We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveler rating
150
48
13
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
48
13
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbush tvtented campother guestsbucket showertalking showerhot water bottlescrater flooracacia treesgas heatersearly accesscommunal mealshigh lightspecial christmas dinnerbig tablebiggest surprisemere minutessetting is lovely
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 216 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were hesitant about going to Ngorongoro Crater as we like to go where there are few people when possible. We are glad we went, as we had great wildlife spotting. There were definitely a LOT of vehicles (there was gridlock similar to Yellowstone when a bear is spotted along the road, and some unpleasant exchanges between occupants of vehicles when one violated the "queue" order...very ugly, especially in a place of such beautiful wildlife). And apparently the time we were there (Mid-August) is not peak season!
If you want to avoid the crowds as much as possible, this is THE place to stay. You do get a headstart into the crater.
We loved the camp. We had come from Tarangire (Treetops) which was a fantastic accommodation. But we actually liked Lemala better. Not as luxurious, but somehow perfect for the spot. Small enough to be intimate and get to visit with other guests.
The tent was very nice, clean, and comfortable. Showering FAST was not any big deal. Nights and mornings were chilly but the tent was cozy, especially with the hot water bottles.
Food was really delicious. Service was excellent. The only thing I can think of as a downside is that rum was not among their spirit offering (my cocktail of choice). Not by any means enough to spoil this special place, but just seemed sort of odd.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diver-Hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Lemala Camp was exactly what I had expected it to be and more. If you are going to compare this camp to the higher end, more expensive luxury tented camps, e.g. the amazing Kichwa Tembo in Masai Mara, why yes - you would be disappointed. If you researched and understand this is a quaint, cozy, rustic tent camp, you will love it. You will love the charm, location, staff, and overall vibe. I enjoyed every minute. I have in the past stayed at the other lodges at the crater rim. I have came home wishing to had a more true Africa experience. For the same cost approx I decided on doing the Lemala Camp. When we arrived we were greeted instantly with warm smiles and cold drinks. The tents are very well designed and equipped. The hardwood floors, decor, and heaters make the tents very comfortable. You have to take in consideration before you travel the season and climate of the crater. We traveled in late June/early July, so we were aware it was cool, evenings around 55F. Hotwater bottles were provide and the heaters were turned on before you fell asleep/ back on with hot tea when you were given your friendly wake up call.
The campfire before supper was such an "Out Of Africa" experience - this is exactly why you come to this incredible land. Sleeping under the acacia trees, sleeping to the sounds of the animals. This is what you think of and vision when you plan your trip to Africa. Why not then experience the magic. To make a lodge into a fancy and luxurious camp would only take away from such a true experience. The other guests you meet are fun to talk with in the evenings chatting and sharing stories, and the small intimate camp really make this a lifetime memory. It did for me. We had just finished climbing Kilimanjaro, so we needed these extra days to relax and take it all in. Highlight - the impromptu making of fresh Bloody Mary's before supper. Staff had fresh tomatoes, Tabasco sauce and on the spot turned it all into the best Bloody Mary's I ever had. Food fantastic. Walking safari, and all the extra benefits of being the first in the crater due to location. I had stayed in the other hotel lodges and remember the long drives to getting to the crater floor, this was such a treat to have it all right in your own backyard before anyone else. It was as if the park was only ours to enjoy. Would I go back to the Lemala again? In a heart beat! I can stay in a hotel room when I get home, a tent in Africa I can not ~!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hometown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were disappointed by this camp, largely because we had just come from the Lemala Manyara, which was similar but just a little bit better in every way. This camp sort of felt like the "B" version of the Manyara camp. Service was generally good, but the tent had a broken lamp, a crooked mirror, and a bathroom that was laid out poorly. Everything just felt a bit rundown, and not as well maintained. Location is excellent for an early morning crater start.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NycWinston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Our journey from Dar to our camp at Lemala Ngorongoro took nearly 10 hours (couple of flight changes, and then almost a 2.5 hrs drive from Lake Manyara airstrip). But once we reached the camp, all the tiredness or fatigue disappeared. The camp is set under delightful acacia trees overlooking the crater rim. We received a warm welcome from the staff at Lemala, who promptly apprised us about the camp, before leading us to our tent. The tent is extremely spacious and fitted with gas heater, large king-sized bed with warm duvets and ensuite bathrooms with large and nice safari showers - it can't get better in the bush !! We thoroughly loved our mobile "home". The nights were cold but the outside fire before dinner where guests meet and chat was a great place to warm up and get to know people before sitting down for a communal dinner. Hot water bags in bed were very welcome and ensured a good night's sleep.

Our game drive next morning started as early as 6 am with packed breakfast and picnic lunch baskets. "Good morning" says a pride of lions, fifteen minutes we were into our drive as we start descending down the crater road. We picked up the camp primarily due to its proximity to the Lemala access route, and it paid off as we were pretty much on our own on the crater floor much before it got crowded around mid-day. Over the next several hours, we were treated to some magnificent wildlife gaming extravaganza - lions over a buffalo kill, black rhinoceros, serval cat on a hunt, hyenas and hundreds of antelopes grazing all over the crater floor. Fascinating sightings. Back at the camp in late afternoon, we relaxed and enjoyed the sundowner. The crew at the camp have been extremely attentive, service was superb and the food specially the dinners were amazing. If you can bear the cold, do some star-gazing as well, it is fantastic !

We enjoyed our 2 night stay thoroughly at Lemala camp, and will certainly visit again as and when we make our next Tanzania strip.

To all my friends and crew at Lemala camp - You had been doing an excellent job, keep up the good work. Thank you and much appreciated.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anindya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed 2 nights. Guide used Raphael from Good Earth was very good with a great well equipped vehicle, binoculars, fly swat, guide books and sand bags, lots of water. Very different to he Lemala camp guides ( see reviews of Lemala Ewanjan and Mara). Old tents, clean, nice staff, food good. Very cold at night and early morning. Fires usually put on about 7 pm but staff will light in tents earlier if asked. We did as it was bitter ever with hats, gloves ect. Lit fire in am when bringing tea and coffee.
The crater floor is about 10 -15 mins away so very good location. We were down by 6.15 and didn't see many vehicles for the first hour 2 hours but then far too many.One visit enough.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pollydoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews