extended time enjoying this world wonder before other vehicles start arriving. As you have rightly stated, the camp is located on the crater rim (2332 meters ASL) and does get cold so warm clothing is necessary. All tents are heated and boast the warmest down or hollow fibre duvets. Hot water bottles are waiting in the beds when guests snuggle in for the night.

Thanks again for posting and I wish you safe and fun travels

Regards

Tom Yule
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Spezia, Italy
Level Contributor
239 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Beautifully laid out on the crater rim, it doesn't give you much in the way of views, but the food was good, the staff helpful and the tents nicely set up. It's more rustic than many of the platform lodges, but still luxurious for a temporary tent. If you want a hotel room, don't bother, but it's pretty nice for a tent!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cvdwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemala C, General Manager at Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear CVDWL

Some travellers coming on a safari holiday to East Africa mix up their accommodation types to include both lodge and tented camps which gives some diversity to the experience. Some go for lodge only and some for tented camps only. It all boils down to what the traveller wants from the experience. If people are looking for a true and authentic safari experience, "Hemmingway Style", but with with all the comforts, mouth watering food and top quality rooms and beds, then they can check out Lemala Camps website at www.lemalacamp.com and see how we deliver exactly that.

Thanks for posting and safe travels.

Tom Yule
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
0.0 mi away
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
612 reviews
0.0 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
402 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#5 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp
#12 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
208 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#6 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,513 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lemala Kuria Hills Lodge
Lemala Kuria Hills Lodge
#20 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp

Property: Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp
Address: Ngorongoro Crater Rim, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LEMALA NGORONGORO is an intimate camp set in a delightful ancient acacia forest on the rim of the crater, next to the quiet Lemala access route. The camp has 12 spacious canvas tents to ensure intimacy and minimal impact on the pristine forest environment. The tents accommodate two queen beds with winter weight duvets and hot water bottles. The tents are warmed in the evenings by a gas heater, ensuring a cosy night's sleep. The roomy en-suite bathrooms contain a dressing area, flush toilet and a large safari shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lemala Ngorongoro Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing