We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveler rating
151
48
13
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
48
13
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbush tvtented campother guestsbucket showertalking showerhot water bottlescrater flooracacia treesgas heatersearly accesscommunal mealshigh lightspecial christmas dinnerbig tablebiggest surprisemere minutessetting is lovely
Filter
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 217 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Our safari was unfortunately cut short due to a family medical emergency, but before we left TZ we were privileged to spend a night at the Lemala camp, Ngorongoro Crater. The grounds were breathtaking. No, we didn't have a rimside view, but the camp is nestled under the lacy, umbrella Acacia trees. The setting is magical. The staff greeted us as we departed our safari vehicle, offering chilled juice and hot, steaming hand towels to freshen us after our drive. We were introduced to the staff then escorted into the main dining tent for a tour and an overview of the evening's activities. Afterward we were taken to our tent where we met our waiter who introduced us to the luxuries of our tent. I had a delightfully hot shower and then we were escorted by a Masai to the campfire where we had libations and delicious appetizers (according to my husband, the single best food he had on our trip) with other safari goers. Then on to dinner, which was delicious and served on a beautifully decorated table. Wine refills came fast and furiously. One of the others at the table was having a birthday so dessert was a cake, lit with candles, presented by all of the staff singing (in Swahili but I think it was their version of Happy Birthday--with an African funk vibe) and dancing around the table. When we got back to our tent it was warmed by the heater and as we crawled into bed we found hot water bottles under the blankets. I can't offer enough praise for the staff and amenities at Lemala Ngorongoro. Though we had too swift an end to our trip, this was certainly a sweet way to depart TZ. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2doglove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We visited the crater, then drove to the camp. It started raining, but everyone there was so friendly and accommadating. The tents are amazing, and the food was great. We loved "bush TV" ( the campfire), but most of all the people there. They put hot water bottles in the bed that keep you comfy all night.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

This camp was great for many reasons. Being inside the park allowed for us to get into the crater early in the morning and not have to wait in line at the entrance to the park with other people staying at lodges outside the park entrance. We were probably one of three trucks in the park as the sun camp up, and had breakfast by the hippo pond by ourselves. As a frame of reference, there are probably about fifty trucks there at lunch time. Much nicer. The camp itself was great. The staff was super friendly and accommodating. It was in a beautiful setting up in the acacia trees. Absolutely stunning. You could also hear the cowbells of the Masai herders with their cattle off in the distance on the side of the crater. The food was ridiculous, but most of the African chefs over there must have made a deal with the devil to cook so well out in the bush. Great food. It was chilly at night, but they put hot water bottles in the base of your bed while we we're eating dinner. They also have heaters in the room two make it warm. Actuwlly i enjoyed the cold air as wfrica is pretty hot. The bed was comfortable and the tent was clean. Some people have complained about mobile campsites on trip advisor, but i would suggest they stay at a luxury hotel and forget Africa if they really need a four poster bead with a butler. This was a fantastic camp experience.

Stayed: February 2012
Thank Josh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Lemala tent camp at the Ngorongoro crater has a very good location for visiting the crater floor. This requires that you drive from the main entrance gate to the NC to the camp which is located about 1 hour away. The camp is located on the rim but there is no crater view. The camp is located inside of the crater control gate and is on the only combined access/ egress road on the crater rim. This saves you about 2 hours or more travel time from other facility on the crater. The SOPA lodge does also use this road. This means that you can be the first on the crater floor and have a few hours basically to yourselves before the crowds start to show up. Also this location allows you to stay up to the last possible moment in the crater.

The camp is located in an Acadia tree grove which gives shade. The tents are large with nice furnishing included hardwood floors. There is a nice size bathroom with a fully functional toilet and a tent camp bucket shower with hot water. You only have to get use to talking to someone delivering the hot water on the other side of the canvas. The bathroom has a larger brass sink, mirror, large towels and toiletries.

In the evening the temperature on the crater rim drops to the 50’s F, the staff turns on the LP heater in the tent which makes it toasty warm when you return from dinner. In addition a wrapped hot water bottle or bottles is placed in the bed covers. These bottles stays remarkable warm all night. The LP heaters are turned off by the staff from the outside around 11:00pm. In the morning when your coffee, tea or what ever is delivered to your tent, the LP heater is turned open by the staff. So being cold is a non-issue.

All meals are served in the combination dinning/lounge/bar/reception tent along with the fire pit is the center of the social activities in the camp. Each evening the guests circle around the fire pit in director’s chairs and share their day’s experience while having a sundowner. This continues until one of the staff comes and announces that dinner is being served. The table is set with wine glasses, linen napkins and candles as good as any pricey restaurant that you will find in Madison Wisconsin. The waiter announces the dinner menu that consists of soup, fresh warm bread, entrée with 2 or 3 side items and dessert. Wine is offered but I do not drink so I can not speak to it quality. A buffet breakfast of fresh fruit, cereals and bread is available or you can have a full breakfast. The food for where you are (basically out in the middle of nowhere and prepared in a camp kitchen ) is fine.

Power is available for camera battery charging from about 6:30pm until about 10or 11 pm. No WiFi. There is a laundry basket in the tent and items are usually returned by evening. Some amount of laundry per day is included in the daily charge but there is a charge list for extra items that is fair. There is a small up charge for some premium alcohol.

It always amazes me to read reviews by folks who obviously never read a review or did in seach before choosing an accommadation then are surprised at bucket showers or solar powered lights or the lack of hair driers. Also it goes to point out these folks have never really being on a REAL camping trip. Rustic! when you have a real toilet in your tent and a heater that not rustic. Rustic is a hole in the ground and tree bark for TP. You are on a safari not a caribeanian cruise.

I’m sure there are more luxurious tent camps in Tanzania but at much higher pppd. This IMO was a fair value accommodations. Also I like the social atmosphere at tent camps that does not seem to occur at lodges.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crapshooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We spent 1 night here in Tent #8. There are only 9 tents in this camp. Elevation is about 5000 feet or so however there is no view of the crater. It is woodsy and although, they told us there were no mosquitos, there were biting insects so best to bring bug repellent.

The flooring of our tent was wood instead of canvas. Next to 9, tent #8 is the furthest from the main tent.

We only had 1 dinner here as we arrived late from the Serengeti. The drive from Serengeti was brutal on a really rough road. And it seemed like once we got to the crater area, we still had to drive another hour to the camp. Dinner was in the main tent family style with everyone else. Dinner was served at 7:30 and they closed all the flaps as it was cold. The food was decent but the portions were small. There was a cream of spinach soup that was very very good.

There is a heater in your room. It is turned on when you eat dinner and turned off shortly after you go to sleep. It made our tent warm and cozy. It runs on propane gas. In the morning, the person who brings you your coffee/tea will turn it on for you. They also provide 2 hot water bottles. It was still hot the next morning. Unfortunately the bathroom is cold as it does not have heat.

The lighting in our tent was the brightest of all the other tents we stayed in. There is complimentary bottled water in the tent.

The bathroom had a basin with running water, a flushing toilet and a shower. The bucket had enough water for 2 people. Unfortunately we could not take a shower in the morning.

Alcohol was complimentary in the rate. The wines are South African. I had a Shiraz that was very good.

Although we stayed less than 24 hours, we had a good stay nonetheless.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandaHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews