We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable for the crater”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed at Rhino Lodge as it is comfortable and not too far from the entrance road to the crater.
The bar and dining staff were very friendly and concerned that we might be cold. There were hot water bottles provided in our room and we could have had the wood burning stove lit. There was an enormous fire blazing in the dining/sitting room. We'd just arrived from England and found it quite warm enough!
The lodge itself was not as opulent as others in the area but perfectly comfortable.
There was plenty of tasty food and the staff encouraged us to help ourselves to as much as we wanted.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glebebears81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (702)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 702 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

The place is very conveniently located. It's only a 20 minutes drive to the entrance of the crater itself, so it's nice to to have to drive for too long in the morning before descending into the Ngorongoro crater itself. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful, and you'll see wildlife wandering around. The manager is very friendly. The dinner room is very nice, around a huge fireplace. We also liked that the Masai community from the surroundings sell their artifacts directly.
The rooms are not as nice though. The decoration is nice enough, but the bathroom is very basic for the price (obviously, you pay for the location here, not for the room). The main issue is the noise: you'll hear everything your neighbors say, and you'll be awaken by their own alarms. To summarize: great place if you plan to get up very early and visit Ngorongoro. Not such a great place to get a good rest, though.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms that have a view to the meadow at the back of the hotel, it is lovely at su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pierre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I had been before to this lovely atmospheric Lodge and it appealed to my needs. We were not visiting the Crater and lack of view was unimportant compared to the wildlife actually around the Lodge. It is a bit more 'rustic' than many lodges and I wondered how others in my party would react to this. Both loved it and said it was the best place of the trip, which it was in many ways.
An old colonial relic of the first Game Warden's home it still retains much charm and is well run and founded.
Accommodations are in terraces around a quadrangle and all look outewards from balconies over the surrounding grounds and bush and Montane forest. Many birds that are usually shy have become habituated to human presence and are quite visible from the balconies. The same goes for mammals too. Last trip I had an elephant come to call and this time we were met by a family of 8 De Fassa Waterbuck including young calf. Health warning. Do NOT go outside the main area without an escort.
Food is served in a large Restaurant heated by log fires as you are at 8,000 feet here. Buffet style and help yourself so no need to starve yourself. Tables are reserved so no jostling for a place.
The rooms are simply furnished but this is part of the charm. More important is that everything works which it does. We liked it and no doubt you will too.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfuwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Most pleasant memories of our Tanzanian Safari stays happened at Rhino Lodge. A wonderful haven tastefully decorated rooms, warm and welcoming bar/restaurant. At most personal care is given to the guests by the Resort management. Eco friendly interiors of the room is unique to this Lodge. Free Coffee/Tea/Water round the clock. The lodge employs large number of locals who are the most friendly people. The Dining room also serves as Cozy lounge, where one can relax in front of a nice fire place, reading one of the several coffee table books there. The bog bonus is the number of animals that come by this lodge. there is a great animal viewing balcony to the rooms. the regular visitor seems to be an old bull elephant.
We were planning to start early the next day and I went looking for Coffee at 5.30 AM. the Dining area was buzzing with activity, break fast was being served. We got an ultimate tasting lunch pack- A vegetarian kathi roll, can you imagine! Thank you Rhino lodge making us feel so nice and wanting to come back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Venkadesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We arrived from the Serengeti for the 4th night of a 5-day safari; the staff was friendly and courteous.

My daughter and I dined together with our wonderful guide, who joined us in the rustic and charming dining room. The perfect ambiance, the excellent food and wine inspired a most delightful conversation.

Following dinner, we retired to our room from the nippy night air. A staff had already started the fire in the wood burning stove and placed hot-water bottles under covers in our beds....sweet dreams...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wailam99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We had to choose between very good and excellent here. We stayed at Medium Camp in the Serengeti which was truly excellent as you were really in the bush. Rhino Lodge is incredibly close to this. Yes it is a permanent facility but it is also basically in the bush. You go to your room and out back on the terrace there will be wildlife. Anything from zebra to buffalo to dik dik to red bok to water bok to elephants. if you like enclosed compounds, this is not your place.
The dining facility is exemplary and they frequently serve local food. Tasty and always worth trying. Staff were kind and helpful.
They will see us again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RCJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Staying at the crater is a luxury but Rhino Lodge is the most reasonable place to stay price wise. Lovely food served buffet style so you can choose what you would like. Complimentary teas/coffee/water anytime. Really nice dining area/bar and balconies to relax and listen out for wildlife. The staff are fantastic - and we had so much help from Tanur before we arrived to help us plan our itinerary. The week before we arrived a lioness had killed a water buffalo in the grounds so guests had full views of lions coming to feed until staff moved the carcass because it was starting to smell. Elephants are frequent visitors too. However, we did not see these visitors but enjoyed relaxing on the balcony watching the water buck and water buffalo grazing. We could hear lions sometimes and the staff are great at telling you what is happening. Giles (not sure if I spelt that right) is a wildlife expert and so you know you will not miss anything while you are there. We woke to the sound of lions roaring - wonderful. Rooms are spacious, very clean, great ensuite with hot water. Also, because it is cooler there is no need for fans/air conditioning/mosquito nets so we had so much sleep there in absolute quiet - apart from the lions. What's not to love?

Room Tip: Looking around I think all rooms offer the same outward facing balconies and views over the captivat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frances N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
2.3 mi away
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodg...
#1 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
691 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,227 reviews
12.7 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#8 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
431 reviews
10 mi away
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodge
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodg...
#10 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
109 reviews
11.7 mi away
Eileen's Trees Inn
Eileen's Trees Inn
#5 of 51 in Karatu
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge

Address: Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range: $110 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rhino Lodge is ideally located on the edge of the Ngorongoro crater rim. The Lodge was originally the home of Ngorongoro’s first conservator, and its developers have maintained the house’s original rustic, low-impact style and natural setting. Rhino Lodge offers a perfect base from which to explore the Ngorongoro crater and its surroundings. Game drives into the crater, and, for the more adventurous, walking safaris in the forest reserve and visits to nearby Maasai villages, can all be arranged from the lodge. And, on return after a long day, 24 comfortable en suite rooms with forest views, a cozy living space, friendly local staff and generous African-inspired meals offer guests a warm welcome home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ngorongoro Rhino Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing